Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Life of George

by rockybdubs - Compo Entry

George is chicken.
She's free range.
She lives a rather monotonous life.
During the day she spends her time simply trying not to fall in random holes.

At night, though - she flies among the stars.

Controls:

Day:Up Arrow to Jump. *note: don't forget, chickens can't fly. They can however triple jump

Night:Arrows Keys to move around and collect stars to earn points.


*Hint - don't be too scared of the long lines of obstacles. It IS possible to land in between holes and quickly jump out to get through it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#174Audio3.35
#249Mood3.26
#341Humor2.55
#345Graphics3.31
#751Fun2.69
#820Overall2.74
#840Innovation2.38
#850Theme2.56

Comments

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:40pm

- Love the art.
- Could have used some animations!
- Got stuck in an impossible situation with like 6 traps ahead of me.

But the ambience and gameplay is quite soothing.

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:48pm

The art is nice and the music is chill but the game-play seems to screw you with it generating too many holes for a triple jump. Also I don't see the 'shapeshift' theme in this.

srakowski says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54pm

I am convinced it must be possible to time a 4 hole jump and succeed but after many attempts I couldn't land it! I'll have to try again later. Really enjoyed the soothing music and love the artsy night mode graphics. Well done!

rantt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55pm

I like the art style. It gets difficult pretty quickly trying to jump between the holes when they're a lot of them strung together. Fun game, nicely done.

rockybdubs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56pm

George shape shifts into a butterfly at night. It is very possible to land between holes and quickly jump to get past the long lines of obstacles.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:03am

The art and music were great. I think my only problem was it wasn't obvious where the hit boxes on George and the holes were.

Funske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:09am

I really enjoyed the graphics, they all had this awesome hand drawn style. Music was catchy, but would be nice if it was a little longer. I didn't get into too much gameplay because I could never figure out how to jump high enough.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56am

Love the art style and music, but the game seems impossible to win.

Beard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51am

I love the hand drawn art style of this. I would love to see this with animations.

mooncalf says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:02am

Cute game, I love chickens Eddie! X3 Nice on the music!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Nice and simple little game.. :)

grayhaze says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:00pm

The music was relaxing and a nice change from the scratchy sounds most LD games end up with. The graphics were also pretty. Unfortunately I couldn't get much further than three or four holes as I always ended up being faced with more than I could pass with a triple jump. I also never saw night, which I assume starts when you get past the holes, and didn't really see any hint of the theme. Could be fun with a bit more work on balance. Good job! :)

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Same as mukult, got stuck on a six in a row of the molehill things. Like the music and the graphics.

Tijn says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:13pm

It's a simple game, but it looks & sounds alright :) Well done!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:53am

Love the music and the artwork. Some sprite animation would have been great.

At night, the butterfly zips across the screen really quickly. I can't position it anywhere, it just zooms to the other side no matter how briefly I press the button. Is that a bug?

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Nice relaxing game - until the long line of obstacles :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]