Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Tetrashifter

by Garazbolg - Jam Entry

Hello, and Welcome to my second Ludum Dare submition.

So this this a little game where you embody a little tetramino lost in space trying to comeback to earth. You can move and change shape to make your way down.

I was originally going to make a tutorial and a real level, but it takes too much time to make real puzzles so i just extended the tutorial. I think it would be great if a game/level designer here wanted to make a real puzzle game out of this.

I started the game on my own and did everything, but my friend Aurelia (facebook.com/Aurelia.Drawings) came and redid my rubbish sprites (thankfully).

This game was made with Game Maker Studio. It is also my first game with this engine and I'm pretty happy about the result.

This game was designed for android so everything is playable with a mouse.


Thank you very much for playing and reading. I hope you enjoy this game !
xoxo



update : Added a kick highscore to see your best time, added tuto for the swipe up, change sounds volume (music : down, sounds : up)

update 2 (post Deadline) :

- Corrected a typo in my nickname in the main menu screen ... Who does that ?!?
(I left the previous screenshot for those who wanna have fun)

- Added Keyboard for windows (most complained about that and it was only copy/paste some code, didn't write anything new) :
- WASD/ZQSD/up,down,right,left to move
- 1,2,3,4 to choose the shape
- Space to rotate

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#208Innovation(Jam)3.55
#223Theme(Jam)3.75
#264Humor(Jam)3.06
#394Fun(Jam)3.30
#445Graphics(Jam)3.50
#584Overall(Jam)3.20
#597Audio(Jam)2.65
#611Mood(Jam)3.00
#1754Coolness33%

Comments

neondx says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Loved the "wait, what?"

It was a little hard to do le swipe (sometimes it identified a rotation)

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:04pm

You played it on windows or smartphone ?

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Thank you.
For the swipe, you played it on windows or smartphone ? either the detection is just calculating the distance of swipe if you draw line it swipe, if you do a little line it rotates.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27am

I played on windows. loved the way this looks, but the swipe is a bit weird and jittery. Wish I had played it on Android! I feel like it would've worked really well there.

ConorOD says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:37pm

A bit finicky with a mouse, but I could imagine this being a lot of fun on a phone or tablet. Really nice presentation too.

Prudiiarca says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Yet again a game I really wanted to play but could not because of Mac OS X. Its sad how many games still require to be downloaded and often run on one specific platform only...
(please dont take this personally! Its just the 10th game or so I wanted to play but could not out of this reason :/ )

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Maybe key detection for windows build would be a good idea, swipe is hard ith a mouse, I got a few crashes and bugs also but the game would be great on a samrtphone !

devilqube says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Quite hard with a mouse, really enjoyed it on android. The wait what! was a nice touch.

AdamsMcCall says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Awesome game. Too bad I couldn't enjoy it totally as I played on PC.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Nice, tetraminoes! I agree keyboard controls would really be a good idea for desktop. might have improved my sad 125s score, haha. 'wait, what?' felt pretty satisfying. :)

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Ok you guys convinced me, i added keyboard input (real quick, copy/paste a bunch of lines)

@kestrelgames Thank you I do love it too :)

@Prudiiarca Sorry bro but in Game Maker you need a licence to export for Mac or iOS (i tried). I fortunately got the android licence in an humblebundle, If anyone has one, feel free to download the sources, export and put the link here, i'd be happy to link it in the submission.
Or you could use Wine

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:49pm

I played on windows but I see that it would probably be much better on my phone.
I might try it there later. Why don't you have Android listed under "Downloads and Links"? I think it would make it easier for people.

I got 83.05 seconds the first time

Garazbolg says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:10am

Wow ok, thanks to you I just found that you can edit the platforms too -_-'

Well next time i'll know. Thank you so much !

Odyssey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:20am

A bit strange to play with mouse but fun on android

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:30am

Neat idea, I really like the graphics and the concept. It feels really strange to control on PC though. Fix the control issues and you may have something compelling here.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:35am

Playing on windows I couldn't really get the controls to work very well. I liked the idea, and the way you implemented the theme. I'm sure it works better on mobile devices.

Lullaby says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Efficient mechanic, and very well executed. I tried a couple times Game Maker, and I must admit the result you had is pretty impressive for a first time!

Well done :)

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Tegu says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Managed to do it in 44.67 seconds. However, it was somewhat frustrating when the shape rotated whrn I just tried swipe to move. Sometimes the shape got stuck so that it did not go in the gap where it had gone on earlier runs. Had to restart the game as there is no retry button. That button would be useful for speedrunning as well. I liked the Tetris feeling and the funny texts along the course. Funny game, some new levels would be nice for further development.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Super polished entry. I loved how you were able to keep surprising me with new mechanics in a way that wasn't overwhelming. Great execution!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]