Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sparrow & Flitt

by Skruffye - Jam Entry

The first chapter of a story about a boy and his bird.
Together with his lifelong companion, a shapeshifting bird called Flitt, a young boy named Sparrow braves the dangers of the dark forest near his village in his quest to prove himself a man.

Communicate with Flitt through a series of whistles and use his small size and shapeshifting abilities to make your way through the forest.

---

Additional information and a list of controls are on the itch.io page.
Hope you guys enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#208Innovation(Jam)3.55
#258Mood(Jam)3.49
#298Graphics(Jam)3.77
#392Audio(Jam)3.16
#460Overall(Jam)3.32
#626Fun(Jam)3.02
#703Theme(Jam)3.12

Comments

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:52am

Great Job on graphics

Aaranos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59am

I made it to the bird, but I didn't quite have the notes memorized. I think it needs a bit of a build up to an 8+ note sequence.

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:05am

You only need to whistle the bird's song once, then you unlock the new shape for Flitt (shows up beneath the bird once you whistle its song). :)

FBJazz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06am

Beautiful game with a really innovative song/whistling transformation mechanic. I really wish it'd been longer. Also, a health bar or something would have been nice. Overall a very good game; could be a full-fledged title, with some more length.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:26am

Didn't expect the whistling mechanic, very creative.

sharrackor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:49am

An interesting platformer with a unique mechanic. I really liked the tranquil atmosphere from the art and sound as well; I'd love to see more levels for this! (I can smell the Rayman in here somewhere ;) )

SnedHlepPls says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:00am

This is a beautiful game, shame it's short. The art style fits really well, and the bird changing forms through whistling is an interesting concept. I found it easy to remember the note combinations. If this was made into a full length game, I'd play it! I would say that a health system might be a good idea to put in though.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Soothing :D

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Warning to everyone:Have a notepad handy! :)

bigbuggames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:03pm

Nice whistle sounds!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:21pm

pretty cool platformer!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Really interesting concept right here! Despite the level designing (not very inspired in my opinion), I really liked how the overall game felt. I believe it has potential. Good job!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:25pm

novel whistling idea, I really liked that aspect. I hope in post-compo it's developed more as I'd love to come back and play it! maybe a chart for the notes that you can pull up in-game. and checkpoints as I died a LOT. :) Great atmosphere too!

KappaIX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:28pm

Really like the cohesiveness of the graphics, sound and gameplay, they all work well together.

Well done!

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Great job on this! It plays really nicely, the graphics and woodland sound are beautiful and that whistling mechanic is incredibly cool!

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Nice use of whistling to communicate with sidekick, made me think of Link's ocarina! Liked the mood, interesting gameplay.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Really interesting core mechanic. Definitely needs checkpoints and more levels.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:28am

Mechanics interestingly innovative. The whistle abilite remember me the ocarina of link, in The legend of Zelda, but in this case affecting a partiner

Great graphics, great gameplay (Difficult to remember the sequences sometimes hehe), nice sound, well, great game!

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:46am

Excellent graphics and the whistling mechanic is very cool. I only wish there was a death animation or something, instead of just instantly going back to the menu (also at one point I hit a bug where there was like an invisible ceiling above me when I jumped). Overall excellent game.

image/31 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:03am

Very atmospheric. I liked, want more.

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Had a lot of fun, really enjoyed the whistling mechanic, it was also executed well (had a lot of fun just playing tunes with the whisteling xD) It was a bit annoying getting sent back to the start of the level every time I was killed.

Roland M says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Good graphics. =]

Gametery says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:01pm

I really loved the whistle mechanic, art and audio together created an awesome atmosphere. Sparrow got stuck a few times, but beside that really nicely done!

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:04pm

Very peaceful and relaxing game. Love the graphics and the atmosphere. The level design was really good but I got stuck after learning Pheonix and needing to activate a mushroom, I didn't know how to turn the bird back to the gray version. I would have tried again a few times but starting from the beginning again every time was too much frustration for me. I do have a shot attention span though! Took me away to another place for a bit.

Squid says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:48am

Very cool mechanic! Looks very nice also!

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:39am

Tried it in Linux with wine. The game runs fine, but whistling the song has no effect sadly. I have to say, beautiful graphics and sounds, though.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:10am

I really liked the graphics and how smooth it was running. Great entry!

knason says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:44am

I really loved the graphics, much to keep in your head but overall great job!

Chikoness says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:34pm

Can't transform into the phoenix for some reason ^^; but very cool concept, good job!

Skruffye says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:26pm

@chriis88 @Chikoness
Hey guys, thanks for playing! I don't know of any bugs with the phoenix song and I just checked again to make sure that it works. Did you remember to press <Space>, sing -only- the phoenix song and then release <Space>? If you get it right, the phoenix should do a small animation and a new (short) song should appear.
Not sure what else to suggest, but please take another shot at it if you find yourselves with some free time!

-Skruffye

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:53pm

I tried it again in wine on a different machine, same outcome. It doesn't matter how fast or slow I play the notes/hit the keys nothing happens after releasing space :/

Skruffye says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:56pm

@chriiis88
Really sorry to hear that. >< Must be something to do with WINE, and I can't really do bug fixes for a platform I have no access to!
I hope you enjoyed what little you got to play, and thanks a lot for persevering, even though it ended up not working!

-Skruffye

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:48pm

I even tried it in a Windows-Virtualbox and it didn't work. I'm starting to think it's not me but the game... If you ever upload another version hit me up on twitter (same username) and I'll be glad to test it again! Twitter, because the LD site doesn't really tell you if you get a message.

Vantaug says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:09pm

So like... I spent some 10 minutes just whistling before I went on to try and beat the game. It was fun. I like the whistling.
Sometimes I would get stuck in the platforms, but I could jump my way out. It was kinda frustrating to have to start all over whenever I died, I would have liked some kind of health system.
The game looks nice, the art style is nice cohesive. Aside from the little bug, the platforming was good.
Would whistle again.

Vantaug says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:11pm

So like... I spent some 10 minutes just whistling before I went on to try and beat the game. It was fun. I like the whistling.
Sometimes I would get stuck in the platforms, but I could jump my way out. It was kinda frustrating to have to start all over whenever I died, I would have liked some kind of health system.
The game looks nice, the art style is nice cohesive. Aside from the little bug, the platforming was good.
The whistling gets 5/5, would whistle again.

curtamyth says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:20am

The whistle mechanic was great and I really like the idea behind this game. The graphics were excellent and the audio perfected the mood. The only problem is that it was very frustrating to go back to the beginning of the level with every mistake. Otherwise great entry!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Really really good work, you're definitely on the top of my pops!
The whistle mechanic is so creative that made it to a next level! I even got to play Star Wars for my bird! I wish he could've become a TIE fighter haha!
The artwork and animations are also very cool!
Congratulations a LOT!

Alphish says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:19pm

Took me a while to realise how to perform the commands (maybe there should be more detailed information that you need to start holding Space, play the song, and stop holding or something? Or maybe it's just me being dumb...?). But at least I got to play Undertale main theme in the meantime (1541334 etc.).

Completed the whole thing. I usually don't consider platformers to be particularly creative, but this one seemed to have somewhat fun mechanics. The movement mechanics were acting kinda sloppy, though; I seemed to get a little stuck sometimes, and the platforming generally didn't feel particularly smooth. The audiovisuals were quite fancy.

You seem to be planning to make more of that. I wonder what else you have in mind, because so far it wasn't really varied (just the base form and the phoenix so far)...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]