Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mirror's Polygon

by batmanasb - Compo Entry

Scale obstacles as a shapeshifting polygon!

Guide and hints are on the Itch.io page

There is an Easter Egg on the last level (the winning level) if you manage to ghost out of the bottom right corner! And keep going straight down again and again!



Known bugs:
1. the previous level key ("," or "<") doesn't work on windows or when running the windows version in WINE, not sure why...
2. the circle objects in the level don't collide well with the character
3. the Mac version wasn't tested and apparently doesn't work for everyone



Change log (also found in git):

v1.1: added a kill zone around the second last level

v1.2: multiplied movement by delta time (this is why the game felt slow and hard on 60hz monitors!)



Direct your hatemail @batmanasb

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#173Innovation3.63
#191Theme3.78
#352Overall3.34
#354Audio2.94
#423Humor2.31
#504Mood2.88
#537Fun3.00
#725Graphics2.53

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:19am

This is a pretty interesting game, what the tutorial doesnt tell you is that you should try to bounce with the left and right keys when your the arrow, after that the rest is pretty fun and obvious.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:57am

A neat and challenging romp! I was bad at it, but enjoyed it none the less!

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:03am

This was a fun/hard one! GG

makiki99 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:09am

Interesting, but frustrating game. I like it.

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:59am

You should stop making games

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:14am

I found this too difficult to enjoy... But I think that has more to do with me than with the game. Good job!

qfeys says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:36am

I was really bad at this, so I couldn't progress really far.

Red15 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Thanks earlier for the words of encouragement!

Difficult game, didn't seem to be able to switch back to the jumper sometimes.

batmanasb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:58pm

@Red15, your welcome :) oh and that's because you are touching the ground. Gotta be in the air to shift into a larger shape.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Very tough! It took some time to figure out the controls and even then I had a hard time getting to where I wanted, but once I got a bit more used to them it was fun to do some crazy jumps! I'd love to see this worked on a bit more. :)

huminaboz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:08am

Really big learning curve, but once the flowstate kicks in, it's a lot of fun. With a little elbow grease, this prototype could be turned into a really interesting game.

kwmx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:57am

Loved it. Keep up the great work and good luck on your next project.

mikeware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:07am

Lot of potential here, really would like to see this polished a bit more. I think it's really just the arrow controls which are the hardest to get through. The other shapes controlled well, but since you start as the arrow each time, it was a hard barrier to entry.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:57am

I like how this one plays! Graphically it's not impressive but controlling the shapes, especially the climber, is fun once you get the hang of it! Nice work!

luquio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:44pm

I real y think you made an excellent work, I've tested on Mac and worked perfect! It's also suuuper great that u made it on Godot engine, I would like to learn cuz has a lot of potential and was made by people I know from my country (Argentina). Sorry for misunderstand . And cheers!

batmanasb says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:12pm

@luquio I'm glad we overcame the language barrier. Thanks and good luck to you as well. Godot Engine has been my favorite engine by far! And I've tried using Unity and Unreal Engine 4 in the past. Oh and if you want to see more Godot game entries, we have a small list of them on the reddit page, Reddit.com/r/Godot

El Cabaro says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Surprisingly cool game that has gameplay mechanics that work together in surprisingly neat ways- I always enjoy games that put stuff together that seem nonsensical but end up being a chesslike emergent type of game. Cool stuff.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:17am

Hard but still fun in it's own way

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:30am

Neat game! I like the tutorial level - it clearly explains what you're doing and sets you on your way. Great job!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:59am

Interesting gameplay and quite deep too, it was maybe a bit too slow in my personal opinion, but that's fine. Well done.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:42am

The ghosting and climber shapes were actually really cool, and open up a lot of opportunity for new level designs. That said, the shapes in my opinion do not move or fall fast enough. There was a lot of moments where the game tested my patience due to slow movement. Additionally, I feel the climber's bouncing behavior was rather unpredictable, and perhaps a different shape, such as a triangle or star, would have provided a more predictable outcome.

Lots of speed running potentials!

Steven Miller says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:38am

This is an amazing game. The platforming feels perfect, and the art is simply gorgeous (especially those trees). The bird transformation was a clever take on the theme, and the combat felt very smooth. The difficulty was a bit high, but I felt that made the gameplay more rewarding. The random level generation was also a nice addition that made the game feel fresh, even after multiple plays.
I would ask you to play my game, but I made it in GameMaker just to spite you.

Wefiends says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:52pm

I was surprised how well this worked despite how incredibly slowly it moved. In fact I don't think it would've worked if it went any faster. Sometimes the jump felt a little unresponsive, and some of the subtler rules went right over my head (like the way ghosting uses your momentum, or the fact you can't use it while touching a wall.) but overall a good entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]