Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Soup

by jeroenwimmers - Compo Entry

-Use mouse
-Touch identical shapes
-SHAPESHIFT
-Progress
-Win

...secret ending?

(think backward)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Theme4.38
#16Overall4.11
#24Innovation4.19
#36Mood3.93
#43Audio3.87
#54Fun3.90
#116Graphics3.88
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

SkullPixel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:29am

This is cool. Very innovative. It's games like these that reassure me about the value of this theme. :D

amras0000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:30am

Wow...this is...really fun and compelling. Great work.
Minor gripe: at some points near the end of the game it seemed physically impossible for me to reach the target shapes without bumping into others. But that resolved itself with time and I was able to finish without an issue.

Przekop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:33am

Most aesthetically pleasing game ive seen here so far. Just great.

pjimmy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:53am

This was nice. Very abstract looking and smooth gameplay.

Inateno says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54am

OMG this is so wtf I love this, the game concept is completely awesome

guckstift says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56am

Very nice innovative idea. So simple and yet so much fun to play. Maybe you could extend it further!
Keep it up!

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:59am

Awesome! Really cool! The end is quite challenging and the general design is something.

rubna says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:03pm

uuu-nicu GAME DESKAAADOOOOO!!

Takadimi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Really fun and stylish!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:03pm

nicu gamu jeroenuuuuuuu~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sanguine says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:04pm

very clean aesthetic! i liked the g u i t a r sound

sez says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Turned out great! I like the ending :)
Well done!

TijmenTio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:06pm

Sumimasen! Anta no game wa suparu naisu~

Soron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Did you almost make a game with hyperbolic geometry? I think you almost did. Cool!

Insality says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Cool entry! The style and feels is nice!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Best game I've played so far. So simple and fun!

ALobker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Awesome game. It is a bit frustrating when you try to correct your mistake by getting the correct shape anyway and you make it worse for yourself.

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Thanks all!

@Soron akmost hyperbolic geometry ftw;)

@ALobker You're right! I tried to fix it a bit with the world slowing down, but I just realised I should have also applied it to the controls. Thanks for the feedback!

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:01pm

Outstanding entry. Almost nothing to argue about. I really love the presentation. Maybe a second difficulty without pulsating shapes? It's a tad too easy as it is.

I think you could extend this a bit and sell it on a mobile store. Great job!

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48pm

The concept is really innovative, I like it! Good job :)

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:50pm

I like it

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Wow! This is a small game but it does what it does perfectly.

I loved the abstract graphics and their animation, the soundscape, everything. Played through it 3 times to appreciate all the little details.

I assume all the sounds were made with the same instrument?

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Very good indeed.

Larzan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Wow, this was amazing, very inovative, beautifully made (gfx+sound).
Well done!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06pm

@Wan Thanks a lot! And yes, it's all sounds from the same guitar.

I wish I had more time to create like 20 samples going up in pitch when you progress, but this also works. I'm glad you like it:)

Chikoness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:11pm

Amazing! Simple yet fun, I love it!

BrianSChung says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:19pm

very cool!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:34pm

great graphics, great sounds; i think i won it (everything stoped and turned into circles?)
the idea reminds certain eye-hand coordination test (you know, light pen, conduct dot trough a maze or sth). very well done!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37pm

Innovative! Impressive graphics, concept and audio

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:43pm

@theOnlyGoodDrcz Yup, you won! Your eye-hand coordination is on point

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:45pm

Loved it. I won it in the first try and wanted to play again and again. But there was no way for me to try again unless refreshing the site. Great game though with awesome graphics. Good job!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:03pm

@ragnarolis Thanks! I just added a restart after you complete the game. Much better

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Very nice looking and fun to play!

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Damn. I can play this all day.

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39pm

The music is very calming.

Knowledge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Impressive game but nothing special.

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Cool game! The gameplay is creative and the aesthetic is very good too! Really liked playing it

nickavv says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:08am

This is really cool, kind of zen to play

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:26pm

nice simple timewaster

RoboNebula says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:11pm

really original concept and also very well executed!

markusfisch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Love this one! The concept, the sound, the graphics, it fits all so well, it's really kind of hypnotic :) Played it several times and just love to watch it. More levels would be cool!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:12am

@markusfisch Hey thanks!
Play some more, maybe you'll find more levels;)

matt beckett says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:36am

Amazing - well done!

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:41am

This was clever, simple, and I liked it a lot. The puzzle was unique and interesting.

