Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

TRANSFORMATION ACTIVATED

by lucia - Jam Entry

NOTE: Play in 1024 x 768 for best results.

TRANSFORMATION ACTIVATED is an unnecessarily convoluted platformer where you must program a robot!
Your robot can transform into several forms, which each help you in their own special way.

If you get stuck or confused (or just want a detailed explanation of the game mechanics), scroll down to the "i have no idea what i'm supposed to do this is confusing" section.

If you want to get through the game faster (or are just stuck), press "F1" to instantly jump to the next level.



"the game crashed!"
---
Restart the game, and press "F1" to skip all of the levels you have already completed.



"it lags for multiple seconds when i try to undo a command"
---
This can happen when you have a really long program (particularly so in the final rooms).

Unfortunately, your only real option is to press "R" to restart the level, which will clear your program.
Sorry about that.



"i'm stuck!"
---
Press "R" to restart the level (and wipe your current program).



"i can't beat this level!"
---
Press "F1" to skip it.



"i have no idea what i'm supposed to do this is confusing"
---
Sorry! I have a bad habit of using convoluted game mechanics that are usually too difficult for anyone to figure out. I'll try to help here.

Your goal in each room is to make your robot perform a chain of events that will allow your character to reach the exit.

Each room has two phases: the "Planning" phase (where you program the robot while time is stopped), and the "Level" phase (where you actually play the game).

In the "Planning" phase, you are queueing up a sequence of actions that the robot will perform the moment the "Level" phase begins (caused by you pressing the "Start level" button).
- Click any spot in the level and you will queue a "move" command on the robot.
- Click "Wait" to queue a "wait for half a second" command.
- Click one of the transform buttons (if you've progressed far enough to see them) to queue a "change into this form" command.
- Right click to undo the last command you made.
- Click "Preview" (if available) to see how enemies and projectiles in the level will act (very useful)

If the level contains enemies or projectiles, their movements will be simulated as you add commands to the program. This is useful for the later stages. However, it's not 100% accurate (it's buggy).

A description of each form:
- Basic: Normal form. Nothing special.
- Bouncy: Jumping on the robot will propel you very high. Can't move.
- Glow: Generates light in dark areas.
- Exterminate: Shoots bullets to the left and right simultaneously. Can't move.
- Shield: Absorbs enemy projectiles. Can't attach to the robot in this form.
- Comet: Immediately propels the robot forward a huge distance. Can't issue move orders.

You'll usually want to sequence "Wait" commands after a transformation so that you actually have time to respond to it (such as for jumping on top of the robot while in its "Bouncy" form).

Eventually, you can also press S or a mouse button during the Level phase to attach yourself to the robot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#111Innovation(Jam)3.75
#235Overall(Jam)3.59
#465Theme(Jam)3.44
#591Fun(Jam)3.06
#705Graphics(Jam)3.06
#723Mood(Jam)2.87
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

Sloof says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Very fun and interesting; the game does a good job of not feeling too repetitive, something very important for a puzzle platformer. This game is very well developed in gameplay and has satisfying retro visuals. The game would be greatly enhanced with at least some basic music and sounds; it would very much help captivate a player in the experience.

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:29am

Nice Game :)

mkghoster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Really interesting idea! I'd really like to see a full game of this! :)

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:40am

nice work

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:14pm

super game, you have a lot of ideas on how to use the robot ! work on the graphism and you will have a super dope game !!!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Not bad. Seems like all the keys are hard coded, so it just ignores what you put in the config. Having "R" completely delete your "program" was very annoying, and with no real gamepad support (it ignores most of it in the config, and the program part requires mouse usage), it made things really confusing, and sometimes you try to jump on the robot, but forget which key to use and hit "R", and have to start over... Kind of annoying. Otherwise, neat concept.

srakowski says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:40am

Great job, high marks on innovation :-)

Alphish says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:21pm

I like what you did here; the first part is just mundane platforming stuff, first robot levels were a bit boring, but then things got a lot more fun, with different modes and whatnot. Also, the command selection was actually pretty easy to use for me, I didn't have much issue grasping it. Two annoying things, though: undoing and restarting level (with the program in place) was taking too long with longer programs, and I didn't seem to find a way in the gameplay mode to do a soft-restart (i.e. keep the program); that is, a way other than running into obstacle or something. ^^'

I hope you can come up with a better algorithm to do undo/reset (in fact, for reset you could just keep the last simulation step in memory, not to re-calculate it again).

Overall, pretty cool game, even if the graphics could use some polish (and consistency; the clouds didn't quite fit to the pixel-arts, I think) and there could be some audio. ^^'

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]