Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shifting Shadows

by Max Amaden - Compo Entry


SYNOPSIS:
===========

Shifting Shadows is a side-scrolling adventure game. You are a thief tasked with stealing from a wealthy keep, using your rare 'Shifter' powers to hide from patrolling guards.

CONTROLS:
===========
A and D - Move the player.
Space - Shapeshift into an object to hide from guards.
W - Steal loot, when the indicator is shown.

PROGRAMS USED:
================
+ Unity
+ Visual Studio
+ Photoshop
+ Beepbox

NOTE: The web build for Unity is broken, all of the sprites become white boxes. Please comment below if you know how to fix this. Thank you in advance!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#30Graphics4.28
#91Theme3.97
#99Overall3.76
#109Mood3.61
#144Humor3.13
#190Fun3.54
#224Audio3.25
#414Innovation3.18

Comments

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:34am

Very beautiful and polished pixel art game. I love the presentation and all the details. Could do with a little more AI (of course hard to accomplish in 48hrs) and the music is really repetitive. But overall, I liked it a lot.

Wevel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:39pm

NOICE

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Woot! The difficulty ramped up right when it needed to. Well done! (escaped with 1671 gold)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Nice and simple, good job!

Cowa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:14pm

Very good! I finished with 1666 gold :D

dvdking says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Nice,
not a lot of variety, buy the game feels complete and had just perfect length of gameplay.
Smooth particles look kind of weird with together with pixel art though

KodingNights says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Good stuff. A little odd that I could shapeshift right under the nose of the guard and it was none the wiser. Nice pixel art, and I liked that you actually wrote what I "found"/stole everywhere.

brainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Great game! Only complaints are lack of checkpoints and repetitive music!

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Nice game. I liked it. Music was a tad stale though.

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:50pm

this was a joy to play. great idea, cool art, nice sound effects.

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Nice game. I love the pixel art and its style.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:53pm

The game looks very nice, though I found the gameplay only attractive for the first 2 loot items/guards, then it became tedious (I still played until I died, so it wasn't that bad, it just became repetitive)

I think I would've preferred a more puzzly element, for example that you needed to shapeshift to a specific item to fool different kinds of guards.

That said, overall it's still pretty nice.

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:53pm

The sounds and graphics were amazing. As said earlier the game gets harder when it needs to.

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:56pm

I think the guard squatted on me when I was a chair :P
Nice little game (score 1671)

Goutye says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Very polished! I particularly loved the shifting effect into different items! Keep going! As Cerno_b said, a bit more of AI works and that would be a bit different after a while! Overall: I really liked it!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:01pm

Simple game but oh so fun. Screw those aristocrats!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Nice graphics and sound, could use more variety in terms of gameplay, but not too big of an issue. Good job!

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Good idea for a story. And the presentation is nice too. I love shift into the empty armor xD

Elite_Flibble says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Wow. It's going to be a great game.

varuns says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:42pm

It's fun! It'll be even better if the guards chase you and you have to get them off-screen and shift to get them off your tail :D

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:21pm

This is definitely the best game I've played so far. The shapeshifting mechanic was great and I love the art. It was great how stupid the guard are, but maybe you can add some kind of feature to make them smarter and you have to disguise yourself a certain way in order to trick them. Either way, really great job!

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:43am

That was quite fun. Pixel art looks really nice and the music is good as well. Only problem I noticed was that the guards melded in with the background sometimes so that they were a bit hard to see. Other than that, this is a nice game.

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:36pm

Nice game with fun graphics, however i felt it could do with a bit more variety as if felt a bit repetitive as it went on, other than that I still enjoyed playing, well done.

Max Elmore says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Very nice game and art style. Simple, fun to play and the shape shifting mechanic is cool. Overall pretty good game

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:33am

great graphics and i love the idea

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]