Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Phase Shift

by Allthebees - Jam Entry

Phaseshift is a platformer with a few puzzle elements. The core gameplay mechanic is shifting between to phases which shapeshifts the level around you. 12 levels to try out!

Controls:
W = Jump
A = Left
D = Right
K = Shapeshift
R = Esc = Reset to Menu
Q = Toggle Fullscreen


This was our second and first game jam respectively (so effectively our first as a team!) and I think it went pretty well. We were able to get a prototype out in under 2 hours, and then toyed around aloooot with the theme and graphics style but we are happy with the outcome, especially the moving background.

Credits:
Joni Lev: Programming, Sound
Liz Mo: Art, Animation

Both: Level design, sleep deprivation and coffee consumption

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#73Theme(Jam)4.05
#99Overall(Jam)3.84
#175Fun(Jam)3.58
#182Audio(Jam)3.59
#224Innovation(Jam)3.51
#248Mood(Jam)3.51
#321Graphics(Jam)3.73

Comments

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:23am

Really cool way of shape-shifting, the level changes very nicely and it looks nice, well done!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:00am

this game.. IS AMAZING! SUPERB! i gave u 5 stars for all categories. and the animations are pretty damn cool, mate!

play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

SnedHlepPls says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:21am

I liked the way the music changed subtly when you shape-shifted the stage. The idea also let you create some pretty interesting levels. Good job!

MrBoxBox says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Excellent work! 5/5! The atmosphere in this game was great and it was very satisfying to see myself become better each level i played.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07pm

Unique idea, great implementation, intuitive controls. I love your take on shapeshifting, really well done!

Ivakha says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:09pm

Masterpiece! 5/5
P.S. Shapeshifting shows its utility only after a few levels. I just wanted to mention that :)

nextreality says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:34pm

The controls feel incredibly tight! Great use of the theme.

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Really well done. Everything came together to give this game a super peaceful feel. Loved the sheer abstract nature of the game (and by extension the take on the theme) and I thought the way that it handled tutorialisation was particularly well done.
Being able to shapeshift the menu introduced the main mechanic before the game had even started.
Really good job! :)

sharrackor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Fantastic through and through. I loved the vibe of the game and how simple yet well-used the main mechanic was. Excellent work, two thumbs up from me! :D

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Great game! Really like the shifting mechanic. I played it for quite a while till for some reason it crashed... I was in the level with the yellow cube between 2 large pillars, I jumped against the spikes at the bottom of the right pillar and it hanged... I stopped the game through task manager but for some reason the music is still playing as I'm typing this :O It's great music though ;)

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Thanks everyone for the comments!

@DSSiege11, yeah.. sadly there are a few known bugs with collision with pointy objects that causes the game to get stuck in a while loop. It requires a rework of the art but we are fixing it as I type! Thanks for letting us know and thanks for playing!

Seth_senpai says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Nice platformer with a simple idea that was executed on very well! I absolutely love the aesthetic of this game as well as its soundtrack which matches very well. The controls worked well and there was no obvious buggy behaviour. Since most things were executed on so well i'm going to nitpick a bit on some of the graphics. The buttons in the main menu need some love, (a hover over effect, nicer font etc), The rotating particles that were flowing up and down were a nice touch to indicate the change in level but would probably be better suited behind the other game objects instead of over them. A slightly better indication of depth since the playable layer and the shifting background were very similarly coloured it was sometimes not instantly obvious what was going on. But like I said at this point i'm nitpicking and this is definitely a well executed game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Visually stunning! Great work on making the same few blocks and mechanics interesting by new application. A lot of content as well, didn't get through it all!

Fakirgnome says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Really pretty visuals and a good use of the mechanic. If there is any criticism I could give: the background and platforms could use a bit more contrast, some background things feel like they will interact with the player. Amazing game, well done!

kutan74 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Played all the levels . Great concept man :)

Ibzy says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:06am

Nice shifting of the level, and good usage of timing as well as forward planning to beat the levels. Nice calming music too to counter the stress of many spikes.

runvs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:12pm

This is a neat game! I like the simple concept of the world shifting which is executed perfectly. It is very nice visualized. The collision mechanic got me stuck two times (when i jumped on a shifting plattform) but thats no big problem.
Sound and graphics are also very nice!

May 1, 2016 @ 2:56pm

I really liked the concept of shifting the level rather than your character. Music was nice and chill, which helped, too. Overall, very good. If I had to find something to improve, it would be the movement, as it feels a little off/jerky, but it's not that bad and I think it's more of a personal preference there than anything. Definitely a great game!

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:13am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]