Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Kitsune no Gēmu

by siege - Jam Entry

Kitsune no Gēmu is a game about a fox trying to get home. Along the way, the fox gains the ability to transform into other animals in order to aid its homeward quest.

---

We hit a few kinks along the way in development and art creation, so what we have here still feels very much like a prototype and still has some placeholder graphics. Still, I'm very happy with the platforming physics, and am proud of what my team managed to do.

Programming by Collin Johnson
Art by Dinah S.
Music by Matt Greene

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#403Audio(Jam)3.13
#608Theme(Jam)3.27
#784Fun(Jam)2.81
#936Overall(Jam)2.81
#997Graphics(Jam)2.38
#1027Innovation(Jam)2.31
#2061Coolness20%

Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05am

Pretty fun game. would like to see the movement speed of the fox a little slower. but over all good stuff.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00am

Yeah, fox moving too fast

Lullaby says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Laughed at the chicken! I clicked first at your entry as I also made a game named Kitsune :D Sorry to hear about your placeholder graphics :(
Well done!

KappaIX says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Nice atmosphere, nice mood and music!

Well done!

osthekake says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:51pm

I like the music. I found a place where I could go somewhere I wasn't supposed to go and then I fell off the world, and had to restart the game. :P

yuigoto says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Graphics-wise the game's reallt beautiful. The level's tileset is a bit simple and blocky, but it's ok, works like a charm. The characters'sprites are really nice! :) The fox specially.

Nice work on the soundtrack too, though the style, for me, kinda feels like it conflicts a bit with the the title. :P

Controls feel a bit too fast for the Fox, and the level design feels like more could've been done, but these are minor details, and don't take the fun of the game. ;P

Great work! :)

Chaserbrown says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:42pm

Good job! I found this game on rescue chicken, so you should be up to 17 votes now! The movement was WAY to fast, but besides that, good job!

May 9, 2016 @ 9:48pm

I love it.
The only complaints I have are the repetitive tiles and the length. Everything else is incredible. I love the music and some little details in the level design like forcing use of the chicken to escape from the hole you found it in are things I don't see much in Ludum Dare games. Great work.

Downloading the Post-Compo!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]