Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SPELLDOWN!

by pixelpotions - Jam Entry

Use the mouse to draw the magical glyphs to beat your opponent.
Become the magical champion of the realm!

Art: @_Gabrielfer
Code: @Sparrowspell

Powered by Flashpunk

//20-04-2016 Fixed all of the bugs that were crashing the game and reuploaded it.
//24-04-2016 Added ZIP file containing an SWF for people recording or streaming.
///////////////// Also added an AIR file for anybody wanting that.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#37Graphics(Jam)4.49
#240Humor(Jam)3.12
#262Innovation(Jam)3.43
#290Overall(Jam)3.52
#315Mood(Jam)3.39
#467Fun(Jam)3.22
#616Theme(Jam)3.26

Comments

Roland M says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:34am

Well done guy. =]

Sean says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:08am

The artwork in this is great! I especially liked the variety of transformations for the defeated opponents.

My main criticism is that it's pretty repetitive, though that's kind of inherent to the gameplay mechanic. Maybe it'd be better if the player's spell glyph was randomized each time?

morrilet says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:15am

Pulled out a drawing tablet and went to town. This game was really unique. Loved it.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:01am

The art is great, just awesome!
I pulled out my drawing tablet too to defeat my enemies. Very cool and unique game.

celia14 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:34am

Great concept! I found it a bit repetitive in its current form, but I can see how it could evolve into a more complex and really cool game. The art is great - really classic and fun.

Eshford says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:16am

Freaking amazing!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:57am

Nice dueling game. I like the pressure your opponent puts on you and the artwork is nice. I'd love to see this developed further!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:22am

Beautiful game! I should try playing this on my Surface Pro with the pen ;)

aamatniekss says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:43am

Really cool! The art is gorgeous! You guys did a great job! :)

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Awesome graphics and cool gameplay :)

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Two words: eye candy.
I just wish the gameplay was a bit richer... Great entry nonetheless!!

MdotEdot says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Great Entry!
Long time ago I had this idea but your execution is spot on!
would like to have a mobile game like this!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:18pm

The graphics are outstanding and the main mechanic pretty well done although it is repetitive very fast, maybe different shapes each time we complete one might help a bit.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Top notch graphics but gameplay gets old quite quickly. Felt like the shapes should change once you'd successfully drawn them to increase variety.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Really like the graphics and the idea of drawing magic glyphs. Also good humor! Liked it!

jordgubben says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Nice work. Neat idea and colorful presentation.

I first tried this with my laptop touchpad, it did not go to well. Then I connected my drawing tablet and I DOMINATED THE ENTIRE REALM! All hail Lord Wacom!

(Also bonus points for the Ghibli reference :D)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Awesome work guys :D

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Awesome art and really unique gameplay, congrats!

giordanno92 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:39am

Nice game you got there! It's practically impossible with the touchpad, do-able with the mouse and masterful with a tablet XD The art is very well done, although little variation, and wished there was audio, it would've increased a lot the imersion. The idea also brought me back to Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone for the PC XD Good job, Gabriel and Sparrow! Cheering for your entry!

nextreality says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:17am

I liked the graphics for this game, and the gameplay was simple yet addicting, kept trying to beat all those darn wizards!

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:02pm

Fun game :)

ployer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:17pm

gorgeous graphics. interesting concept. wish you could have more shapes to draw. other than that very nice use of the theme

Haighstrom says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:11pm

God I was bad at this game. But thought it was great. Really simple, but lovely implementation. Marvellous graphics.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:54pm

Great game! One to play with tablet. It would work well as a mobile.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:11pm

this is very pretty, and the kitten is so cute :)

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Thanks everyone for your kind comments, we hear all of your criticism and suggestions and are coming up with new ways to make the game better!
We are also retroactively reviewing and rating your games if we haven't already done so.
You are all very awesome!

luquio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:20pm

amazing game mechanics & pixel!!! think this would be great for mobile device

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Art is absolutely stunning. There must be a great job in programming. But it has not been fun for me draw over and over again the same figure.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:21am

Nice graphics and great concept!

mikekreein says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:01am

Nice graphics, but like others have said, needs some additional glyphs that you have to draw.

