Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Panic in the Attic

by Tatos - Compo Entry

You are trapped in the attic of your aunt's old house. Suddenly a ghost of a girl who can shapeshift appears. You have to defeat her with your beloved flashlight before your aunt returns.

CONTROLS:
WASD = Movement
F = Flashlight

Hi! I'm @Tatos_, this is my first Ludum Dare game. It has been hard to work solo, but so much fun and instructive.

I hope you have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#169Humor3.06
#184Graphics3.67
#401Mood3.00
#416Theme3.44
#460Overall3.22
#466Innovation3.11
#536Audio2.44
#669Fun2.83
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

DavidErosa says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:25am

Nice and easy to play. Good theme interpretation and charming graphics. Congrats!

AlejoAC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:12pm

The graphics look cute even being only sketches.
It was quite easy to find the ghost every time as she entered in some kind of loop, hiding always in the same spots as the same object, so I just memorized that.
This could be a great memory game if each try to catch the ghost had a higher cost.

morrilet says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:18pm

It was pretty easy once I found the ghost the for the first time, but it was pleasant nonetheless. Good use of the theme.

Funske says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:19pm

I like your use of the theme, and the game was fun to play. It took me a little to get the hang of it, but it was fun after I did.

JJJANEE says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:20pm

The graphic is super cute! The sound too lol. I really like this concept.

duskpn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Nice game! I liked the sketch graphics.

My only complaint is that it depends a bit too much on how lucky you are when searching for the ghost for the first time, but that's just a minor problem.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:24am

This was fun. A bit easy, but interesting.

suppi says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:21pm

I liked the art :) it was very nice. the idea is also very nice. i think a little bit more clues to what i'm looking for would've been good to have.

nice entry. good job!

madk says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Ha, it's kind of like my entry except not rated R. I like it but I may be biased

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]