Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SEMILUCID

by curtamyth - Jam Entry

In SEMILUCID your goal is to remain asleep while being tormented by nightmares in a procedurally generated dream world. To do this you must collect items within the dream which will eventually allow you to become lucid and consume the nightmares. Check the readme for more details!

Controls:
Enter to start game.
Arrow Keys to move.
S to toggle sound.
Double ESC to quit.

Please play with caution if you are photosensitive.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#140Mood(Jam)3.72
#151Audio(Jam)3.67
#415Overall(Jam)3.37
#438Fun(Jam)3.26
#476Graphics(Jam)3.44
#683Innovation(Jam)2.89
#759Theme(Jam)3.04

Comments

Ryan Kline says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:09am

I loved this game! I loved the backgrounds and the gameplay was very solid. It had a really defined mood and I liked that. Good enemy design with the different types of enemies. Great job!

Geti says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:13am

Interesting enough, but not something i was compelled to play a lot of. I enjoyed going around and "cleaning up" the maze after collecting the trinkets.

Probably no fun for anyone with epilepsy or similar.

02fc.exe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:48am

Holy shit, I love this game! Really like dope graphics and audio :3

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Cool pacman game with different types of ennemies and some exploration. Nice background visuals and audio.

Jimbly says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:17pm

On my second try I got through a couple dreams, once I realized which weird symbols I should be walking over and which I should not =). Most enjoyable part was the clean-up at the end. Rather trippy background graphics!

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Wow this was trippy! It was quite an interesting game.

Drusilla says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:41pm

Wow, this is gorgeous!

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:37am

Solid entry! I played 3 levels or so. It's hard, but I really like the visuals and the psychadelic-yet-eerie feel you've got going on. 5/5

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:43am

Nice game. Oddly reminiscent of Pacman insomuch that you spend half the game avoiding enemies before getting your sweet revenge later on.
Colours were a bit of a headache, but overall, I quite liked it. :)

nk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:36pm

That was cool and now I feel weird.

Love the music especially!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:55am

Interesting take on the pac-man thing. I like the look

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:19am

Wow, this was really cool. The music was fantastic, and the background was just trippy enough to add to the feel without overdoing it. When I turned into that crazy shadow eyeball monster with teeth I went on a bit of a power trip and realized this game is awesome.

Very cool submission, thanks for sharing!

Wan says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:37am

Nice job, the game works fine, I reached level 4 without issues. Turning into a monster and kicking butt to all these things I was evading is pretty satisfying :) On the other hand I found the collecting of trinkets a bit repetitive and almost annoying since the levels are quite large and trinkets are often spawned all around the same spot. Also I didn't care that much about the different types of enemies since all I did was run around and evade everything without thinking. Maybe some balancing could help make enemies more interesting?

Now the visuals are pretty fun & original, and the audio helps setting the mood quite well. The shapeshifting animation is cool to watch too, plus the level generation worked quite well for me. Congrats!

dalbinblue says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:57am

That was extremely trippy. I got through to the fifth dream.

There were two areas I think could improve the game. First there were a lot of narrow passages or places where only one path was available that caused a guaranteed hit from an enemy.

Second after gathering all the trickets the game was just a matter of finding all the enemies; there was no longer any risk left in the level. It might make sense to make that phase timed, and it failed, switch back to a trinket phase.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Wow, I love how the music changes when you upgrade your character. the background graphics ROCKED!!! Excellent job on this one!!!

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:41am

Cool graphics, neat game play, and the music is awesome. It's like Pacman having a drug induced fever dream.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:22am

Probably the most unique looking game I've played this jam. Definitely interested in the clean-up, nightmare portion of the game since it felt like comeuppance in the best way.

yokcos700 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:12am

Thematically, this is pretty cool. Instead of HP you have some abstract notion of how asleep you are. The whole 'go kill all the enemies' phase is pretty cool... for a while. Gets boring once you're hunting around a reasonably large level for one last monster. The levels, by the way, kind of lack distinguishing features. You could have done something as simple as having different areas of the level be different colours to achieve this. (Speaking of level design, I often found myself in situations where I had to take damage) In general, I don't think this game benefits from being procedurally generated. You could have made a better game if it were simply set in a large rectangle or a more complex hand-made shape.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:14pm

REMINDS OF THE FIRST TIME I DROPPED LSD. MOOD 11/10

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:25pm

WOW!! It is like eat some drugs!! xD Original idea but the game sometimes is confused. Anyway good work.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:21am

"Watch out, nightmares of my past, for soon I will become a beautiful butterfly of DEATH!" Now that is a high concept I can get behind. Unfortunately the outcome is a bit hit and miss every step of the way.

The effects are fittingly rather trippy, but the overall quality of the pixel work is sloppy. The nightmare eater sprite is an exception, a really well drawn and designed piece of pixel art that.

The audio is nice, apart from the transformation music (hunting down nightmares). That didn't click with me for some reason.

To gameplay then. It holds up for the first few levels, but after that the cathartic power trip becomes more of a chore (bigger levels multiply the issue). You could mend this by making the second form vulnerable to some of the harder enemies (who shoot projectiles), meaning you would still have to think a bit.

Procedural generation is an effective idea, but, as many have already pointed out, the algorithm does like producing very tight corridors all around the place. Those features don't really support the enemy dodging mechanic. The trinket placement is also very random, sometimes they are right next to each other.

Overall a great job with some small issues.

radmars says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:11am

Nice! I like the weird, bizarre style. Probably could use to have shorter levels & some way to locate remaining pickups, feels a little bit tedious & random as is. Still pretty engaging. Nice work!

jofra says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:36pm

What a crazy entry, feels like pacman on lsd X)
gj !

luvShape says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:21pm

It's cool to see that we weren't the only ones going with trippy visuals! :)

OnlySlightly says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:10am

Loved the music when you are devouring the nightmares. I really liked how creepy it all was. It felt more like I was the nightmare. I liked the neat details such as the 'z's for the life bar, and the breathing after each level. Cool aesthetic. Great job!

Yumeito says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:35am

This Game is soooo cool. The graphics, audio and gameplay is epic.

May 5, 2016 @ 1:02pm

One of the more original visuals I have seen for this theme. I dig it, man :)

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Love the Wario Ware feeling :D Great job!

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Oh sorry wrong comment xD (I'm playing too much games)
So here the corrent review ;)

Very strange submission, in a good way. The background is heavy ^^ I have no motion sickness, but you got me somehow dizzy by the speed xD

Graphics are nice and the theme is clear. Good job ^^

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 3:04am

I liked it. Very good looking, but all the levels were pretty same-ey.

May 6, 2016 @ 6:50am

I like this game a lot, interesting to play. The best part was the audio, it suited the theme.

rjhelms says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Very cool visual style, and a nice take on the theme, but after a few levels things wore a bit thin - each level didn't really introduce anything new.

csanyk says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:05am

Very trippy! I enjoyed playing this one. While simple to play, the graphics, sound, and overall mood made it good to play.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:45am

some kind of interesting pacman-like. Psychedelic environement is pretty cool, and the transparent wall is a good idea too. The character when you shapeshift is really great, but tue one before transformation....is not good. Its fun game to play :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]