Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Doppel City

by Green Soda - Jam Entry

You are a city sniper hunting for evil shapeshifters...

Gameplay:
- Each level, there is one shapeshifter among the crowd...
- Use mouse to shoot your gun...
- Locate and kill the shapeshifter each level before time ends...
- Killing innocent civilians will decrease your time...
- You can zoom in and out (mouse scroll) or change camera angles (A or D) to help you find the shapeshifter...
- Try to kill the shapeshifter quickly for higher scores! Compete the highscore against players around the world!!

**Note: IF U GET THE HIGHSCORE, YOUR NAME WILL BE DISPLAYED IN THE GAME TO EVERYONE WHO WILL PLAY.

Disclaimer: NO DOGS WERE HARMED IN MAKING THIS GAME

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#39Mood(Jam)4.10
#41Overall(Jam)4.02
#45Graphics(Jam)4.44
#68Innovation(Jam)3.88
#73Fun(Jam)3.84
#88Theme(Jam)4.02
#287Humor(Jam)3.02

Comments

Namshuk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:29am

I like the choice of font. I also like the minimalist art style, it fits to the game. The mechanics are simple yet it's the way you observe the environment that's really tricky. Haha!

One of my concerns is the difficulty curve in the level progression. After the 6th level, everyone's haywire. I got past level 7 just by sheer luck. Humans and dogs are literally EVERYWHERE. x_x
Maybe just turn off some building lights or lamp post lights in some levels or something like that would suffice?

Another thing is that rotating the game screen sometimes just nudges the screen. I tend to lose track of the shapeshifter whenever I rotate the screen so I don't really use it much.

Also, I would suggest to increase the countdown timer each time the level increases. Just so.. you know, more time to concentrate. ;)

Great job duds! I managed to get 315 points. :D

Green Soda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:20am

Thanks for the helpful feedbacks, man!

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:32am

The art style and colors are great, recommend use more effort on the mechanisms.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:13am

Graphics are really great. The mechanic is a nice idea, I think gampeplay could be developed a bit more, but you have a nice base to work on it. Good job

Green Soda says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59am

Got it! I'll delve deeper... Thanks :)

s0wbear says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:29am

This is great, i liked the art style a lot!
I had a little trouble with the cam rotation mechanics though.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Great idea!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:08am

@sowbear would it be better if rotation would be holding a key to move instead of "one tap to certain rotation" ?

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:10am

There is just something about sniping dogs from a far. Love the game!

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:03am

Great concept! I love the attention to detail in the graphics. The 'Don't Do It' sign is a nice touch :D

I found that in later levels (maybe 10 and onwards?) the dogs and people started to jostle each other in a way not that distinguishable from shapeshifting. Also it didn't always turn when I pressed A or D; I couldn't deterministically reproduce the issue. I feel like increasing the shape shifter's sophistication somehow would be a better way to scale the difficulty.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:04am

I enjoy the earlier levels more than the later ones. The movement gets too glitchy when the dogs and people are so bunched up and it was easy for me to mistake a sudden shift in position due to the pathing as a shapeshift, which made it unfairly difficult. On a different note, the presentation is fantastic, really well done!

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:06am

one of my favs so far!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:10am

Ohhh!! i see... i really should change tht difficulty factor... thanks for the feedback

@marjie62 hahaha u noticed the sign xD

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:50am

Cool game, like a polygonal hidden in plain sight game. Looks really nice. The one problem I had was when you get toward double digit levels there are so many people and dogs that everything is blinking around trying to find a place where it can fit and not be colliding with something else so it just looks like everything is changing shape.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:55am

ahaha that's it! i have to update it already xD thnks man

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:31am

Nice concept and graphics. The shapeshifter will face a wrong direction after they change their shapes. Is this a bug?

Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:01am

Fun game loved it

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:06am

Cool game. I like the graphics and the sound. The gameplay is simple but well executed. Props for it, your entry is very solid!

merzlot says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:13am

Highscore! Yay! :) Great visuals and interesting gameplay!

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Such a beautiful game to look at. And I really enjoyed looking out for those shapeshifters and blasting them to smithereens. Great little easy to play game. Got 241 points, but I messed up on level seven shooting two innocent people... collateral damage, I say.

