Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

VampShift: The Bloodening

by abaines - Compo Entry

VampShift: The Bloodening is a platform game in which you shapeshift into a bat to get through each room.

Controls:
WASD / Arrows: Move
Space bar : Turn into a bat

Made in C with SDL2, SDL2_image and SDL2_mixer. Available to download for Linux and Windows, or as an HTML5 web version created via emscripten.

Source code: https://github.com/baines/ld35

The creation of the game was livestreamed, see twitch.tv/insofaras/profile for the VoDs.

Changelog:
19 Apr 01:20 UTC: Added web version (emscripten)
23 Apr 20:20 UTC: List the controls here

NOTE ABOUT THE WEB VERSION:
The web version is an emscripten port that was done *A DAY AFTER* the compo ended, and has some collision/physics/timing related fixes to make it work.

If you plan on rating the game, then, in the spirit of LD, you should probably rate based on the buggier downloadable versions that were created within the 48 hour time limit.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#76Theme4.00
#271Audio3.13
#374Fun3.27
#378Overall3.31
#401Mood3.00
#465Graphics3.00
#473Humor2.18
#636Innovation2.84
#1626Coolness37%

Comments

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:31am

Hardest game I've ever played in a Ludum dare. I love it!

mactinite says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:29am

Wow, that was difficult.. lol

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:49am

I got really close to the end of a complicated screen (The one where you have to go right, down, left, down, right, then straight up and it's mostly covered in lava), then I threw my keyboard out the window haha

Pretty good!

My only complaint is that I didn't like that if I die as a bat, I respawn as a bat. Makes for awkward starts sometimes.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Aside from some bugs I know you are already aware of, that was very well done. I'm not big on massocore, but I could identify that was a good example of it. I do wish that tapping the fly button was a viable strategy since I usually try to make several tiny adjustments to get through places, but that may not be what you were going for.

Oh, the music was good but hearing the same 8 bars over and over again after dying 4000 times can be a bit grating.

karln says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:42pm

argh cannot play too hard

fun idea but I could barely play it at all :(

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Boy, I'm a sucker for difficult platforming games. This one was fun and had good style too! The only thing I would suggest is making the fly button the same as the transform button.

tanis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Damn those hitboxes are way too big for me! Challenging and very hard! I loved it! Very well done!

It would be better if you would spawn as vampire instead of a bat when you die as a bat though :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Some hitbox issues but I like the idea ! Definitely worth trying it !

LadyEmaSkye says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Not a wholeheartedly unique game, but it's well polished. It's rather difficult -- and you don't list the controls anywhere.

webadev says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Too hard... but the rest of the game is really nice :) Graphics are cool and sounds.

ReactorScram says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:17am

The controls are unforgiving, and it was hard to get a handle on the rhythm when I would respawn with the left or right arrow still held down. It was difficult to get the timing right for tapping up as a bat, especially since I was panicking from having only two seconds of life at any point.

But the particles and sound were good, and you followed the theme, so I'm ranking those highly

endel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:20am

Very difficult. The challenge reminds me console games from the 90'. Congrats.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

drazil100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:43pm

Very fun game. SO hard at times.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:37pm

like the styly, like the game too but its hard !

badia_r says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Very hard game! Fun to play and addictive, great entry :)

ZeroFaction says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:36am

So difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]