Linver says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:41am

Nice Art!
First fight: drawing one glyph so much times is boooooring. Yea, I don't have a skill at this level, but you should make this fight faster.
Second fight: good
Other fights: hard and booring after death. May be you should add small glyphs to delete enemy's line (if it so good), or to swap your main glyphs/

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:49am

I like this a lot! I accidentally chose one of the most difficult shapes, my trackball was so uncooperative, but I manage to win at the end, mwa ha ha! :D:D:D Sweet sweet pixels!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:38pm

This is nice - simple mechanics - but with added pressure. Another mechanic of some sort would be nice, but the graphics make up for it! Nice job!

StrayCat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:39am

Gameplay is a bit boring after the first spells, but the graphics are really nice. Adding any kind of magical sounds would have been relly nice too.

Good job!

Togimaro says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:33pm

The assets are fantastic!
I love the interpretation of the theme, it's really cool to play even with a touchpad on a laptop!
Good works!

esayitch says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Awesome artwork, makes me kinda sad there was no music to go with it :(

Usage of theme is a bit lacking, there are shapes, and when you win the opponent is shapeshifted, but it doesn't really affect the gameplay at all :(

Aside from that, pretty cool, challenging game! Good luck!

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:47pm

Great graphics and really awesome mechanic! It was hard but at least I had a fun time getting wrecked!

Gord10 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Very nice graphics!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Nice graphics, gameplay is shallow but the game is nice for what it is. :) It can be improved and extended with many other ideas.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:19pm

Fantastic graphics. I should've pulled out my stylus and touch screen, but it worked pretty well with the mouse. Would love to see variety in the shapes you trace, and clearer feedback on how much you got/missed for a particular trace, but for a Jam game this is a wonderful entry.

RttStudio says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:02pm

First, Ty for the comment you did on my game :)
Your game is pretty good guys :) really fun, I'd like to see some sort of rpg that use this as a combat system ! :)

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:32am

Played every character, i'm sad i couldn't go further than two rounds because the graphics are so awesome, agree with randomizing spells :)

Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:57am

This is a cool idea - and it's really fun to draw the shapes. I agree that having randomized spell shapes for the player would be awesome, but I like the base game you've got here as well. Thanks for posting.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Excellent pixel art. I found the difficulty a little extreme after two wins. The third opponent is just way too fast. Still fun.

Ellian says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:01pm

Awesome work, guys!
It's surprisingly HARD to play with a laptop's touchpad ahahah. I wish it wasn't so slow, but it's really well made in such a short time. Kudos! :)

Big Cow says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Really nice art and animation, simple and fun gameplay, nice use of theme. I tried 'breaking' the drawing system only to find that it was very well-coded and robust! If you're planning on expanding the game, I'd consider giving the characters more than one shape to draw.

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Really beautiful, and tricky to master. As others have suggested, randomizing the glyph each time could make it less repetitive. I think it would be a really good multiplayer game on mobile.

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:06am

Well done, nice graphics and fun game !

torcado says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:38pm

very nice pixel art! i wish the game were more engaging though.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:11pm

Funny mini-game!! I would like to play it in my iphone!! Sometimes is a bit repetitive, but iy's ok.

LevieDAudio says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:06am

The graphics are soooo good! The game mechanic is very cute, and has a good balance between 'Should I go faster and rougher' or 'Should I go slower and more precise?'

Pretty fun! :D Well done, guys! ❤

leo_p_mahon says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Amazing art work. Really hard with a mouse! Had to learn to balance getting the shape perfect and doing it quickly. Would like to see where this goes next :)

jk5000 says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Super idea, and super game. Well done.

Alphish says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:33pm

It seems like it could be an interesting entry if some more variety was added into it. The most obvious idea that comes to my mind (and I'm not the only one, it seems) is having the glyphs randomised each time, so that the player needs to react accordingly (each wizard could have own set of glyphs). If that was implemented, I think the gameplay would work rather well.

I rather liked the artwork and animation in this game, though what I'd prefer is having one animation for each winning/losing wizard pair. So that, say, brown wizard would be polymorphing opponent, while the red wizard would zap them instead. Right now it seems each time you win, you get the same result depending on the level, and each time you lose, you get the same critter depending on your wizard; instead having spells for each winning/losing wizard pair could better establish wizards' "personality", in a way.

Pretty solid and complete entry, overall. A bit of pity there's no lich battle, though I guess I'd prefer playing that in a more various setting (and I wouldn't really want to have the lich spam spellpieces even more than the 3rd level wizard currently does).

Tooichi says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Loved the art and the concept, really well done.

