Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Maze Shift

by HardlyDifficult - Jam Entry

You are lost in an strange world with a copious amount of disgusting slime. As a Voxel hero your ability to shift the world around you is crucial to escaping this wretched place.

WASD / arrows to move, space to shift the world around you. Avoid the slime, don't touch the spikes, try not to fall down that hole... Trap slimes, drop them to their doom, or just run away. How high can you get? ;)

twitch.tv/HardlyDifficult
^ Stop by, a community making games on Twitch everyday.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#162Theme(Jam)3.87
#242Innovation(Jam)3.47
#325Overall(Jam)3.47
#399Humor(Jam)2.70
#419Mood(Jam)3.26
#440Graphics(Jam)3.52
#591Fun(Jam)3.06
#594Audio(Jam)2.66
#1934Coolness26%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:29am

11/10 best minecraft clone yet -ign

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:47am

Watching you now brother!!!! Looking forward to playing your final game!!! Challenge accepted... reaching LEVEL 10!!!! :)

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:58am

White screen. D:

ougrouk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:01am

Nice entry, love the art.

darksshades says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:02am

Very interesting concept. Love it when the scenario starts to appear and disapear.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:11am

White screen = loading... patience please!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:11am

The alternating level mechanic was really fun, enjoyed the graphics quite a bit. Would've been killer with some music!

Check out my game, Tito's Revenge:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

cabezotta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:21am

Very original idea! I really liked it! Great game!

xaraz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:55am

Great job HD. Actually fun to play.

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:45pm

That was class, loved the environment. my only minor criticism (which wont affect the score) is the controls felt a bit awkward, or at least that is my excuse for walking into the enemy anyway :-) well done.

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Nice game.
Maybe you could think about procedural level generation ;)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Very beautiful game, good controls.

EthanBierlein says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:28pm

Pretty good! It seemed easy at first, but it got very difficult very quickly. Nice work!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Having the level change on command, and in what looks like randomly designed patterns, is really clever. Plus the isometric view works really well.

I did encounter a few glitches, like the player being randomly warped to an out of bounds area with no way to return to the level, and falling through what was clearly the floor.

Arbedii says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:34pm

Where has this been all my life? 20/10 would get slimed again.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28am

couldnt get your game to work, could you provide a windows version?

Gyfis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Good game. The idea of shape-shifting the map is really nice.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:58pm

wonderful idea::: FUNNY GAMEPLAY AND YOU KEEP YOUR MIND UP::: CAUSE YOU HAVE TO REMEMBER WHERE THE TRAPS WERE^^ ::: oh damn I wrote all this with caps... sorry ^^ Good job m,an!

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:32am

cool idea, nicely done

donmatheo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:26pm

wonderful piece of game

subpixel says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:36am

That was good fun! It took me a bit to work out the movement strategy, but once I did it was pretty fun to explore two maps simultaneously. I only wish there were more clues about where the exit might be.

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:35am

Nice visuals and cool concept.

Wevel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Visually looks cool, but feels a bit slow and the sound fx are a bit annoying

ragnta says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Nice game, but I didn't find the finishobject at level2 :(

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:56pm

nice graphics !

dustyroom says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:29am

Great concept! Didn't find the exit on level 2....

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]