Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Son of God: The First Transmorpher

by Gyfis - Jam Entry

Son of God: The First Transmorpher is a 2D runner game, where you take the form of the Son of God, and you need to navigate the Earth by changing your shape into corresponding forms. But not all shapes are equal, and you may find some easier or harder to control.

---

As a part of the game and because we thought some players might find it too hard, we created a self-explanatory tutorial which teaches you everything you need to know about controlling the game.

Controls:
- Different arrow sequences for moving
- 1,2,3,4 or F,G,H,J for shape shifting
- P for Pause

Authors:
- Petr Bělohlávek (dev)
- Tomáš Hromada (dev)
- Štěpán Procházka (dev)
- Martin Tesař (dev + graphics)

Note:
Different builds (32bit, 64bit) are available from
https://github.com/randomgamers/SonofGodTheFirstTransmorpher/releases/tag/v1.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#34Theme(Jam)4.23
#283Mood(Jam)3.44
#304Graphics(Jam)3.76
#307Innovation(Jam)3.33
#460Overall(Jam)3.32
#575Fun(Jam)3.08
#686Humor(Jam)2.13

Comments

monaarc says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Nice game, the controls are quite hard to handle but it's still very fun to play !
The animations are very smoooooooooth :D

Quique says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:05pm

It's a good idea. Great work!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:48pm

Nice idea, controls are a bit difficult to manage.

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:29am

Transmorphing! I was doing well until I got stuck under a cloud and a tree! Is this randomly generating?

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31am

Really cool. A bit hard to control, but each character felt really good, the animations were all spot on. I liked the procedural layout of each level, and the overall art style was pretty awesome. Great work!

Id love your thoughts on my entry 'Titos Revenge'-
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?

Mieeh says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:45am

Cool game. Might just be me but it felt a little "slow". Almost a little laggy. The graphics i really enjoyed! All the different sprites matched together good! Great job!

simon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:50am

nice but hard to control

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:33am

Nice work ! Very cool idea. I'm not a QTE fan so I'm not on the public target but nice job!

BoltKey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46am

Nice idea. I like how you had to control every character differently. The graphics and music are very atmospheric.

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Great job with the theme and some creative game mechanics. I like the visual style too. Nice!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:53pm

A really atmospheric game, I enjoyed it. The controls could use some refining, but overall a really polished game.

LeftRight92 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56pm

A good looking game but the controls were annoying and the transitions from land to water weren't as good as they could be.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Really nice game, but the controls need tweaking. Great work anyways! :)

randomhuman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:35pm

Great looking game, and fun. Definitely seems innovative compared to most runner games.

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:31pm

It is a little difficult, maybe the controls need an extra work, but i like that every character has its own way to control it. Nice atmosphere too

jdselsor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34pm

I like it the controls for the snake are hard but it is manageable.

cudabear says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:43pm

A really good entry! At first I didn't like the button mashing, but as more forms became introduced I really liked the precision in controlling each form differently. Graphics look quite scary but suit the game, music fits it very well as well. Encountered a couple bugs (when panicing) that can force forms to behave like other forms. Well done!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Nice idea, controls are a little bit difficult to manage. The animations are great and smooth. Good aesthetic. Well done ++

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53pm

I liked it, I thought the tutorial was pretty good. My one suggestion would be show what each number button does in one of the corners.

phoenix1987 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01pm

I enjoyed the game, graphics and feel of the game were great. Good Job

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:16am

Haha, how to break the keyboard in one game! Well done!

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:02am

Very nice. Animations were great and the graphics very stylish. I liked the music too. Controls a little bit hard to master, but still a fun game, and a good take on the theme.

ryjcio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Oh man, this game is hard.

Very nice art! I like the idea that controls are different for every form. It affects a gameplay and its not just simple tap runner.

Sometimes when I shift a shape I have a bug and controls not changing.

bellum128 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:14am

Very nice take on the theme, the parallax and art looked great.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:05am

Nice slighlty creepy atmosphere, the the transformations are really cool. I have to admit that I'm not a big fan of "track&field-esque" button mashing games, but this is well done. A good entry!

MayMakeGame says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Lovely game! I had to get my mum to play it because she's always into platformers. I love the footstep sound effects, And it was pretty fun!

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:15am

good ideas, nice graphsim, enjoying it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]