Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShapeShifter

by Tackwin - Compo Entry

Hi, it's my second participation to ludum dare, I came up with this idea halfway throught, so it's not the most complete game feature-wise, but I hope you'll enjoyed it !


it was made with cocos2dx in c++, I used visual studio 2015 and paint.net.

Twitter: https://twitter.com/_Tackwin
first game : http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=63725

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#189Audio3.32
#394Theme3.47
#417Fun3.21
#499Mood2.89
#563Overall3.10
#767Innovation2.59
#777Graphics2.41

Comments

knason says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:58pm

I like this, the concept is great! The game is far to hard though, I think it could be one of those really addictive game if you just slow it down a little bit and then increase the difficulty level :-) Its good that you indicate which key number belongs to which geometrical form. Good job!

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:42pm

cool idea! We had a similar focus of shapeshift too!
Good job!

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Very very hard, but good job!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Overall well made! I like the graphics, and seeing what key one said shape is is really useful.

Drusilla says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Yay, I got 379! It'd be cool to move forwards and backwards. I can see it being addictive.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Very tough but very enjoyable as well. I like that the number that I need to press is written on the shapes!

GoudaGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:05pm

Great game! I definitely don't think it was too hard, perfect level of difficulty ;)

SetArray says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:29pm

It was difficult at first but the more I played the better I got. I like the concept, it reminds me of Guitar Hero.

adam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Exhausting but pretty fun! I think the difficulty is about right but it would be nice to ease the player in slightly. The pulsing screen when you hit a shape made the game feel a lot more satisfying. Definitely needed the numbers on the shapes. I scored 493 (eventually!).

Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:38pm

Good concept, Think you could slow it down slightly as it took me a while to get into it, but it was fun once I did. Nice and simple and definitely fun to play.

omidprosper says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:57pm

public void myComment()
{
good idea;
very hard;
like Sound Effects;
overall Well made;
}

Jimbly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Great fun! Barely broke 100 my first two tries then realized the shapes also said the key to press and got to 1117 on my third try. Controls feel pretty tight, I like that as long as I pressed the key in time it counted even if the animation was still shifting shape.

hildegarbage says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Solid, but hard! Would have prefered slower progression and the lanes running vertical instead, with those controls.

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Quite hard game and another rhythm game I've found, just like I did :D The gameplay is very nice, requiring a few trial and error to memorize the shapes and numbers (even though it appears on the side of the incoming shape, it happens too fast). The game's incredibly similar to mine except I've opted working on just two shapes. Nice work!

thedashdude says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:35pm

A very fun game, but a bit too fast for me. I think if you slowed it down a little then accelerated it that would make it easier to get in to.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]