Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A Mazeshift Title

by antglynn - Compo Entry

Solve procedurally generated maze puzzles by shifting tiles to change the shape of the landscape.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Fun3.81
#108Overall3.75
#133Mood3.52
#266Innovation3.45
#328Graphics3.34
#361Humor2.50
#398Audio2.84
#452Theme3.38
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:09pm

The game is difficult. The mechanics are very solid, I like it.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Awesome game, fun, novel take on the theme and great graphics - simple but perfectly formed

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Clever game, almost rubic's cube like. I could see this being a mobile app.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Very nice and interesting puzzle game. I like the minimalist look, very appropriate.

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Challenging, i like it. definitely bookmark to come back to later.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06pm

Shifting shapes.. clever take on the theme.. simple and challenging puzzle game.. :)

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Brainfucking game... nice first level... it shows all the mechanics and how to play the game :) But then the second level fucked my brain... I had two beers with friends and I cannot keep my mind uo... i build the first two row like i want them to have... but then i must move one piece down in one of the dashes and everthing is destroyed... I love those games... I like puzzles... but you really need a beer mode... for people like me ;) Or some more of the beginners levels :) Really good designed puzzle games... nice use of the theme... Have a nice day and keep it going... thanks for rating my game tho!

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:57am

I like the core puzzle mechanic. Pretty solid. I would prefer moving the tiles by swiping. Some easing in the movement could make it more appealing.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:50am

This reminds me of the game cogs. Good call on theme placement.

reheated says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:28pm

I like it. Clever puzzle rules and good work making procedurally generated puzzles!

Szabin says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:11pm

This would make an awesome mobile game!
Also, a friendly tip: You don't need those .pdb files in public releases, they are for debugging and make the download huge. ;)

dunin says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Fun puzzle game!
A little repetitive (maybe the procedural generation is the cause, I don't know...)
I like the mood.

Krammetje says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Fun game. I'd suggest making it a bit easier on early levels and scaling the difficulty up, but that's just balancing.
It's a very nice made game.

FiSilva says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Very nice mechanics and challenging enough. I had fun

CaptainPilot says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Awesome game, gets tough fast but that's part of the challenge! Like the gfx too

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 7:47pm

Simple, polished, difficult. Good job.

Nomys_Tempar says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:51am

Neat entry, well done !

Tselmek says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:04am

Really great puzzle game, good job on the procedural generation although it sometimes felt really difficult.

May 7, 2016 @ 11:49am

This feels like a very complete game, the artstyle and the sound effect when moving the rows and columns fits perfectly, difficulty scales well, I solved about 4 puzzles before it got too difficult for me.

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:33pm

Wow, really liked this one, I'm quite a puzzle fan and had a really good time with his. Really solid entry, well done! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]