Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Door

by Joanrelos - Compo Entry


The theme was Shapesift. I didn't want to make another platformer, so I made my own tribute to Charlie the unicorn.

I'm pretty sure a lot of people will not like it, but I'm also sure that I learnt a lot of things. This is not my style of game, damn, I consider it more like a poem than a game, but I'm pretty proud of it!

If you had fun playing it and/or you had the unicorn voices resonating in your head, I'll be thankful if you share it.

Thanks for playing!

#LDJAM #LD35 #Ludumdare

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#99Mood3.65
#209Humor2.94
#247Innovation3.49
#517Overall3.16
#590Audio2.13
#683Fun2.81
#746Theme2.88
#753Graphics2.47

Comments

picjavier says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 5:26am

those were 5 nice relaxation minutes, +1 for you :D

sirtetris says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 3:24pm

After I got it it was kind of fun ... kind of. ^_‌‌^

iendsl says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:45pm

Some really cool visual tricks! Loved the playfulness. I walked into the water and got stuck, I didn't get to see what was on that cool computer!

schw3de says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Interesting "art" game! I got really dizzy on this one. :) On some spots it was also a bit scary.

HawkSandwich says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Kind of fell short in the end, a little disappointing but I feel like if you weren't on a two-day limit you could have made something that would interest me a lot.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:27am

Nice game. Interesting artistic experience

schw3de says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Nice "art" game. :)
I like games, when they try to question the existence itself. The game reminds me about philosophy.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Wow!! you played with my mind!! I love this games :)

neondx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:34pm

AWESOME GAME! LOVED IT

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:35pm

Had a smile on my face the entire time. Thanks for the unique experience. Reminded me of The Stanley Parable. Amazing how much life you can give to inanimate objects, isn't it?

VividReality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Whoa, that was awesome ^^

Rulrite says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Very trippy! I really like how you interpreted the theme. You did a great job of making the player feel disoriented, and the mood is excellent.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:25pm

That was awesome! Short and sweet, very Anti-Chamber/Stanley Parable like. Great narration. Loved it!

Javabot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Haha, I laughed, but I laughed with the game, not at it!

hijomo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:28pm

There were some cool visual tricks. I would like to play the game and not just be played over and over again. I do like the use of the environment changing behind your back mechanic, would be nice if it was more fluid. like walking around a corner opposed to just "oh now I have to turn around again". Keep making visual poems :)

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18pm

I agree that the game was fun and playful, but it seems like you tried too hard to make an enigmatic game without reason. From what I saw it doesn't seem like the door really represents anything. Your best category for my rating was Mood :P

Note to everyone else: Don't walk in the water, you will get stuck.

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:25pm

A nice, playful little trip. Glad I took it!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Antichamber called, they want their mindfuck back :D
Pretty cool though, didn't see the shapeshifting

Paulgami says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:28pm

I like the tongue in cheek ending. I would have liked more of the areas to be as fleshed out as the island/hall of doors areas.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:48am

Interesting concept!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:55pm

This was a weird experience, although the ways you find the door were really clever.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:56pm

That was... interesting.

Naca says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:58pm

I like this kind of experimental thing, as you said, more like a poem. It is true that many people won't like it, but wth, if we don't take risks at LD where would we take them? So I think you can be proud of it :D Don't see the theme anywhere, though.

Joanrelos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:16pm

To those that don't see the theme, look closely at the shapeshifting map ;)

axoona says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:21pm

very interesting concept, I found the game quite enjoyable.
The art is minimalist but it suits the concept very well
overall a solid entry

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]