Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShapeOff

by MisterMortal - Jam Entry

Made with Defold


CAUTION: It works best if you don't resize the game window!


1) Read wanted poster carefully. It will give you a clue of a bandit shape you will be fighting with.

2) Select your cowboy and remember: the closer your shape is to the bandit the better your chances of winning are!

3) Time your shot perfectly by clicking mouse button when the indicator is as close to the middle as possible.

4) Repeat and become richest bounty hunter manager in the west!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#264Humor(Jam)3.06
#362Graphics(Jam)3.66
#443Mood(Jam)3.23
#622Innovation(Jam)2.96
#718Fun(Jam)2.91
#791Overall(Jam)2.98
#960Theme(Jam)2.63

Comments

Falak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:31am

I don't undertand

meek says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Love it. Really like the sound and the presentation is fantastic. Was a little confused at first, but then it became easier to understand the more I played.

Good job!

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:48pm

I like the idea behind it. There is a nice mood.
However, once you read every sign, you loose the fun.

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Neat game, interesting idea and lovely design! Don't know whether a 0 bounty is intended or not, as I got that sometimes.

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:23am

Nice game!

xandy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:37am

nice concept. the graphics and sound make for a cool western themed mood. once you get the rules it is very fun but the hints/challenges are too few(understandably at a game jam). was a fun short game!

ps: seeing as you made your game in defold, providing more platforms(you just have to bundle them), especially html5 will give you more plays.

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:54am

I like art and concept. Thank for game!

hregrin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:56am

The game is nice but there is a problem with the reward system. Often the game will offer a reward that is lower than the price you have to pay for your cowboy. I also more than once had 0$ bounties, and no way to turn them down.

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:18am

great game

Lewwwer says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:23am

The shooting screen is really quick, I can't realize what's happening.

kostasvs says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:40am

Pretty fun to play, although you go through all the shapes too fast and the reward system is not balanced. Good job otherwise!

Drkr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:44am

I think it's a bit bugged, I kept getting bounties lower then the cowboy price but I kept winning so I had a debt higher than the USA. Apart from that though it was pretty fun and nice aesthetic.

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:02am

Kind of confused at to what the game is trying to be.

norseware says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:02am

It was unique and clever! Sometimes I'd pick the right shape, and click in the center, but I'd still die. That was frustrating, but making money was satisfying! The art and sound effects were clean too. Solid entry :)

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:20am

A nice game, however it gets repetitive pretty fast. Good job nevertheless :)

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:32am

Game has a very nice aesthetic design and the gameplay is easy to pick up. The randomness in the rewards led to some risk vs reward decisions where I could pick the incorrect shape for a higher payoff which I enjoyed. The audio you selected for the game also suited it perfectly.

themadknights says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:34am

Graphics are awesome

The M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:46am

Pretty fun game, at least until it starts getting repetitive. There doesn't seem to be a goal nor can you lose, which eventually makes you quit out of boredom.

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:48am

Great visuals, sound and general mood. An interesting mechanic too. I would have liked a much wider variety of clues (and more emphasis on using them to guess the right shape) but I really enjoyed playing. Thanks!

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:48am

Nice game :)

robb_blob says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:15am

A lot of games in this theme were made of shapes. But I felt like this one took this approach in a more original way. I love westerns in general and the mood was really well built. Loved the music and the sounds (death laugh more than anything).

apalade says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Interesting combination of mechanics and good presentation. A fun little game.

My only problem is that progression is meaningless. The better you do (and more money you make) the more expensive everything becomes. I would've added a goal to reach $10,000 or something and scaled the cost/reward differently.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:43pm

The game presentation is really nice, the gameplay is confusing at first but when you get it becames too easy in my opinion, good job anyway!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Was a bit confused on what actually happens

SeaDads says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:25pm

It took me a while to figure out what was going on, but figured it out eventually. Love the shape descriptions!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Folztarg says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:30pm

i love the design, but i'm pretty sure that i didn't get the idea of the game :(

Gyfis says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:24am

Overall, nice entry. I like the idea though the random engine could be a bit more thought through.

Jin47 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:55am

Very polished game. awesome music and fun gameplay. Good job!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:31am

Neat idea, could be worth porting it to mobile after some work.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:36pm

Funny little game!

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Great concept and graphics. But I don't see the point in the money earning or the "hiring" costs. They seem irrelevant.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:07pm

In dire need of better easing into the gameplay. Interesting idea though.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:36pm

real and simple game , must be good on a portanle device :) really love the graphics , i managed to kill many bad dude ^^

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]