Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Scevus

by rosden shadow - Compo Entry

Scevus is a 2D top down arcade game where the room modifies and changes it's shape and enemies change their form and become stronger over time.

Just how long can you survive.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#140Overall3.68
#165Fun3.59
#225Mood3.29
#228Graphics3.57
#266Innovation3.45
#278Audio3.12
#315Theme3.59
#434Humor2.29

Comments

CarlosPidox says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:22am

Great game!

Crown Games says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:23am

I put this game in a youtube video :) Great game man!https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebBGkf7s_1g

CrazyMatt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:27am

That was very fun, and had a very clever interpretation of "shapeshift!" Love it, and has an awesome retro feel!

LavWa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:29am

Cool game, I like the way you control the camera, smooth and great retro graphics !

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:32am

Very nice. Very difficult (I couldn't get past 50%). Great style, solid, simple (mechanically, not difficulty!) gameplay, and an options menu, which is rare! Nice job!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:54am

Neat! The shifting level definitely worked out, though it might have a stronger impact if it was a lower-granularity grid. :)

Still, lots of fun to play!

egos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:18am

Perfect realisation.
I appreciate that the level are procedural and the change of color give a real replay value

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:32am

Great entry!! Love the progression!!

nickavv says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:34am

Gah this is hard! I love the graphics and the music. Great entry

szahn says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:28am

Interested fun, abstract top-down shooter. Really love the concept. I can see myself playing this for a while but it's too hard. Can't survive past 30%

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:30am

I really loved your take on the theme, and the graphics seemed to fit very well with the style of game My only complaint about it is that sometimes the RNG can make some enemies inaccessible, which is mildly annoying.

rosden shadow says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:14am

@szahn: Yeah it's meant to be very difficult or really impossibly difficult.

@shohs: The enemies being cut off is part of the design. Sometimes they will be opened back up so you can get them then.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:21am

Funny game

Saladon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:29am

Very nice game.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:32am

Wow! Great game! Really fun and addicting... the levels randomized themselves in ways that always felt fair, but different enough to feel unique!

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:32am

Excellent game. Feels a tiny bit sluggish though, and the level is a bit long. Got to 88%.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:01am

Movement feels satisfying with the little touch of the spinning animation getting faster.

Good use of theme. The spawning and despawning blocks to add randomness during the level is a neat touch.

Autovelop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:49am

Fun game and good concept. I always enjoy survivals. Had no issues running it.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:39am

Simple but cool game, the information how to kill enemys was a little bit late.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:36pm

this took me back to playing Amstrad games, nice aesthetic choices

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Very challenging, fun game. I included it in my video compliation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/NUKW4hicpYU

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:17pm

Made it to 43% :) Cool and fun game. Simple mechanics. I loved the shifting map idea.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Solid entry. I like the randomly generated levels and audio feedback when you slice enemies to pieces. You also added a visual cue for when the enemies are about to fire, which I found very important. Presentation overall is great and the theme is well represented with a fresh idea.

Now for criticism:

First, for me the random environments were too uneven in their difficulty. If the areas are narrow then chances are high that enemies get cut off and you have less room to maneuver. The enemies pile up and you stand little chance.

Second, it is easy to get stuck on blocks was a bit annoying when I was close to getting one of the foes shortly before they fire and then they suddenly got just because I tripped over a corner. With one life and fairly long levels that dampened my enthusiasm to play more.

In general I see this idea with a lot of potential for continuing work on this game.

knason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Cool, I liked this one, an addictive game i played for to long :-) but I always died in the end. Well done!

thomz12 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Fun, simple and challenging game. Well done!

pkenney says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Wow great job! This was a lot of fun, and it was well-built.

I tested several scenarios to see if I could cheap the game out, but you had it covered. I tried just parking in a corner forever, but no dice. I also tested what happens if I stand on a spawning brick, but you thought of that too!

I liked the idea and I liked the pace. The graphical style was really cool too, the variations of block appearance was a really nice touch.

If could change just one thing I would look at making the collider into a slippery collider instead of a frictiony one. My main trouble was zipping around a corner of a block and I'd get a bit stuck. It was totally not a huge deal, it just threw a kink in that prevent the control from being A+ buttery smooth.

Great work, I liked this one.

RetroSpecter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:41am

It was pretty fun. I'm actually curious about how you did your procedural generation. Maybe make the gameplay a bit faster.

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:42am

Excellent Game. But why my antivirus warned me about this game :D

rosden shadow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:10am

@Khaoz_Fang: it does it with a lot of other games submitted as well

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:28am

Fun game, I really liked it.

Mikaza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Nice Game !

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Nice concept! Simple, yet pretty graphics! Music is a bit haunting, but overall, it's nice.

Patomkin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Really liked your take on the "shifting levels" idea ;)

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:26pm

The idea of a shapeshifting level is neat!
Conceptually it's simple, but really efficient. Good job on making the game actually feel great to play!

josemorval says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Nice game and very funny. Good job guy! :)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:47am

Very fun and interestingly designed bullet-hell. It was nice that I had to put thought into it to time when to attack the enemies. It was a little too difficult in my eyes however, only making it to 26%. Might be worth putting in multiple difficulties?

I played it on stream @ 1:18:15 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:39am

this was very fun - adding to my favorites - great use of theme - awesome game

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Great entry! Fun, challenging, nice visual appeal. Loved it. :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:20am

Pretty fun game! It took me maybe 7 or 8 retries before I noticed that I could kill the enemies. That made it a lot easier, but I still couldn't get past about 50%.

The art style is very fitting and I love the color fade of the level. The music fits that style perfectly. Good job :D

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:11am

Drat. I couldn't beat it.
Well, good job. I hope I wasn't missing anything for the ending.
I think it would be fair to add a few pixels of allowance for when a block spawns. There was a time when I was just barely next to a spawning block, but it still killed me.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]