Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Out of shape

by Osaft - Jam Entry

Great! You hit a new all time high. Your Weight - Damn it!
Time to loose some pounds! So let's hit the Gym.

Practice your fingers in some exciting new Button(s)mashing Exercises.

https://youtu.be/NHkNPd39ifc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#69Humor(Jam)3.79
#439Audio(Jam)3.06
#564Graphics(Jam)3.28
#569Overall(Jam)3.22
#600Mood(Jam)3.03
#619Fun(Jam)3.03
#662Innovation(Jam)2.91
#703Theme(Jam)3.12

Comments

gurkenhobel says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 6:39pm

sounds boring

AngerFork says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Haha, this was super fun! Loved the wheezing guy as he was exercising and the button calls felt solid at that speed!

gurkenhobel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33pm

btw just kidding. i'm one of the devs ;)

Pierce_Z says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:20am

Haha that was great =)

Marc F. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Pretty funny game, didn't get too much of the shapeshifting theme though. Still very fun!

CluelessGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:38pm

What a great take on the theme! Really funny. The game has a lot of character. I can tell you had fun making it. Good job :)

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Hahaha I felt bad firt time I played when I burned 0 calories hahhaha

NPException says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Was surprisingly fun to play! I did not expect that from the main screenshot. Good work! :)

DiFFtY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Cute modeling and animations! It made me smile. Congrats :)

Millefey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:03pm

That font is rather disturbingly organic but clearly well in touch with the game! Lots of fun. (I couldn't help but giggle and that made focusing on the combos more challenging, haha). Also, the sound effects are brilliant. I hope the poor guy will find permanent motivation!

esayitch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:14pm

Pretty funny, especially like the sound effects, fall animation, and Shia :P

Good luck!

thephantom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:06pm

cool game...
the mood was the best selling point.
wish the game was more easy though. I couldn't get first exercise

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Loved it! The animations of him screwing up were pretty funny. especially the punching bag.

kabel says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Well...I smiled.

ployer says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:32pm

creepy audio for the dude haha nice touch. well done

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Funny animations and models! Gameplay is simple but fun nevertheless. A bit too easy in my opinion, though! Obviously there is room for improvement, but still it's a nice little game :) Sure, the gameplay doesn't fit the theme, but I think it's a funny interpretation of "shape shifting" in regards of the "story" haha!

Would be great if you check out our game as well!

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Great. Now I'm procrastinating from working out in a videogame... XD
Nice idea! I loved the motivational posters.

TomaszHajas says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Fun and original, but average gameplay.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:33pm

Fun to play, made me laugh! (Summer)

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Nicely done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]