Divitos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:06am

I wasn't sure that anything unique was going to come from this theme, and so far I haven't really found much, but this is amazing and truly innovative.

avinashd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:10am

This game has a lot of polish for a ludum dare game :)

Husky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:23am

I like the idea to use the chord of guitar as the main successful sound effect, it's very comfortable.

jacklehamster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:28am

Very nice feeling.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:41am

Short and sweet.

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:33am

very good simple entry, wish our game was that simple

paquinn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:04am

Had a really nice minimalist style and is super fun to play, can get very out of hand if too many notes are missed. Reminds a lot of rhythm games while still being very distinctive.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:30am

Amazing game. Nice job.

Steven Pinto says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:45am

Great game here :) Loved the concept and Awesome work! All the best :)

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Really innovative! I loved the use of music, definitely made the game feel more pleasant and encouraged progression.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Nice minimalistic game.. almost zen like.. :)

Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:07am

Wow! I started without reading the instructions, but figured it out after some failures. Nice looking and sounding.

Difficulty ramped up almost perfectly. I do wish that failure had a bit more consequence over time, though.

Gyfis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:08am

Oh I enjoyed this very much! Great work, thanks a lot for this contribution!

blinry says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Niiice audio! I really enjoyed the game, thanks for making it! The delayed control is a little hard to grasp.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:57am

Really awesome game. Simple, yet fun and those guitar sounds are perfect for the changes. Really love it, good work! :)

tanjent says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Simple and fits the theme. Really good.

dvdagames says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:24pm

It was a nice, simple game, but the interaction was smooth. The placement of the shapes and the change in rotation when you hit the wrong shape actually made it pretty challenging as the board starts to fill up.

I almost wished that I could have combo'd multiple shapes of the same type if they were close enough and I was fast enough to help keep the board slightly more clear at the beginning, or that I could shrink and grow the size of the shape at will to maneuver through small gaps and then match the size of my target shape.

The aesthetic was nice and clean as was the very simple sound design.

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:06am

Controls were very smooth, concept was simple but solid. Background colors were not too overpowering. Good job.

torcado says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:36pm

wow this looks really nice! loove the visual design, and interesting gameplay too! nice job

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:35pm

The guitar samples fit so perfectly to the game! It's a calm experience even though it becomes relaticely hectic.

I also played on a trackpad, I think that counts as hard mode :D

Very good entry!

Didn't find the secret ending though. It felt like I was playing the same game over and over again, not sure how I could have changed something to find the ending :-/

jeroenwimmers says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Thanks and props for playing on the trackpad! Definitely hardcore mode:p

and I guess the secret ending is a bit too counter-intuitive to get to. But hey, maybe that gives you a hint;)

DevelopTech says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Simple but effective gameplay

TheCain says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:38am

Is this the secret "ending"?
http://i.imgur.com/c4tEqP5.png

QuexD says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:51am

Very calming.

jeroenwimmers says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:00am

@TheCain Wow! Yes... I guess? I've seen that happen a few times, but never that bad. Crazy!

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:09pm

Well, that was fun to play around for a bit. The soup getting more and more variety was really cool. Also, I've somehow managed some sort of colourful disco mode or something, dunno if it's the secret ending or not...?

Overall, nice little game.

May 4, 2016 @ 3:56am

wow. so cool!:D after i was done my screen started spinning and then i started spinning. So spinning!

managore says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:54pm

I really like the style and the "level" transitions which the style makes possible. I tried to work out how to get the secret ending but I have no idea!

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:23pm

This is really excellent! Very elegant game design, surprisingly fun, I'm curious to know how the size mechanic impacts gameplay (aside from maybe just obscuring the play field?).

Awesome work!

jeroenwimmers says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:15pm

@managore Hey thanks! I think I can spoil it by now, since some people already found it and I'm probably gonna introduce it as a 2nd difficulty for the next version.

So what you want to do is try to clear the board. once you do that, a new mode will start. it's a bit harder, so good luck with that one;)

@01010111 Thanks! Each shape actually has the same radius hitbox. but it is scaled depending on how far the shape is from the center.
I didn't really have time to set appropriate hitboxes, but I don't think it matters that much, it would probably get frustrating with bigger ones.

One interesting dynamic I found is that it's useful to spawn shapes/hitboxes in the center, since then you can't just sit there and observe the shapes. Makes it much more exciting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]