Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Ovid Debt

by Madzinah - Compo Entry

This is Ovid Debt, a platformer where the character you control, a green cube, can change form to pass through tight places. In order to complete each level, you have to collect each coins in order to make the exit appear and then reaching it.

Controls :

Left : A | Left Arrow
Right: D | Right Arrow
Jump: W | Up Arrow
Get taller and thiner: Q | X
Get flatter and longer: E | C

This is my first game on my own and I'm aware of some issues and I'm sorry about it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#303Theme3.62
#540Audio2.42
#784Mood2.05
#829Fun2.52
#851Innovation2.33
#865Graphics2.05
#889Overall2.52
#1483Coolness41%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:13pm

pretty nice i liked how you have to change form mid jump to make some of the jumps but the dificulty seemed to spike pretty harshly

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Congrats on getting your first game done. It was a fun little platform/puzzler, it would have been nice to have found a few more uses for the alternative shapes on the last level but I think the best suggestion I can make would be to fine tune the jumping and movement, everything felt a bit too much like it was underwater... Unless of course, it is meant to be underwater :) Good job!

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Good work! I was getting stuck in some of the levels ? But you really executed and translated a complete idea.

Idorrac says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:58am

Nice work! The graphics do their jobs and the music and sounds are nice. I like the gameplay idea, and how the concept of changing the size of the rectangle is exploited in creative way, for example to allow for higher jumps or to move without falling in pits. :)
I have found a small bug (or maybe it is intentional): if you are in "tall" shape, jump next to a wall, and switch to "normal" shape, the character will get stuck in the wall.

Madzinah says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:52am

I'm aware of the collide bug when you change shapes, I found it as soon as I've implemented it, but decided to keep it as a feature as it could be useful for some jumps.
But thank you all for your comments, I have a lot to learn from these.

wumpus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:12pm

Looks like we both went for the same implementation of the theme. I think there's a few others out there too.

A great job for your first ludum dare.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:16pm

Nice idea and a nice start, hopefully you'll keep working on this :) I'd make the jumping a little bit less "floaty", but it was enjoyable enough as is.

samlo says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Good job! Contrary to some other reviews you've gotten I actually quite liked the floaty player physics :) On the 2nd level though, its impossible to get the bottom left coin without dying.

Good job on your first game!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:44pm

I got stuck in the wall for a second or two when I shifted against it :D

Xaychru says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Nice game, though a bit short. Congrats on your first entry!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:24pm

It was a good game but it felt a little floaty.

karln says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Nice 'aha' moment after collecting the bottom left coin on level 3, when I discovered how I can reach higher by shifting from tall to short :)

drazil100 says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:26pm

Fun. I noticed that you didnt have any momentum when you let go of the button. Kinda felt a lil bit rigid. Had fun though!!.

csanyk says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:54am

The low gravity acceleration combined with the high horizontal top speed and acceleration made for some rather strange platforming physics.

I didn't find this game challenging at all. Level design made it such that the jumps weren't all that difficult, and the amount of shape shifting that I needed to do to get around obstacles was pretty minimal.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]