Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

PuzzleShift

by KunoNoOni - Compo Entry

PuzzleShift is a puzzle game where you must escape for the mad wizard's tower. Along the way you will find 2 potions. One will allow you to transform into a mouse the other with allow you to transform into a bat, but only for a short period of time. Utilizing these new forms you will need to use all your skill to make it to freedom!


There are instructions in the game but I will list them here as well as some other tidbits. I suggest you read this before playing. Nobody likes rage quitting ;)

****IMPORTANT!!****IMPORTANT!!****IMPORTANT!!****IMPORTANT!!****IMPORTANT!!
I spoke with Mike about the issues that have been reported and he advised me to fix my game if it was broken. Most of the game breaking bugs should be gone. If you encounter any more please let me know. I have updated all of the links with the bugfixed version. I still have copies of the original versions I uploaded in case they are needed.

Here is what was changed.

1. I redid the colliders on the player characters to hopefully fix the issue with the player getting stuck on the purple block sprites. It might still be possible to get stuck but it shouldn't happen as frequent. if it does happen moving the other way and/or jumping should fix the issue. I've also noticed that letting the player go idle and then moving again helped in some areas.

2. To prevent other game breaking issues the player is prevented from jumping at the end level portals.

****IMPORTANT!!****IMPORTANT!!****IMPORTANT!!****IMPORTANT!!****IMPORTANT!!

Known Issues
------------
1. On the first level after entering the first portal it is possible for the player to get stuck on the bottom of the blocks that look like a 3. This is due to the fact that I miscalculated the space needed.

2. It is possible for the play to fall through objects if he falls from too high up. This is caused by the way the Unity Physics and Collision engine works. The player is moving too fast for the colliders to stop it.

3. on the level where you get the first potion after jumping on the block above the right most moving platform. If you stand too close to the wall when you go to jump it will seem like your hitting your head on something. Just step away from the wall, jump to the block above it.

Controls
--------

You can use the keyboard or an Xbox gamepad.

Moving: WASD/Arrow Keys or Joystick 1
Jumping: Left Ctrl or A
Transform into a mouse: Left Shift or X
Transform into a bat: Space or Y

You can only transform into a mouse or a bat once you have gotten the potions. The first on will allow you to transform into a mouse and the second one will allow you to transform into a bat. You can only be a bat for 5 seconds befor you revert back to a human. You will need to regain your stamina (the bar in the upper right of the screen) before you can transform again.

NOTES and Oddities
------------------
I am no longer able to get the WebGL version to work. But I have added Mac OSX and Linux builds. Both are Universal and both are untested.

All levels can be completed with a little patience. There are a total of 9 levels. I can't tell you how many times I died playtesting this game :)

There is no sound for picking up the potion. It just wouldn't play LOL. I really tried to get it to play but alas it would not.

There is no sound for entering a portal to finish the level and I also noticed the arrow explosion is not working. Edit: This is because I forgot to link the sound file to prefab. my bad :(.

The only music in the game is on the Titlescreen and the Win screen. Sorry I ran out of time and figured most people mute the music anyways :). I'm kinda sad about this as all of my previous games save the last one had music throughout the game.

You cannot press ESC to quit the game. It honestly should have been the first thing I coded but I forgot to put it in. not even sure it was on the to do list. I suggest you play the WebGL version at full screen, that was you can just close the browser window. :)

You may notice the bat stamina bar might be in different locations on different levels. All I can say is me and the new Unity UI are not on speaking terms at the moment.

The sounds that are in the game are all at half volume. Hopefully they are not too loud for you. Edit: Apparently even at half volume they are still too loud. I apologize for this.

Once you get the first potion you will gain the ability to turn into a mouse for the rest of the game. Same goes for the bat.

Please leave feedback. I know there are some issues with the game and I would like to make it better.

I made this game as a homage to the Escape Goat series. I have mad respect for them. Making a puzzle game is waaaaaay harder than it looks!

Lastly, Thank you for playing my game. I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed making it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#521Humor2.05
#523Graphics2.90
#605Audio2.00
#624Mood2.68
#649Fun2.86
#649Theme3.07
#793Overall2.79
#869Innovation2.28

Comments

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Problems with the character controller that result in the character sticking on tile boundaries spoilt the game for me. The jump sound was also too annoying and I quickly muted the game.

