Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Ward 52: Bullet Hell

by Mithreindeir - Compo Entry

A bullet hell top down shooter about Ward 52, a genetic experiment ward of a prison. You can shapeshift into a bullet, and must escape and exact your revenge for their crimes against humanity. You die if they shoot you as a person, and you turn back human if they shoot you as a bullet or if you run into something. Kill all the guards and move on to the next level, (only two levels but they are very hard).

Controls:
WASD to move character, and mouse press to shapeshift, then mouse to direct bullet. Use space to make bullet go into turbo mode.

Hi my name is Mithreindeir.
I wish I was better at art, I think I could make this game look cool.
This is only my second Ludum Dare, and only my second openGL project. I screwed up and didn't add continuous collision detection, so I had to make the walls very thick, and you can still go threw them on lag spikes.



Sorry, I made my page on itch private by accident. Should be working now! Link is no longer broken

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#251Innovation3.48
#385Theme3.48
#442Audio2.75
#446Humor2.26
#515Graphics2.92
#537Fun3.00
#578Overall3.08
#630Mood2.67
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

Membrane says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:18am

The link to your game is broken :<

DRGY says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:19am

Windows link - 404 error

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

Haha. I do love the concept of this game. But I need to play it before rating. And the windows link seems broken.

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:20am

404, game not found

jdmazz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:23am

Shit. I'm excited to try this when you get the link up.

Mithreindeir says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:30am

Sorry, I made my page on itch private by accident. Should be working now!

Broken Matrix says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:46am

Couldn't get past the 3rd gaurd it is way too hard

greymouth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:47am

Awesome concept!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:49am

It is a pretty good game, I liked the graphics. Overall good but the AI could have used a little work. I liked the mechanic, turning into a bullet.

NPC23 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:56am

Really cool idea but man does it get brutal fast. If you're slightly off time with the guards firing rate you get killed almost instantly. Still it could be great with a little more.

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:07am

Very challenging game! Didn't use WASD much but flying around as a bullet was cool.

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:28am

Good game, I like everything about it. My only complaint is that it is a little too difficult.

Cerno_b says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09am

I see you were hoping for the "You are the weapon theme" ;)

Overall nice game, although a bit frustrating at times because it's too easy being hit in bullet form. Only made it to stage two once. I like the concept though.

TomaszHajas says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Very innovative. One of the better games I played here.

yokcos700 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:21pm

So it seems that when I die I get sent back to the start of the first level. No bueno.
The music's kind of meh, the gameplay's just kind of throw yourself at the guard and hope for the best. Seems like a solid idea but the time constraint really shot you in the foot for this one.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]