Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

TerraShift

by Leon Möhring - Compo Entry

In TerraShift you are a god! You have to change the world and use abilities to defend a village against droughts and beasts. After 30 years your score will be the largest number of houses the village once contained.

--INSTRUCTIONS--
The game is turnbased, each turn is equal to one year of in game time. You have 3 cards per turn and you must use 2 of them. There are cards to create new land and cards to change existing terrain. Some abilities cannot be placed on every land type.
After you finished the turn, the world changes like in a simulation. These changes follow specific rules. The village grows by itself, if it is located on green land.
You can try to learn the rules by yourself or read how it works below. Later on wolves and dragons spawn and destroy your houses. You can fight them by using certain abilities.

--Controls--
Control with mouse and left mouse button (to select cards and land tiles)
Pan view with middle or right mouse button

--Personal Comment--
The game turned out really nice. I wanted to make something different and the project was very complex. I had no time left to create music and sfx so sadly there is no audio at all... The graphics are quite good, I love the Icons of Fire, Rain, Meteor and Wolf, but I hoped to be able to create better graphics for the land tiles (not enough time, work time was about 18-20 hours I think). The simulation turned out really cool, especially the terrain simulation. There are some things not perfect with the beasts and there are no real menu screens(end screen is visually broken), but it's Ludum Dare! So I hope you enjoyed playing and leave some feedback please!

--Description of Simulation Rules--

Land types:
-Desert (-2 Green)
-Mountain (-1 Green)
-Dirt (0 Green)
-Grass (+1 Green)
-Forest (+2 Green)
-Water (+3 Green)

Kill dragon with storm or meteor
Kill wolf with fire or meteor

Meteor changes grass / forest / dirt to mountain
Meteor changes mountain to dirt
Meteor changes water to grass
Meteor destroys all houses on the land

Fire changes grass / dirt to desert
Fire changes forest to dirt
Fire destroys all houses on the land

Rain changes desert to grass
Rain changes dirt to forest
Rain changes grass / forest to water

Storm changes forest to dirt
Storm destroys half of the houses on the land

->Land Simulation:
The land type of a tile is determined by an average of all the neighbour's green values.
The tile can only change the type step by step

->Village Simulation:
Each house can create a new house on a neighbour tile, if the neighbours green value is high enough.
Houses cannot stand on water or mountains
On desert and dirt houses get destroyed over time
There can only be 10 houses on each tile

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#10Graphics4.52
#14Fun4.13
#24Overall4.06
#36Innovation4.08
#96Mood3.66
#162Theme3.82
#315Humor2.64

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:41am

This was really cool and had way more than I was initially expecting!
Would be neat to see dragon/wolf models over the tiles instead of icons. Overall, really well done. Made me think of this from the last Ludum Dare: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TtWiQxke8Vk

TiRSO! says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Very nice. I love how it looks, the level of polish and that it can be understood without any tutorials. Congrats!

As a negative, I have lost a bit of motivation after a while since it's not clear what the goal is or what's the losing condition.

cicanci says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Nice game! It reminds me a board game, well done!

tomdeal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Nice game! It's fun to watch the settlement grow, like it was in populous :-)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Nice gameplay and use of the theme and the graphics are very good, great job.

eott says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:05pm

Wow, what a great game. :)
It's very fun to play, trying to make the most of the given cards and fighting off monsters with godly fury.

Capitals says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:11pm

A really good game. Looks great! However I't would have helped to have a idea (A GUI Element), which showed how many houses you had.

Husky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13pm

This game is beautiful and interesting, I like when the wolf and dragon spawning, it give and push me to face these threat, and then there are some strategy for defeat them or glow more tiles.

Although I'm not quite sure when or how do I get to the end game, but it's still pretty solid to me.

Good job! :D

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Very good entry. I really enjoyed watching the village grow, and unleashing natural elements against dragons and wolves. Graphics are top-notch for a compo game.

Easy to play, easy to understand (if you read the goals of the game first) and a very solid entry. I liked it!

gameXcore says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Absolutely excellent, I would to see this developed further.

Yrasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Very cool game with an awesome mood and graphics style! I do however feel like the game is lacking in informing the player about what the goal of the game is and how you perform "good". But overall very good work! :D

cameronpenner says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:42pm

Wow, really solid entry! Felt really polished. I'd have loved a bit of chill music and a bit of interactive sounds, but other than that, a really great game!

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Very very nice! This was made in 48 hours!?!?! This is going to win!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Very cozy and enjoyable! Pretty easy too, but I seriously enjoyed the depth present, what with the different tiles affecting each other and the dragons and wolves ravaging cities. My score was 190. I'd love to see more of this!

