Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Word Warrior

by TheBreakfast - Jam Entry

MUST BE PLAYED IN FULL SCREEN!

Word Warrior is a Comedy JRPG made in Unity. Why not RPG Maker you ask? Because we're big ol’ dumb dumbs and decided to reinvent the wheel. But, as far as re-invented wheels go, our’s isn’t so bad for 3 days of work.

Instructions:
During battles, you can type in words to shapeshift into various things and attack the enemy.

You have a dictionary of about 225 nouns that you can transform into. Each word has a comedic result that gets displayed.

Try not to use proper nouns. Think of things and simple words like: “Town, Teacher, School, Man, Woman, Car, Truck, Party, Wolf”

The dictionary is taken primarily from the list of 2000 most common nouns, fantasy game tropes, and some fun words.

There are some fun words too. Try typing in your star sign, the names of the planets, the days of the week, or the last names of certain politicians.

If you’re stuck, here is the complete list of available words: http://tinyurl.com/gmdslvq


Try it first without reading from the list, and let us know if it was difficult finding words to use.

Art and Overworld/Cutscene code by: Marcio Miranda
Battle system & Menu code by: Jake Carewick

Music:
"Cyborg Ninja" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

"Overworld" Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#65Humor(Jam)3.80
#106Innovation(Jam)3.77
#180Theme(Jam)3.81
#431Overall(Jam)3.35
#436Mood(Jam)3.24
#488Graphics(Jam)3.42
#761Fun(Jam)2.84

Comments

norseware says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:09am

This was really fun! It is a different twist on the classic JRPG. It was frustrating though, trying to come up with nouns that worked. It made the battles go on forever. Sure, I could use Gorilla or Tiger over and over again, but it was oddly fun, trying to find new ones. You should add Dragon :P Anyways, overall, this is a really good game. I'm surprised no one has commented yet. Nice work :)

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:51am

You must've put a lot of work into this, well done.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:01am

Clever, could have educational value.

danieldsj says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:08am

Pretty good game. I like the graphics and the battle mechanic. Good work!

okoto says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:35am

good idea but the gameplay falls...

KairosXIII says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:48am

Love the idea, very clever take on a JRPG. Pixel art was great, good job.

deathray says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:15am

"Dragon" was the first one I tried too... then I resorted to the online document with the list. It seems well executed, but didn't hold my attention for too long.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:12am

the link has been 404d???

Titangea says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:22am

I like it, the use of the words is something really good executed, it was fun, I was trying to find new words but it is not easy, good job.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:31am

I found myself wanting to explore the world, but kept getting into battle.
I like the idea, but unfortunately it was too hard to find words that worked (I didn't look at the spreadsheet). I just kept using Wolf because it was stronger than any other words that worked for me. Only about 1 out of 10 words that I tried worked (really? no dragon?), so that made battle frustrating.

I think it's a cool concept though. Some things that would help:
- scope it to words that relate to things the player has encountered in the world. So that way the player has something to reference.
- crowdsource it :-). Have some server where people can upload words and descriptions. Maybe each unique player has x damage points to distribute among the words they submit.

Some of the sprite designs were very nice.

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:35pm

@Icefallgames - we had initially planned on croudsourcing the words. We wanted to grab words and definitions from a Google Spreadsheet, and collect them from a Google Form, but we decided against it for profanity/offensive reasons. We're working on some usability upgrades but we might not have them done before the end of the jam since we both work full time.

Thanks for the feedback though! We're discussing how we can continue with the idea, and those are some helpful suggestions (especially the bit about training the player by scoping our dictionary to words the player will encounter).

@everyone else: thanks for the feedback. Sorry about the lack of dragons :P

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Had great fun with it for the first few fights, but I think the amount of time between goes at shapeshifting just put me off in the end. Coming up with words was *really* fun, and the responses you get back are very funny - my first full-marks for humour on this one :D

SnedHlepPls says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Overall, I thought that this was a very interesting take on the theme, good job! One thing I will say though is that the battles took ages, I think the healths of everything could have been lowered to speed things up.

curtamyth says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:15am

Great idea, I really like this entry! 5/5 on graphics, there's some great pixel art going on here. Could use some balancing definitely, it's pretty easy. At no point did I feel I was in any danger even at the final bosses, especially after I discovered a word (the word?) that causes 100 pts of damage. Maybe there could be a limit on words like that, or maybe make it so you're only allowed to use a word once per battle. I would enjoy seeing this developed further, it's a unique and entertaining idea for a game. Great job!

Marc F. says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:27am

Neat game, cool mechanics, fun to play. Like the humor. Also, thanks for making the full list of words available - fights were sometimes rather slow when guessing many words that are not in the dictionary

gelisam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:16am

The intro dialogs disappear too soon, and the battle dialog stay visible too long. How about dismissing the dialogs with a button?

Do different shapes have different effects on different enemies? I felt like it was always the same text and the same amount of damage. except when we miss. I wish there were hints to find more words, my imagination is too limited!

TheBreakfast says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 4:39am

@Gelisam, there's a dictionary available for people having trouble. http://tinyurl.com/gmdslvq

Thanks for playing. I agree regarding the dialog boxes. We've gotten a positive response so far so we've decided to go forward with the game. This is one of the key changes we're making.

jordgubben says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Interesting concept. It would benefit from having even more words more words, but 2000 words is impressive for a 3 day jam.

(From what firebug tells you are not collecting input to add more words in future versions. It would have been interesting to see what players actually type. Or maybe I really do not want to know ^.-)

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Cool concept. A real twisted innovation to a rpg!

I tried to shapeshift in a sword or elephant but these words were missing from the dictionary. But i think it was quite fun "the learning process" of finding the words that actually made something.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]