Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Game Without Great Name

by matiz982 - Compo Entry

"Shape game without great name" is my second LD's game. I really like shoot'em ups / sidescrollers. Start: Saturday circa 14 GMT+1 Finish: Sunday 19 GMT+1.

Your destiny is survive in endless space.
Triangles destroy triangles
Circles destroy circles
Rectangles destroy rectangles

Change shape
Q - triangle
W - circle
E - rectangle
You move using mouse :)
Used:

Game Maker: Studio
BFXR - sfx
PISKEL - graphic
Bosca Ceoil

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#573Theme3.21
#610Audio1.96
#627Overall3.03
#649Fun2.86
#682Graphics2.62
#836Innovation2.39

Comments

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Interesting implementation of the theme, the game is fun, but the audio is a bit annoying. Keep it up!

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:38pm

That music though! I am a fan of the old-school sound FX. Great job. I loved the triple shot ability. Awesome!

mikeware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:43am

Wish the audio loop wasn't so short. It was also frustrating that the bullets destroyed each other, lots of times it felt like I was hitting an enemy but not destroying it (but it was probably that it just fired its own bullet).

A little bit more progression in terms of patterns and fixing the above I think would have made a big difference!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Loved the graphics style, but it got quite repetitive. More powerups and content (of course hard in limited time) would have made it better. Good work though!

knason says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:15pm

Fun, but hard, I liked the music. Good job on your entry! :)

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:15pm

I really like the star parallax in the background.
I'm not such a fan of the slightly discordant music, sorry, haha.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:32pm

The link leads to 404! :(

matiz982 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:28pm

@Hempuli Link should works normal :)

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:22pm

The music was quite annoying and disharmonic, but the game itself was fun!

in3orn says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Well done! The only irritating thing is that I cannot see my score after death.

aeveis says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:18am

nice idea! would have liked to see more progression in the gameplay, maybe layered shapes (have to kill first shape before second shape), or more shapes?

notime4games says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:54am

Hard! Would've preferred if q,w,e actually shot different shapes instead of just changing the auto-firing weapon :)
Good adaption to the theme though
And yeah music volume way too loud

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:21pm

Nice Game:)

davor10105 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:37pm

nice stuff man, loved it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]