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:53am

Hah, that was genius. Only thing that annoyed me: that camera was stuck to 4 direction, i wanted free rotation as sometimes it d turn just to get a large building in front of the person i was following and would get stuck for a few secs. Otherwise, great mood and idea. You somehow made shooting dogs fun? Which makes me sound like truly horrible person, good job.

blob says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:53am

Also my game is also about a shapeshifter infiltrating a city, except you play as the shapeshifter. :)

Green Soda says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:20am

Thanks guys for these flattering feedbacks! :)

@blob that's a cool thing! we're compatible haha *checks ur game*

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Highscore! Noice, except the highscore TextField only takes 8 letters! I would have needed a few more.

In the end the jittering issue spelled my downfall as well. No way to distinguish between shapeshifting and plain old smushing & spazzing out on the streets.

The camera rotation mechanic also raises a few questions. Where are you sniping from? A helicopter? A drone? We may never know, but I find it rather odd that a planarshifting sniper would discriminate against shapeshifting pedestrians.

Green Soda says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:37pm

i also had that question in mind... but then i went "m-meh, whatever! game logic =))" hahaha

Odyssey says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:16am

Loved the art style!

luquio says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:40am

Nice nice nice! Want to see more of this game! :)

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:43am

EXCELLENT art style and ambience. Essentially a more interactive "Where's Waldo?". Fun!

joemid says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:32am

Slick graphics! What a harrowing mood you have created! Reminded me of Golgo 13. Can't wait to see how you take this further!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:50am

Really fun mechanic!
The only problem i had with it was the choice of camera. It got really tedious. But i guess that's intended as it would be too simple with a free flowing camera =)

Overall though, great! (y)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:21am

Nice mood and fine game overall, i like the low poly graphics (as you can see from our game lol) the environment is really nicely done, the characters less (more color variations and sharper design for the dog could have done wonders ;), btw the mechanics is nice, not very innovative but fun!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:24pm

@Arvydas thnk u! ill keep tht in mind next time

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Very very very nice entry!! I love this idea. And the controls are very fine. Good work!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:44pm

I like the game and visuals. Three of the four view points were awful.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:41am

really nice graphics :)

leo_p_mahon says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:38pm

We had a similar idea! Mine was 2D though. So obviously 5/5 for theme ;) I liked the graphics and the blur effect around the edges. Like my game the problem is it gets hard reaaaaly fast. Overall a top entry!

Reis Mahnic says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:11pm

LOVE this concept. Especially liked that the NPCs tried to hide before changing forms.
Beautiful presentation. Visuals were great and audio fit the mood.
Awesome job.

Phaix says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:23am

Great game. Was a little tricky at the higher level due to massive population, fun to play!

Blobby101 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:26am

The difficulty definitely seemed to ramp up a little too quickly as it went on, and I think it might've been interesting to have more than one shapeshifter on some levels (maybe you did this in later levels, but I didn't see it :P).

Graphics are really nice though, love the minimalist style, and the music/ambient sound really added to the atmosphere.

Great entry!

Knowledge says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:36am

OK game, tips all the time is a bit annoying.

edve98 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:06am

Damn this looks soooo good! It's a shame it's Windows only :/

Prudiiarca says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:23am

I really enjoyed the look of this game. There are neat little details and looks astonishing!
I found it quite hard to track the shapeshifter in later levels though...

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Wow, really good job. It's extremely polished, and a lot of fun. I got 4247 on level 38. i.imgur.com/EmNB667.png
It reminds me of the 7DFPS game 'Serial Sniper'
If I were to change one thing, it would be to make the cursor just a little more precise.
But you did a fantastic job on this one, I might come back to it later when I want a game to play.

nlbi21 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:50pm

Omg the art is great i like it 5 stars, very good concept good game guys !

Green Soda says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:22pm

thnks everyone! @TheCain, yeah your score can be seen on everyone's game copy XD

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:15pm

you built a great atmosphere that let people easy to put himself in the position! the world change in detail and amibent also welldone,and the music's continuous also mix these and also adjustment the hole feeling.
at first i was feel a little bit confused, but when i let me in to peaceful status, i could found the shifter quickly!
very fascinating game.(and the high scores was really too high.. just dont know how he/she acheive this height omg... )

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:06am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Green Soda says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 3:24pm

got it sir!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]