Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Super Shapeshift Bros

by mitya1234 - Jam Entry

Small 2D-physics fighting game where you can change your shape. This game can be played with only one gamepad! But you can play with two gamepads.

You can also download a Soundtrack album from itch.io

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#253Humor(Jam)3.09
#335Audio(Jam)3.26
#502Graphics(Jam)3.40
#558Theme(Jam)3.33
#565Innovation(Jam)3.03
#629Fun(Jam)3.00
#641Mood(Jam)2.97
#711Overall(Jam)3.05

Comments

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:04am

Very cool concept, really liked the presentation of the game!

mutonizer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:08am

Okkkk...

It seems local multiplayer only so had to play with both hands on the keyboard as separate entities (or something).

I "think" the concept's interesting but it didn't seem to work proper.
Square shape's almost immovable. Triangle shape flies off very easily and sometime just completely skids away if it hits something.

Graphics are cute though.

As a note, no source download?

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:21am

the gameplay was ok, seemed like suicide was far more common then pushing off the other player.

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:31am

mutonizer, source code will be avaliable today. I need to add the license to project and music

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:34am

Square shape has different mass and it has function to stop the player from flying away and drop down to enemy.

marod says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:16am

Nice game. The graphics are very cute!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:23am

Haha this was fun! We love 2 Player Games.

Max Amaden says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:41am

Great game, keep up the good work!

LeoM says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:55am

The controls are very tricky, the base lvl, as soon you don't have play a bit, it's only suicide ^^
I played alone for now so I'm not the best jugde, but some other shape could have been usefull, maybe a circle or an hexagon for easy movements ? maybe a star for push our enemy ?

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Cool game, I can see the beginnings of something really good.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Nice concept and art. Music was pretty good as well, though gameplay was not that excellent. Got bored pretty fast.

Ramayana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Good job!

apalade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Really trippy visuals and sound. The concept seems cool but I couldn't get the hang of how to actually play it.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:29am

very nice game and concept i liked it!! good art also!
play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:39am

Nice style and visual but very hard to play

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:15pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Gametery says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Nice concept, needs some tweaking movement wise and then it could be really fun.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:21am

Could you please explain how to fly over the cross on the first level? We would really like to play your game as it's intended because it seems so much fun! The only level we could really play was Triangle of Death The others you had to fly over obstacles. Which we didn't get.
I'll bookmark and wait for a reply =)

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:02am

glaze_96, you should spin at high speed, when you hit the ground and will fly away. It's very hard to do and there are more chances that you will simply fly away from arena. It's my mistake because there is no jump with button and flying controls. I'm going to fix this thing today.

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:48pm

@mitya1234 Okay I understand =)

Well, got to play it with my brother now. We had tons of fun with the inclusion of lots of laughter!

The levels that we actually managed to get a fair play was Triangle of Death, Holes and Simple. We found the others too hard. But those playable levels were great! This could really be a game too be released if it got some more polish and levels =)

Hope you had fun making it and thanks for the great time you gave us =)

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:50am

Looks good, the faces are really cute. Wish I had someone to play it with.

I saw your posts about working towards a steam release, so here are my suggestions. I think you should be able to choose your second shape. It would be fun if you were able to change from a triangle into a circle that could roll real fast down the Triangle of Death into your opponent. Also, the grey arena tiles are pretty boring and can be made more interesting.

Just out of curiosity, why are you switching from Unity?

Hope you make it!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:38am

It all looks really beautiful but also had a bit of trouble with the controls ^^' It was hard getting over the cross. Would be cool to see it fixed in some way :) Apart from that it's really polished so you definitely did a great job!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:44pm

I've never played a game that controls quite like this -- it's very interesting. We found that we would accidentally fly off screen much more often than we would actually hit each other. I'm sure players can get better at the controls and at using the square to control themselves -- it might help to have the starting arena be larger with fewer opportunities to accidentally fly off screen or get stuck.

derr says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:08am

Interesting concept. With a few tweaks it could make for a fun 2-player game. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]