Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

From crush to slash!

by Raphi - Jam Entry

This game is made by me (as prog) and Pymiro (as pixel artist). It's our second ludum together.
The game is a 2D plateformer
Move with A/Q and D
Jump with space bar
Spin around yourself with the mouse buttons

With your first form you can crush the ennemies
With your second form you can pierce the ennemies
With your third form you can slash the ennemies

(The music doesn't work, I don't know why)

Enjoy and please comment, to improve ourselves :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#461Fun(Jam)3.23
#545Graphics(Jam)3.32
#551Humor(Jam)2.42
#647Mood(Jam)2.96
#751Overall(Jam)3.00
#925Theme(Jam)2.72
#949Innovation(Jam)2.48

Comments

Mossi says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Very cool game, although it was difficult to see when when u were hitting, so many an indicator for that would be nice :)

ChatPion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:00pm

I don't know why Mad World keeps on playing. Apart from that, not bad.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Cool Game nice Graphics, The upper enemys get stuck in the platforms and if you die the blood effect is in the left upper corner.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Great graphics and I like the dynamics of the game, good job.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:00pm

Fun game! I really enjoyed the feel and the splash effects when killing slimes. One complaint is that the AI felt way to dumb at points and. Good job guys! Great art by the way!

iossif says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:03pm

the music worked for me. it just started 20 seconds or so into the game - and sounded great :)

dvdagames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:18pm

The AI seemed to have two states, impossible to get away from or stupid enough to keep spawning and jumping up into my crushing or piercing attack The final form honestly felt a little over powered, but it took so many kills to get to it, that I guess it balances out. It would be pretty interesting if there were different enemies who only got hurt by certain attacks and you could freely swap between the forms.

The last boss was a bit easy once you figured out how to kite him away and then crush and pierce slimes until you had the slashing weapon.

Overall it was a fun, challenging little game even when the AI was easy to cheese.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Very fuuuuun ;) (Good music!)

ziege says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:27pm

+1 for boss fight

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]