Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Rectanguwarp

by FelixNemis - Jam Entry

Controls:
Left, Right: move
Space: jump
Down: cancel parachute
Z: change shape (once you have more than one)
R: reset (hold to clear checkpoints)
Y: disable particles (helps with framerate)

For best performance use a browser that supports WebGL
Made with Phaser (javascript).
I made everything for this during the Jam period, though I didn't have the full 72 hours to work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#55Theme(Jam)4.11
#266Innovation(Jam)3.42
#474Fun(Jam)3.21
#601Graphics(Jam)3.21
#609Audio(Jam)2.59
#625Overall(Jam)3.15
#711Mood(Jam)2.88
#1808Coolness32%

Comments

FelixNemis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27am

Fixed a bug where one of the powerups doesn't spawn

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:44am

Very nice game. Graphics were great, the game play felt mostly good. However, when you jump, you spend a little too much time in the air.

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:44am

I especially liked the mechanics of the obstacles, but I did not quite like playing right = / . Tip : You may change the color of the arrow , it took me some good deaths to know where to go haha . cool art .

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:45am

Morphing stage is an interesting idea, but I don't know where to go..

Gyfis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:54am

Figuring out what to do or where to go is pretty challenging. I really miss some kind of tutorial or menu. Anyway the game is pretty innovative and fun.

DanEEStar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29pm

I try to like this game.
But I don't know what to do or where to go next when I have the parachute.
I also took me a long time to see the arrow at the start.
Are there more clues like that in the game?

I like the graphics of the game!

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Props for making a game in Phaser! Great use of theme! Very smooth performance, worked great!

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Love the psychedelic quality!

psyxose says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:44am

Nice innovative game !

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Nice job, i think that a soundtrack or an ambience can really boost the mood of this game, the art style is original and cute!

Hyden says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:56pm

I sucked at this, but it was fun xD

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:05am

Niiiice, i was thinging of shape shifting levels too, but unlike you i couldn't figure out how to actually do it. This is a great idea, well done, very inovative!

end3r says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:39pm

It felt a little bit laggy for me, but it looks and plays really cool.

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:24am

I really liked the take on the theme!

LoneStranger says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:37am

Controls didn't seem quite right for the type of split-second decisions needed to be made with the platform changes. I like the idea, but it was fairly frustrating trying to figure out the first part on the left.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:53am

The player felt very floaty, which gave the player too much time to adjust. Nice take on the theme, love the sound effects.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]