Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Plasticine

by Kafumanto - Jam Entry

Help Plasticine save his friends! He's a super hero that can transform into any form he likes. Choose the right shape and pass through the walls: try out your alertness and reflexes!


Use the keys "1", "2" and "3' to choose the shape.


Availability: Web HTML5, Windows, Android.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#52Theme(Jam)4.13
#281Humor(Jam)3.03
#398Mood(Jam)3.28
#403Fun(Jam)3.29
#440Graphics(Jam)3.52
#598Overall(Jam)3.19
#671Innovation(Jam)2.90

Comments

TriSquare says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:48am

Very fun game, good graphics and theme based, but the download took me 5 minutes and I had trouble learning the controls. Overall I liked it :)

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:01am

neat idea! but pretty difficult having to quickly glance at the new shape set before every wall and still click the proper key. I would recommend keeping the controls the same shapes then start adding in more keys and shapes as the game progresses because its pretty hard keeping track of the controls.

RttStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:48am

Very fun, really theme oriented. Simple yet good graphics.Some controls problem but nothing major. Really good game overall. My high score at the moment is 16 :)

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:57am

Suzanne from Blender! I glad to see her in this game)
It's a very atmospheric runner but I agree with TeamKawaiiji - it's pretty difficult to play.

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:53am

Cute, fun game :D I especially liked the blender monkey, lol. What was its name again?

JNI says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:30am

A good game, I like the style

Lagoe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:53am

Great game! i like the idea, but it pretty hard because of the change of shapes button (from the very beginning).
Still, a good game, nice work!

windastella says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16pm

I think it's about the position of the shape list that is really hard to comprehend. Imo I think it play better if the indicator is at the top. But it's fun to play.

Mossi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Great game, the idea is fantastic, although the new shapes do come a bit too late i feel it becomes very hard fast, but other than that great work!

Mase says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Nice use of the default monkey... indeed a formidable super power.

A faster reload would be nice; I think it is unnecessary to wait through the messages after a game over.

I scored 14.

davidkanc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:53pm

it was fun! graphics look nice and its a bit hard to understand controls at the first games but then all works fine. Congratulations

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:21pm

The gameplay is a bit simple (and very very hard), and the graphics too, but I like the mood and it fits with the theme :) Good job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:32pm

very fun!! but maybe too complex to understand at first

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Took a while to figure out what to do. The game seems to be fun. Maybe have the starting speed a bit slower. Liked the music and SFX and it was quite a good representation of the theme. The font is a bit hard to read.

testzero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Pretty much unplayable as is. It wouldn't be so bad if the shapes didn't change IMMEDIATELY before approaching the wall. It would be a lot better if the shapes changed just after you pass through, so the player will have enough time to react. Cute graphics, music and sound, but completely unplayable.

jakass says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:47am

5 Stars! This game is VERY fun!!!! :D My high score is 13! When I Started, I think very hard, but later... wow! Nice!

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:28am

Cute and Fun. What Else

yuigoto says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:19pm

I loved the game concept and setting! :) Although not an entirely new concept, the way you handled it is pretty nice and challenging!

The simple, colorful graphics and the soundtrack you've chosen combine pretty well and gives the game that toy-world setting! I really liked it!

The controls are pretty responsive too, though I also feel that keeping the shapes the same and adding more as you progress, while leaving more time for the player to see the next shape would be a good addition!

Nevertheless, the game's pretty fun and friendly! :D

Great work, Cheers!

P.s.: the fonts in the web version look small :/

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

gnerkus says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:24pm

A true plasticine hero.

The controls are a bit difficult to reach. Also, the game doesn't give you enough time to process the shape before molding Mr Plasticine.

You could place the shapes at the bottom of the screen and map them to the keys A, S and D which are easier to reach.

Brickkid512 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 4:16pm

It looks great and is an awesome theme idea.

11Schotter says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:55am

Cool entry, really hard to beat!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]