Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Sleeping Kitty!

by DieBackStudios - Jam Entry

A game about cute little kittens sleeping :D cause why the hell not!!

My Best : 83! Post Your Scores :D

Really Thankful to Tilde <3 to help and inspire me :D
Developed by one man in span of 48 Hours(well 36 hours :P).

For #LD35
Theme : Shapeshifting


Love to hear from all of you all,
Come drop a hi!
Maybe Tweet your Score or type in the comments below!

Or send your screenshots :D
@DieBackStudios

Thanks :) If you are reading thus far haha XD
Enjoy :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#177Graphics(Jam)4.03
#290Humor(Jam)3.00
#352Audio(Jam)3.23
#415Overall(Jam)3.37
#459Theme(Jam)3.45
#485Mood(Jam)3.17
#591Fun(Jam)3.06
#606Innovation(Jam)2.97

Comments

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Could you provide a download link, or please dont use the Unity Webplayer, as many of us can't run the game, try the Unity HTML5 Exporter (I think it got added in 5.3/5.4beta)

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Excuse me I just to dumb to use the firefox browser, I am sorry. The game is fun, the music makes me sleepy, but the game is fun. I've got a score of 16, I guess I am not that great in this sort of games...

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:20pm

@WizzardMaker Thanks for trying it out through this tough road!

Pibeex says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Wow, that was hard! Cool game!

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:49pm

My best 83, almost beat ya!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

:D hahah almost :P Thanks for playing!

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:53pm

Game is very sweet..and hard. I like it a lot. Artstyle is read. I don't have any idea how to improve something like this. Well done.

homeworld says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Pretty difficult, nice music and artstyle. Great take on the shapeshifting theme.

mennchen22 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Nice Game , but rly hard. Better u start with colors only o r form only and then add colors etc

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Thanks for trying out everyone
@mennchen22 Yes i guess u r right i should inc the difficultly curve slowly, Thanks for the feedback!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Visuals and sound are really, really cute. The game itself feels and plays very polished. A couple of things.

- Maybe I'm just really bad, but I've had problems remembering the key mappings on my mind when I'm focused on spotting the shape first. Perhaps adding a small reminder of the keys on the game screen at the bottom could help.
- Please, add a "quick restart" button at the end! :D

All in all, this is a very solid entry. Congrats!! :)

Dastina says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:14pm

I like this game, it is spunky and cute. It definitely work well already, and is fun to play for short intervalls.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:17pm

Nice game! But some persistent hints about buttons for colors and shapes would be nice.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Thanks for your comments
@Ithildin :) yes great ideas, it really takes some time to get used to the keys Thanks for feedback! :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:34pm

This game is incredibly tough, and even slightly tougher for me since I'm very slightly colorblind- but, it's still a lot of fun and you can see that a lot of effort was put into it.

Mr MadCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:50pm

So cuuuuute!
But as a lot of other people mentioned the difficulty curve could be better. But it's a game jam, so it's ok in my opinion :)
Showing the symbols/colors in the same order as the keys during gameplay might help a lot.
And just to make it clear: sooooo cuuute! ;)

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:41pm

really nice looking games. i couldnt get into it because i am totally horrible at any keyboard coordination games. :/

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Nice entry, loved the cat animation !
Just think there's not really shapeshifting, but overall pretty good

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:28am

Thanks For the opinions and suggestions every1 i updated the game with instructions visible i game for some time to make it easier to get used to :D

fizzhog says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:02am

Like the graphics and sound. Liked the mechanic. Separately. Just didn't work together for me. Very hard. How about a hint about keys on screen that can be toggled off when player is comfortable to do so?

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Yes its a great idea! :) Thanks fizzhog

Remdiky says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Very fun game, and it's also very hardcore. But it is at the same time is great!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:51pm

I really liked the cute style, nice work!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Thanks every1 for the kind words :D

luquio says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:52am

I think i saw this game on a stream or a youtube video, and i just found it! Its 5star game! Cheers bro, would be amazing to see it ported to mobile

Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Cool game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/7kJFcods5hA

Sabina Lis says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:31am

I love the graphics and cats, green and blue made me get confused, maybe it would have been better to use more contrast in colors, nice game :)

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:26pm

In the beginning it was really hard, but after a while I could get 32 pts

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]