Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Vishnu Launch

by PeachTreeOath - Jam Entry

Vishnu must travel really far! Upgrade and use your avatars of Vishnu to win~

Instructions:
-Press 1-9 or click on your avatar symbols in the top left to change forms
-Avatar forms have a limited time, so switch between them before you run out of power
-Upgrading forms in the shop will give you more avatar lifetime and stats
-Hitting spacebar [repeatedly] will stop your momentum if you want to stop your run early

*** May get out of memory error for WebGL on slower computers, use Web Player in this case ***

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#290Humor(Jam)3.00
#415Theme(Jam)3.50
#573Fun(Jam)3.09
#578Audio(Jam)2.70
#827Overall(Jam)2.94
#846Mood(Jam)2.66
#878Innovation(Jam)2.62
#911Graphics(Jam)2.63

Comments

Dooskington says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23am

Fun game! Reminded me of toss the turtle, back in the day from Newgrounds.

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23am

Web gl didn't work for me, but the web unity does!

urfbound says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24am

Nice game! I like the combination of Kitten Cannon with the shapeshifting theme. Adds a nice strategic element depending on the stage of the launch that you're in. Great job on the animation, too. A lot of attention to detail and the sprites all look really good in my opinion. The polish really shows on things like the bounces when auras change and when you get powerups. One recommendation I would make would be to add to the physics code to change the speed that the sprites spin at relative to their collisions and to make the bouncing seem a little more realistic. One thing that I really liked was the 'power meter' right before a launch. It's not a boring old power bar so that makes you pay attention closely and also looks fantastic. An addicting game overall in my opinion, which really helps. Had a lot of fun playing, hope you had fun making your game! Thanks for your submission :D

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:26am

WebGL Played fantastic for me

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:27am

reminds me of yeti sports :D

Peter1992t says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37am

That was a really weird and fun theme.

Line says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:03am

I'm not sure how to play this game or what I'm doing. I'd like to know.

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:06am

Fun - repetitive but there was a bit of strategy in using each form, which was nice. Title made me laugh.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:06am

Very funny game!
We just played it on our channel and showed it to our fans too!

serp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:09am

Fun! I'm not entirely sure what i was doing half the time but I love these types.

paragonpawns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:10am

I had to force myself to stop playing... Kind of addicting! Great job! Check out our game as well, if you have a minute! =)

Jungle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:15am

Looks like Yetti Sports or Paper Plane. Fits theme well.

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:17am

A new spin on a classic game. The theme seems to complement the game very nicely. The background music is very catchy which helps give it that 'one more turn' kinda feel.

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:22am

I'm honestly not sure how to tell how much lifespan each form has left, or if there was anything I could do to extend it? It was fun though! I liked the jaunty music and the theme was interesting.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:34am

The lifespan is the white ring around the avatar icons, they'll drain over time. The more you upgrade an avatar the longer lifetime it'll have. Thanks for the feedback!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:04am

Fun game!!! I could not see my avatars in the top left... but the number keys worked just fine! Nice work!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:17am

Good fun.
Not much else to say: it does what's written on the box and is just fun.

Nice entry, kudos :)

rodobodolfo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:23am

Haha this was fun. Simple but fun. I especially liked the BGM.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36am

Fun game! Took me a while to figure out what every avatar does. Good job!

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:23pm

Coooool! I tried several times after shopping. It makes you try again and again.
Well job dude!

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:05pm

funny

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20pm

I love these kind of games! Which means I love this game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:46am

A classic online genre. Playing was a nostalgic experience :).

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:10am

Funny game!congrats for complete it!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:55pm

I love these kind of games, yours is very well done, had lots of fun playing it !

S0rax says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:01pm

It's a funny game, I love game like "Paf le chien" (I don't know if a english version of this game exists ^^)

janiq says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Nice and crazy game. I don't think I can come up with something I didn't like about it :-)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:14am

I got a lot of re-play value out of this. Was good fun!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:03am

Solid entry! It took me a bit to start to get the hang of all the different forms and remember what they did, but once I did, I had a few pretty good runs. Graphics have a fun feel, though the parallax was a little off. Nice work!

neondx says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:11pm

ultra ugly, UI is not good, BUT DAMN THIS GAME IS FUN

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:49pm

A cute take on the fly as far as you can genre.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:16pm

A little bit confusing at start but when i understand, it was funny :)

AnaGF says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:09am

Nice game, cool theme. Looks like you put a lot of work on it!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:09am

Fun stuff! A really nice, silly take on the theme.

Anyway, certain forms felt kinda useless or counter-productive compared to others, but maybe I just didn't figure out how to use them well. The controls also felt kinda clunky and weird... Combine those problems and it looks like the game would've benefited from *fewer* forms, doesn't it?

For an example, I didn't really get what the Kalki form is supposed to do; I think there's a bug with it where it's not affected by flowers? Or maybe that's intentional.

But seriously: this would've been better with LESS content! Not often you hear that in a Ludum Dare, is it?

I might've been able to make it past the weird controls if the game didn't go so fast at top speeds. Also, there's a contradictory problem: when you're down to almost-nothing for speed, it takes too long for the game to decide you're done. But I guess I'm okay with that, 'cause it led to an awesome run or two where things just kept going and my statue form got more rupees.

Overall, I think the times when you're stuck with low speeds would've been better if you didn't lose any momentum on the ground except as the statue, which would cause you to lose ALL your momentum when you hit the ground. You could sprinkle the ground with lots of low-power flowers and some high-power ones. You could set the whole thing up so you only lose all your speed from rocks, birds, balloons, or hitting the ground as a statue. Seems like a more fun way to go out.

Anyway, like I said: unique, fun, and funny! What I liked about it made me love it so much that all I really want now is for you to hammer some of the flaws out so I can love it even more. Great work.

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:04am

Neat concept. Are these abilities based on the mythology of all of the characters? Neat idea, and tons of content for a jam game!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Yea, we tried to squeeze in gameplay that matched the lore the best we could. We learned a lot just doing that part haha

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:09am

it s good to see this character in a nice pixel style

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]