Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

A Sum Of All Parts

by MattWoelk - Jam Entry

Relax and explore a vivid world of shapes and sound.

Find hidden objects to unlock a fully voice-acted story.

** If the controls aren't working for you, hit escape to get the cursor, and click the inner frame (white) then click back in, or go to the "Web" link below instead of using the embed on this page. **

By Matt Woelk and Ben Bergman with music by Justin Koop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#269Audio(Jam)3.39
#293Innovation(Jam)3.37
#436Mood(Jam)3.24
#684Theme(Jam)3.14
#754Graphics(Jam)2.98
#898Overall(Jam)2.86
#980Fun(Jam)2.52

Comments

TechXSoftware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:27am

Looks messy, but interesting

toastedgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:08am

I made a shape and it doesn't work... LAME.

jdeuce says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10am

I beat it. Pretty interesting concept. The positional audio is a really cool effect.

BitDare says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:02am

It had great sound and some fun concepts. I had some issues running the game personally but it did work so I didn't play much :( Nice work though.

ayewyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:12am

pretty choppy.

2Bit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:48am

Quite cool and surprisingly good voice work. Well done!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:40pm

The idea is amazing, and the story is great. But it is really difficult to find the perfect place, to see the symbols and shapes.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:42am

Not sure if i'm supposed to be able to move :( i can only look around and can't trigger anymore sounds. Are there some controls i don't know about?

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:48am

Very interesting concept, but it could do with some more user-friendliness.

Blobo says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:53am

Controls dont seem to work on the web version. I'm using chrome.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:00am

Hmm, controls aren't seeming to work. Looks like could be an interesting game!

MattWoelk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:39am

To those for whom the controls aren't working, I see the problem only in the embed on this page, and only sometimes. Click through the "Web" link on the page for a better experience.

For your convenience: https://mattwoelk.itch.io/a-sum-of-all-parts

Thank you all for your comments! Making this game was tough and I'm very proud of the final result! :)

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:54am

I like the idea of changing perspective to see new shapes. A unique take on shapeshifting!

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:24am

Nice voice overs. The game itself was very choppy though, tough to play.

JNI says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:22pm

A good game, I like the perpective change!

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:32pm

Nice idea - very strong on theme

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:24am

Wow, yeah, the scene was incredible. Looking up and seeing the sun and clouds... very real! I've never worked with 3D before so I have no idea what that takes but it looks like a massive project for just 72 hours. Nice job!!!

studdert249 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:17pm

An interesting take on the shapeshift theme and the voice acting was well done.

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:26pm

interresting concept, but a little hard to handle for a jam! nice entry anyway

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:26pm

Super cool concept! This was an awesome direction to go in this game. And I liked the audio narrative touch to bring it all together. Great job!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:46am

I couldn't finish, but good job with what I heard of the story :)

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:23am

I really like the concept, but it's a little difficult to find where the hidden shapes are. Are there rules to the puzzle? It would have been neat if you had to look for the negative space to create a series of shapes, or maybe look through the holes in some shapes to uncover the invisible shapes.

The 3D positional sound was awesome, but it would have helped if it could be heard from just a little further away. The voice acting was great, and extremely clear. I also liked the way the music seemed to gradually introduce more elements as I discovered parts of the puzzle. It had incredible atmosphere too.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:55pm

It was hard to find the shapes but I just couldn't quit the game. I had to find all of them.
I really liked the idea and the execution. The music also strenghtened the experience.
On of the best entries I have seen!

davor10105 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:28pm

i love the concept, but its waaaaay to hard to find the hidden object, you gotta be standing literally next to the object to hear the wooshing sound, and even then its hard. i really wanted to hear the rest of the story, but i only managed to find 2 object :( great job otherwise guys!

May 2, 2016 @ 11:10am

A very clever idea and really relaxing to play. Finding the shapes and hearing more of the story was a really nice concept.

May 2, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Interesting game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/CILyMGd9ZnE

May 3, 2016 @ 3:31pm

Neat idea, very chill game. Were there rules to which shapes gave you story that I was missing or was it as random as it seems? My only complaint really is that I couldn't figure out how to find "shapes" other than randomly running around and hoping. Perhaps if the noise indicating you were near the right spot started from a bit further away, that would have helped? Still, though, very neat concept.

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Great work! Loved how you worked with the shapes but, as some people said, it's kinda hard to find'em all, couldn't stop until I found everything, though. :P

The graphics are just perfect for the style and the setting, together with the audio, sets some nice mood! The narrative is really good too! :)

Challenging in its own way, but very pleasing to play! Congrats on the result! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]