However it should be a nice little game once the issues are fixed.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:58pm

not bad had a few collision issues and was kinda weird jumping with the mouse but overall not bad

JHemmings says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:10pm

The game reminds me a bit of Tiny Barbarian, which is a good thing! It might have been a better idea to let the stamina refill to max as soon as the player touches the floor, rather than just waiting around. Similar to what Munchy2007 said, this would be a solid, simple platformer if you had been able to fix the issues with the player getting stuck on the purple blocks :)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:20pm

After the purple block glitch killed me for the 7th time (because spikes), I gave up. Didn't get to experience the bat, but this is a fun, retro game with lots of cool possibilities. I particularly like the re-use of the levels.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Thank you all for the feedback. Once all the voting is over I will look again at the player sticking to the purple blocks. the collision box is a box, I will try switching it to a circle and see if that fixes the issue. If not then it might be the object I'm using to check if the player is on the ground.

@JHemmings the waiting for the stamina bar to refill is to simulate the player resting. I can look into making the bar refill a little faster though.

LudumAnthony says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:50am

Extremely buggy (based on comments I think it's the game but just in case my browser is Waterfox).
Examples:
http://i.pxl.lt/Tgalf3.gif
http://i.pxl.lt/Q8dGB6.gif

Also, I couldn't use X / Left Shift to shapeshift.

I don't plan on voting due to these issues.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:01am

i also did have some collision issues and glitches, but dont worry. this game is quite nice and interesting
play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:08am

Interesting game. There are some problems with moving and I was a bit confused as to what button jumped. But it's a nice game with fun retro aspects. Good job!

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:11am

@LudumAnthony Thank you for the gifs. That is completely crazy. I never experienced those bugs when I was playtesting it. You cannot shapeshift until you get the 2 red potions. The first one lets you become a mouse and the second one lets you become a bat.

@ruchirbapat Yeah I'm not sure why there are collision issues. They do not happen all the time. so it really weird.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:16am

@LudumAnthony I believe I know why you were able to climb the wall in the first gif. I'm not sure it would be considered a game breaking bug. So I don't think i'll be able to fix it for the compo.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:22pm

The noise-based samples were rather sharp in my earphones. There was diversity and buildup in the game but I couldn't persevere till the end.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:04am

@zenmumbler Sorry the sounds were too loud, I had them at half volume.

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:20am

A bit glitchy, but very fun :D

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:24am

The graphics remind me of Lode Runner

Cosmologicon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:33am

Linux build works well, but on the first level with the arrows I jumped down from a great height and fell through the floor. I didn't die, though, and there was no way to restart so I had to kill the game. :/ It wasn't bad. I liked some of the level design, but it was a bit too forgiving toward the end, if you hit the wrong button. Not bad overall, though.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:47am

@Cosmologican Thank you for trying the Linux version.

The reason you fell through the floor was because of the way unity does there physic and collisions. You were moving at too high a speed for the collision to detect you.

Wait the first level with the arrows? Thank you for the feedback I will see if I can reproduce the issue and then see what I can do to fix it.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:56am

This was fun! I enjoyed exploring the levels. There are some collision issues, and having jump mapped to left-control was uncomfortable, so I just used the mouse to jump (which was unusual but functional).

Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:52am

(Thanks! If you're really interested, I could give you a rundown off-thread of how the procedural generation works.)

Yword says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:47pm

Really great level design and quite challenging too! But quite hard to control with keyboard... Maybe you can use the Unity configurable input. Well done!

mitkus says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:40am

Very cool game with some minor issues. Graphics style is lovely, and gameplay reminds if 90s PC platformers very much. The biggest issue for me was jumping on a tile, reaching it and then sliding off it, which felt unnatural in a platformer.

in3orn says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:56pm

It was very hard but I made it! Here's the proof:
https://twitter.com/_krakers/status/725775119356989446 :>

I hadn't any issues during the game. Liked the graphics, sound and steering. Bat was pretty challenging, but - something must be. Only the title could be more sophisticated :P Well done mate :)

in3orn says ...
Jun 8, 2016 @ 6:42pm

I know it's month after the event, but maybe you'll be happy to hear that you're in my top 10 LD35 summary list :)

http://krk-dev.com/2016/06/08/top-10-of-ld35/

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]