Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ViralNet

by Belroth - Compo Entry

You play as a small program inside a infected computer. Your job is to destroy the waves of monsters. The program can shift between two different forms and styles of combat. I have tested both and either can win or can use a combo of shifting back and forth.

This is the first game I have ever created and had some issues knowing how much time it would take hence no sound. I had a blast and am already looking into ways to improve for next time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#740Theme2.90
#754Mood2.29
#816Graphics2.29
#846Innovation2.35
#926Fun1.90
#950Overall2.10
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:47am

an interesting game, and i liked the idea, fits well with the theme and as a first game its pretty damn impressive keep it up! =)
play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Good work! I really like the concept. The controls were smooth and the rules were easy to get. The ships look really cool too! :)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:28am

I could not get the ship to hit anything even point blank. I'm not sure but it looked like it was firing over the enemy.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:40am

I had trouble getting the ships to fire and I could cruise right off the game space.
I like the concept of it and the controls were pretty smooth. With some polish this could be a really fun game. Looked good to with the minimalist graphics. good job.

Paulgami says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:26am

It looks like with more time you could have polished it a lot more. I had a few issues getting the weapons to work as well. Skating around in the larger form was fun though.

Thepattybeast says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Couldn't get the controls to work. I could switch between ships but the only weapon that "worked" was 1 on the larger ship and that just shot something over the enemies.

mf1214 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:37pm

Great idea for a game however I found it hard to get the ship to shoot. With some minor improvements this game would be great! Overall good job!

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:47pm

I couldn't hit anything. My bullets just passed through the enemies. Also, those controls are really poor. We are generally used to left hand for movement, right hand for actions. Using the number keys is very strange. The traditional control system for this kind of game is traditional because it works.

Still, good on you for getting your foot in the door with a project. I hope to see something more fleshed out next time!

Mordokay says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:43am

Nice concept and making a 3D game for the first Ludum Dare is always a bigger challenge than a 2D sprite game. Controls were a bit hard to get used to but overall a good approach to the theme. +1

qu2 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:00am

I couldn't get either type of ship to attack anything at all, I was just sailing around trying to avoid fire. Well done on your first entry though :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]