Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Dudeshifter

by Micah Goodhue - Jam Entry

Dudeshifter is a arcade platformer where you have to shapeshift between different 'dudes' to overcome obstacles.

And beware the frog.

Team:

Micah Goodhue
Grady Butler IV

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#137Humor(Jam)3.45
#564Audio(Jam)2.76
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#664Mood(Jam)2.94
#680Theme(Jam)3.15
#751Overall(Jam)3.00
#845Innovation(Jam)2.67
#969Graphics(Jam)2.48
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

blob says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53am

Beat it! Nice humor and design. Love that the bodies stay on screen and nice intervention from the frog.

Ryan Kline says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53am

The game is awesome! I loved the dynamic between different dudes. The gameplay was one of the best I have played today. and even though the art was all very MSPainty, I really liked that you guys did it yourselves. This game has a lot of content, you should be proud!

Micah Goodhue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33am

Thanks! There's actually a few bugs and I apologize for that, we completely forgot about testing. I guess it just makes the game funnier, though. And yes--all the art was made with paint, haha.

aidanmarkham says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:21am

I liked this! I got stuck on a part where I couldn't continue without walking into a beehive. The character art was a bit weird, but functional. The platforming was fun!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Really funny platformer! Even though the graphics were made with MSPaint, it was all really consistent which made it work :)

I didn't complete it but I might later cause I really want to know what's up with that frog!

brainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:07pm

Great game! My only complaint is the lack of help section. I tried a lot to figure out how to buy things.

Micah Goodhue says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:28pm

I will post a post-LD version soon, fixing the beehive and adding help.

There was initially a tutorial but due to the game idea changing practically entirely, it was removed and we didn't have time to make a new one.

To buy stuff, you click on the shop and if you have enough coins you can purchase one of the abilities in there. You can use the arrow keys to switch between abilities.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Nice game, humor is cool ^^

ajhc says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Got to the endscreen - was pretty fun :) The art makes me smile. Had no idea how to interact with the shopkeepers for ages!

Good job on the solid platforming. I didn't see the frog though D:

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]