DivineOmega says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12pm

I liked the strategy of the game. Pretty intuitive as the gameplay was quite discoverable without the need to read the instructions.

The graphical style was very nice, as I felt it suited the game well. I think would make an excellent 'on-and-off' mobile puzzle/strategy game.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Rellay nice and funny game. But...Stupid
wolf killing my citizens... he had to die.

It's one of the first games i needed to finish. Good job. Kepp it on.

goodbadokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:03pm

Wow, this is really awesome!
So meditative and relaxing

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:21pm

I played it through twice. The first time I kept wondering why my grass was turning into desert all the time. On the 2nd I managed to get about 285 houses. I enjoyed the game a lot. A greater diversity in tiles and events would make it even better.

Funske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:46am

That was a lot of fun. I really enjoyed the game, and found myself getting into it. Graphics were beautiful, and my only complaint is that I wish there was more(Which of course is understandable with such a short time). Great game!

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:58pm

This was so much deeper than I expected.
I like the art, and the controls are tight and clear. I particularly enjoyed the moments when I was faced with villages everywhere, and only a fire or a storm :) I'd love some sounds and a little more animation when villages appear, but the game is solid. Congratulations.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Great game, cool graphics and longest game on this ld35 ive played .

RoboNebula says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Good game, I really enjoyed it!

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Very well done. I actually played through twice because I found myself very entertained. Amazing graphics and a good take on the shapeshifting theme.

Gametery says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:46am

Really nice game! Very well done .

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:55am

Pretty funny and innovating game! I enjoyed playing this :)

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Cool tiled based game :) a bit hard to figure all the combinations but I had fun trying all sort of things :)

BoltKey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:36pm

The graphics were perfect. It took me two tries to understand how to play, but after I got it, it was really enjoyable. I think I will come back to this later.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:43am

Love this game! The visuals are amazing :D

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:35pm

Very polished entry, good one. Minimal graphics works pretty well, and the gameplay is funny. Maybe it could have been clearer in game how to defeat enemies

Freank says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:26am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:54am

Wow there was so much in this! What an awesome concept. Great work man! Would love to see you take this further :)

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Very well put together, enjoyable to play.

PaulJs says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Great game ! Just game !

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Super innovative game! The graphics are fantastic and the GOD SIM is super awesome! Excellent job

lanestp says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Fantastic! Easily my favorite game of this LD!

Jeasonfire says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:18pm

Got 118 houses! Don't know if that's good, but most of the world was pretty green, so I'm alright with it :D Probably spammed a few water tiles too many though..

The graphics are really neat, and the animations very fluid. The artstyle seems very consistent, and the only graphical gripe with me was the description font (seems a bit too thin), but even that stopped annoying me after only a little while. And font tastes tend to be quite subjective.

The lack of audio is a bit disappointing, but the graphics & really cool gameplay more than make up for it. Good work!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:29am

Great depth in this game, good job. I got 282 houses.

studdert249 says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:25am

Great work! A well fleshed out concept for the allotted time and easily understood even without reading the simulation rules until after I finished a playthrough, deliberately mind you, I wanted to enjoy the game, not try meta-game so to speak.

The only thing I could think to add would be a counter for the number of houses you currently have and more days so I can keep enjoying expanding my village!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:59am

Great game! I wish it was even longer

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:20pm

It might add more strategy if there's some tile-type that could be used to counter wolves & dragons.

Like the wolf cannot pass water, etc.

Leon Möhring says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:59pm

yeah I wanted to do that, but I would have needed proper Pathfinding Algorithms which was not possible in 48 hours:), I also wanted the storms and fire to spread and maybe other villages to fight, but that was very optimistic...

Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/Rc53wZClozM

randomhuman says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Fun game, and very nice looking graphics.

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:31pm

I like it! The lowpoly look and simple game mechanic made this a very pleasurable experience. It felt a bit like playing settlers of catan on a table :)

Greetings, Bruz

Foxarya says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Very simple and very addictive! Love it!

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Neat entry !

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:47am

That was fantastic! :D keep up the good work! :D like the way the tiles show up and the gameplay itself :)

jonnopon3000 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:45pm

I didn't do so well at first, but I came back for seconds and really had a great time. Nice work

Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:20pm

Got 339 on my first try! :D

Really love the game, very solid entry and fun gameplay mechanic! Would love to see this further developed - with some more content and varying goals, it would really be a cool puzzle game I'd be willing to pay for! :)

Tselmek says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:59am

Nice game, wish there was a way to zoom in and out as well as a less brutal view panning, it's quite frustrating to lose your progression because you can't find the land after a glitchy view panning. Nice game nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]