Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Spaghetti Slayer

by Cole and Jordan Studios - Jam Entry

Spaghetti Slayer is Cole and Jordan Studios' first successful Ludum Dare project and we are proud to present it to you in all it's quirkiness!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Humor(Jam)3.75
#338Theme(Jam)3.60
#564Fun(Jam)3.10
#575Innovation(Jam)3.00
#584Overall(Jam)3.20
#657Mood(Jam)2.95
#942Graphics(Jam)2.55
#1536Coolness40%

Comments

Ironhead says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:42pm

I enjoyed romping the mountains on my segway, jumping the cliffs on my pogo stick, and smoting spaghetti ruin apon the mountainside. 7/10 would smote spaghetti ruin again. haha!

Only had 1 issue where i fell through the map and landed at the very bottom and had to restart the game.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:19am

You know what, it was kinda dumb, but I actually had fun... probably because if you mash space up any ramp it sends you careening into the hemisphere and it was just fun to mess with but fun is fun.

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:25am

Made me laugh. :) The shapeshifting link was a little tenuous, but the game was fun. Good job!

fenwick says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:33am

Really fun, "quirky" is definitely the right word lol. Good work, it was fun to play.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:28am

I like the fork and knife!

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:23am

Funny visualization of different mechanics, I had fun for a bit, switching shapes was kinda tedious though.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:23am

Nicely put together! Especially the camera tracking. I did fall through the map at one point though.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:11am

I had fun playing this game. I liked that the controls were told right in the gameplay, it was easy to learn and fun to mess around with. Nicely done.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:21am

I had a good laugh while playing this. Excellent interpretation of the theme! Graphics were definitely interesting, I would have liked to see even more spaghetti! There were some minor glitches causing me to fall through walls/floors. I would have liked to see some sort of spaghetti eaten stat too! Overall very interesting, keep up the good work!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:35am

Nice concept, although I couldn't figure out how to get past the first pit inside the cave. Checkpoints would be helpful.

MayMakeGame says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:56pm

Cool game. I like how you have to shape shift to progress. The giant spaghetti boss is shweet. X3

spiffl says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:01am

What a cute game! I really enjoyed the music, though I guess you didn't make it since it's not a rating category. I also liked the weird camera movements (they kinda got in the way of seeing things for gameplay reasons, but the game wasn't very hard and it looked cool so it's okay), and the aesthetic in general is very funny. Great job on your first dare, fellas :)

Alphish says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:28pm

Huh, another platformer that involves changing shapes. Given the general tendency, I find that hardly innovative. Still, the execution is rather decent, and the gameplay is rather quirky in a fun way, too. It doesn't really require the player to think creatively, though - if you have a spaghetti, you know you need to bring the eater, and if you have a high ledge, you know you need to use pogo. ^^'

Still, gotta give a few points for humor, all that spaghetti has some charm...

jk5000 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:31pm

A really weird idea, and a game fun to play.

mkghoster says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 5:31pm

What an idea for shapeshifting to eat spaghetti! :D How much did you smoke while making the game? :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]