Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

We Don't Know How to Approach You

by Drusilla - Compo Entry

Hey. I'm pretty new to programming, starting with Lua two or three weeks ago. So, this is mostly a learning thing for me.

You are an alien visiting earth. You have to choose the right form and opening line to get the locals to accept you and offer you fruit.

Most likely they will sends waves of bleu cheese and dates at you.

Select form/words with the mouse.

Use WASD/Arrow keys to move, z/space to 'shoot'.

R to return to the dubiously titled character select thing, ESC to exit.

Soon I'll figure out how to pause the 'music'.

Made with Love2D v. 0.10.1, Famitracker for the noises, and GIMP. Source in the .love.

UPDATE: I fixed the Win 32, otherwise you can get Löve here: https://love2d.org/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#70Humor3.55
#392Mood3.03
#460Audio2.72
#566Innovation2.94
#609Graphics2.74
#655Fun2.85
#777Theme2.81
#793Overall2.79

Comments

fizzhog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Can't run it. Win32. Missing love.dll. Need to include it with your game or at least tell people where to find it. Like the images :)

Drusilla says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Thanks for letting me know!

Ovidios says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:42pm

A very surreal experience... Thus judging art and music's kinda hard. One thing though, you forgot to disable the console! ^^

kivlor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:10pm

wasn't able to run the os x version :(

Kazetsukai says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Funny idea. Liked it.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:39pm

The x64 version didn't seem to work at all (it just said "No Game") until I also downloaded the .love file and put it in the same directory.

The "locals" seem to just spew an endless spray of bullets that eventually are undodgable. I did a Cow+moo and "beat" the game I guess, but there wasn't really anything that really made sense to me?

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:12pm

weird but funny

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:34pm

The locals seem to be amazed at the flying cow.

Baknik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:13am

I'm not sure how to play. I selected my character and word, but died instantly every time. Am I doing something wrong?

rantt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:27am

Different, but I liked it. Nicely done

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:42am

That was strangely funny.... kkk I would like to point out only that the graphics are a bit inconsistent, the locals are waay too pixalated compared to other assets.

Great entry!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Hahaha, wow! This game is great :D The graphics are simple but very coherent and you immediately understand what they mean and what the implications are. The controls are simple but effective, and you surely have a nice sense of humour. Keep it up and make an even better game next time! :D Be sure to include a "pause music" button though :)

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:44pm

Certainly unique! I had fun with it, even if it took a couple restarts to understand what my character and 'word' was affecting. Fun concept that would be cool to expand on!

glitchu says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:05am

What an interesting take on an interesting question. I enjoyed the outcome and the different possibilities

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:33am

I love everything about this one. The music, the characters, the outcomes, the jackfruit. So good!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:53am

odd game but still nice!

play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Drusilla says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:07am

Thank you all for the advice and wonderful compliments! This has been a great experience for me.

Ampera says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:11am

Neat.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:50am

Yaaay! I did it! The fruit is life. Life is fruit. Moo, pew pew, obey.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Moo!

I wanted to be a harmonious snail alien but Earth just wouldn't have me :(

Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:35am

[offtopic] Such unreadable color scheme on downloads page [/offtopic]
Linux version seems not to work, may be because of lack of resources. But windows one works fine. I like the mechanics of choosing different forms and words before reveal yourself to people and see their reaction. Nice and simple idea, perfectly fits for theme.

notime4games says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Well, that was different! :)
Managed to both win and to kill everybody, which gave me the curse of being followed by deadly flying potatoes for the rest of my days apparantly! Fun fact: Had 0.5 hp left

danielilett says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:03pm

What did I just play :p
I liked the idea - it's certainly different! I seemed to just get eradicated with a hailstorm of cheese with most combinations. Maybe one day I will find love.

Also, as someone else has said, the downloads page could do with a different colour scheme, but that's not part of the game so it's fine. I'd like to see how you could expand on this. Good job, especially if you haven't been programming for long!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]