Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Neon Shifter

by anshulsinghxd - Jam Entry

My second Ludum Dare Entry !!
Controls :-
a,d - to move player
h,j,k,l - to switch between shapes
space - to shoot vertically upwards(if u have bullets that is)

Rules
Classic : Score as many points as possible within the time . Gain points by destroying falling shapes(by touching them while being the same shape or shooting
them). every shape that passes by you reduces your points by 1 . you lose if u touch a shape while being a different shape

Survival : Try to survive as long as possible without letting your score fall below zero . Increasing and deduction of points works the same way as in the classic mode

Thats it

Hope you guys enjoy it :)

credits
Art - Anshul singh , Pulkit Juneja
Programming - Pulkit Juneja

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#295Theme(Jam)3.65
#502Mood(Jam)3.15
#554Graphics(Jam)3.30
#608Fun(Jam)3.04
#770Innovation(Jam)2.78
#801Overall(Jam)2.96
#1416Coolness44%

Comments

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Initially frustrating because I couldn't get used to which key represented which shape, but after a little while I started to get into it.
Nice and simple, and fun to play. Good job! ^^

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:56pm

Graphics are pretty. Music really fits the graphics. I like the game play and you have to be fast choosing the right shape. DAMN survival is hard :) Great job, thanks.

Lagoe says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:48am

pretty hard at start, but when you understand the buttons it's fun.
Also, i like the neon gaphics so... nice game!

Studiosaurus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:59am

38 :) Nice little game. It's hard to judge what to do when it gets really fast because missing loads can cost you so much, it's sometimes just better to kill yourself while you're ahead rather than risk losing all those points. Would be nice if there were a visual when you fire.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Not sure why the bullets were needed as catching shapes should be sufficient. I guess as a last resort. The mood set by the music is casual but it's actually a quite mentally taxing, fast-paced game. I like the idea though.

unit684 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:42pm

Pretty fun game once you get used to it, some visual representation of bullets/lasers would be nice though.

notime4games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:43pm

It followed the theme pretty well once I realized I could change my shape. Ran out of bullets really quick hehe

karln says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Was fun once I learned the order of the shapes. Might have been easier to learn if they were in order of number of sides: circle, triangle, square, pentagon.

anshulsinghxd says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:58pm

@unit684 , @Studiosaurus . Adding a visual for the bullet was definitely in my plan . but i ran out of time working on other things :P

Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:27pm

I ENJOYED THIS, ANSHUL AND PULKIT. ALTHOUGH CONTROLS TOOK ME A SECOND TO PICK UP LIKE ANY GOOD GAME

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Great music and graphics fx! Keep up the good work!

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:48pm

This is a cool idea, although the objective can be a bit overwhelming at first (you have to manage bullets, shift the shape, manage falling shapes; is can be a lot at once). The bgm is cool and chill. I just like to point out that maybe the sequence of shapes on the keys h,j,k,l may be improved to go from circle to pentagon to square and then to triangle.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]