May 4, 2016 @ 4:01am

nice drawing and mechanics. Older idea, but you did it and that counts for something. That vader head was superb. Needs sounds, i just made them up in my mind to make it exciting. i wanted to be able to draw super fast. xD

medidog says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:03am

Really unique graphics and sense of achievement! Really nice symbols too, it was fun to draw them for me. But, I still agree with most of the comments here, that to make shapes vary each time so the game does not feel repetitive over time.

fin_nolimit says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:39am

Very cool use of the theme!!! I was missing the music and sound effects of course but the game was super cool. I was turned into a cat at the beginning because i had no idea what was going on lol but then I quickly recovered! Loved it!

Chaoslab says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:48am

Gorgeous! Pixels! Om nom nom nom! One of my favorites so far! Thanks you.

lanestp says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:01am

Nice game and a nicely put together package. It's a little impossible to play on a touchpad but that isn't your fault. All together a very polished and well done game!

QuexD says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:19am

Love the game, shame there is no music. Even with no audio great game loved it.

MatMortatti says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:36am

Hello! Cool game :)

Interesting mechanic, and the art style is really nice.

One problem I found is that the game tends to get a little repetitive. It would be interesting to change shapes during fight. Maybe it would get too difficult?

There is a mobile game that (if you are not familiar with) would surely serve as inspiration for your project if you wish to expand it. It's called Magic Touch, go check it!

Overall, good job! Congratulations for your entry.

Uson Chen says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:09am

Very good pixel art and key frame animation!
The mechanic is good but if there is some changes to the magic curve during the continual drawing would be better, a little bit board now.

legavroche says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 5:03am

I think this game has the makings of a good multiplayer game. Maybe have a randomized list of drawings that both players must draw?

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:41am

Nice! Try for some music and sounds next time :)

MalyTimi says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:58am

fresh idea :D

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:22am

The art is great in this! I love the style and the atmosphere it creates. I think this game could be really expanded upon by choosing different kinds of magic spells that you want to cast, maybe some are more complicated to draw but create different effects. Very nice entry! It became a lot easier with my tablet too! Haha. :)

puppetmaster says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Wow! Really cool artwork and animations. Difficulty is to high for me. Missing the sound. Keep up the good work.

lightsoda says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 11:06am

The gameplay gimmick seems to work pretty well. But drawing the same shape over and over isn't very fun.

The graphics are well done.

aegypticus says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:19pm

I really liked this! The drawing mechanic was really cool... I should try out my drawing tablet on this! Great job.

retakex says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:22am

Really fun to play!

PixlWalkr says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 9:17am

Great game and nice mechanics, I really like the graphics!

PanicTheFirst says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 3:30pm

Amazing artstyle! Gameplay is nice and would be awesome on a tablet. Good job!

RyanNielson says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Great game, would love to see it expanded upon into a phone game with friends! :)

radmars says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Awesome concept! Graphics are really great too. Would be nice if there were more variety in what you had to draw, also some more feedback would be helpful - it wasn't clear how close you actually had to be. Still fun, nice work.

Xanjos says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Controls were pretty hard using the mouse so I decided to play this on my Surface Pro 3 instead (using the pen and touchscreen) which worked like an absolutely charm. Anyway, it's a pretty awesome concept and I can definitely see this working on mobile/tablet devices but as someone said before, it would be more interesting if the spell glyphs were randomised each time.

Skruffye says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Been meaning to review this one for a while now, but only just found the time.
Firstly, I love the art and the gameplay concept. The drawing element really reminded me of WarioWare: Touched on the DS (perhaps a platform this kind of game is best suited to) but I did have a lot of trouble getting the shapes right with my mouse. (The margin for error seemed somewhat slim considering that your opponent draws pixel perfect shapes!)
I do have a graphics tablet, so I'll probably take another shot at this later with that, but since that isn't exactly commonplace hardware outside of this particular audience (ie. other developers and artists), I'd probably say that making the game a touch easier to play with a mouse would be a good idea.

Overall though, I enjoyed it. Good job! :)

dollarone says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 2:21am

Fantastic graphics. Cool idea, and well executed. I think some of the signs were harder, but that's cool.

Would be cool if the glyphs were random for a bigger challenge or something like that.

Nice!

May 9, 2016 @ 4:33pm

But this game is supper annoying :D need to get a graphic tablet to perform. Interesting idea and pixel graphics. Good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]