Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SPY

by vados - Compo Entry

SPY is a stealth game. You can copy guardians appearance with clicking on him.
You need to get to the blue cube in one of the rooms. Rooms are separated with gates, which will be open, only if you copied appearance of the guardian, which number matches with the number near the gate.
You need to get to the cube and not to be caught!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#241Fun3.45
#259Overall3.45
#332Innovation3.34
#346Mood3.08
#452Theme3.38
#555Humor1.95
#725Graphics2.53

Comments

EthanBierlein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:02am

This was pretty challenging. I always like a nice classic spy game. Nice job!

bodsey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:24am

Nice ! I like the stealth idea in the core gameplay mixed with the shapeshift idea !

Wevel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:57am

Quite challenging, it seems difficult not to get caught

Noro says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18pm

It was short and challenging, a good game, to bad it ended so quickly.

plko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Well try. It's too difficult but challenging, and idea is so classical, I love it!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Cool concept; very challenging. Everything seemed a little... shaky(?), which was a little strange. The text sometimes changed to strange characters, was that intentional?

CraftedPixel says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:48am

That was amazing!

in3orn says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Nice game. I like the most that not all guards have fixed routes :)

rjhelms says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Oh man, this game is tough.

Really nice core concept here. Good job.

I didn't hear any sound when I played - is there supposed to be any? If not, you may want to disable the "audio" category for the entry.

Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Really fun to play, challenging but not in a frustrating way and good use of theme.

Marc F. says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:21pm

I like it. Cool idea, the stealth goes hand in hand with the theme. Could use some neat graphics and background music/sfx

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Guards are crazy relentless, but humorously incapable of opening their own numbered doors. It was only after I got #3 stuck behind its own door that I could figure out that it'll track me until I change to a different number. I was hoping there was a different way to lose a guard's attention (get far enough away, hide in another room).

The cycling of the text between readable and garbled was almost a good touch, except that I think it should have remained garbled for a far shorter interval. Having to wait a few seconds in order to continue reading the instructions felt like an unnecessary nuisance.

Once I got a number of rooms in but got caught, I didn't feel like restarting and "suffering" through the same challenges again. But that probably says more about the type of player I am. Would have welcomed checkpoints or some other system of saving progress.

ElliotFiske says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Fun simple stealth game! Beat it on the second try, after learning a bit more about how the enemies moved. I'm a little confused as to when enemies are suspicious of you - it seems like once you copy FROM them they're supposed to follow you, but then sometimes they did anyways.

I loved the level design - having it be super easy to go down the corridor then really hard on the way back was clever.

Great job!

Nexus64 says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:57pm

Interesting concept.
Sometimes the guards saw me even when I wasn't its number.

zookatron says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:20pm

Cool game! The shifting text at the beginning was annoying though. Made it way too hard to read the instructions. The gameplay was pretty smooth and easy to pick up, but quite challenging overall.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:29am

Really cool!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:03am

I'm not really sure about this game. First, instructions are REALLY hard to read because of the txt effect that changes the letters, I don't think that is necesary at all, at least not the way it's done. Second, one of the rules do not work when you start the game. You are a 0 and the 1 can see you, that was really frustrating and confusing. After I could sort all those issues, I could kind of play this and enjoyed it a little more.

lanestp says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:33am

Quite a nicely put together game. Pretty tricky but not impossible. Nice job!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:19am

Neat little stealth game. Definitely could use a warmup level to get the hang of things, but after I had died a few times it was pretty cool. Nice job.

terryg says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:04am

Fun game. I would have really liked to see an ending. Kept me pretty engaged. However, did not like the opening instruction scramble thing. Otherwise good job!

alsantour says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:48am

nicely done altogether, took a little while to get a hang of the concept, but i wish there was another couple of levels!!

phoenix1987 says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Fun challenging game. The text changing to l33t speak was cool although when trying to read the instructions it changed a too little quickly. Other than that great job overall

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]