Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Wild Run

by Skaz - Compo Entry

[EDIT] I finished the post compo version! It's available on GameJolt:
http://gamejolt.com/games/wild-run/144065

Master the art of animal shape-shifting!

WILD RUN is an auto runner in which you have to change forms to pass obstacles and collect all the shards. Control the heavy bear, capable of destroying wood obstacles, the swift hare, exceptional jumper and small enough to fit in small holes, or the crow, and fly!

Keyboard controls : left, up and right arrows to change form. Space to jump/fly. R to restart the level, backspace to return to the menu.

Gamepad : X / Y / B to change form, A to jump. Start to restart level, select to go back to the menu.

Escape to quit.

The last level in unfinished and really hard. Really. Kudos to anyone who can finish it with any percentage of completion!

Hope you'll enjoy it! It was fun to make.

Sadly, no sound this year, It'll be part of the post compo version.


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Graphics4.46
#97Theme3.96
#180Mood3.39
#182Overall3.58
#204Fun3.50
#452Humor2.24
#643Innovation2.83
#1294Coolness46%

Comments

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17am

Love the art style´╝ü

Rico says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Great job. Really good looking animations and great level design.

Skaz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Thank you very much!

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:18pm

Maybe there's some great gameplay here but due to extreme performance issues i maybe had at max 20fps. I loved the graphics though. And it looks promising.

Skaz says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:21pm

May I ask you what kind of system you run the game on? I'm curious, as my own computer is fairly outdated, I'd like to know if it's due to your CPU, or another factor. Game maker has the problem of running games in a single loop, logic and graphics, so if I were to go bellow 60fps it would be for everybody :(

Thanks in advance!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:56pm

wouldn't start from title screen so I ran it from game maker with the source file.

Nice looking game, I'm surprised no one else has come up with this concept since in LD34 I saw SOOOO many endless runners. I was glad this was not procedurally/semi-randomly generated and that you took the time to craft levels for the forms.

Nice work!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:06am

Took me a bit to realise you had to click on the pillars to start a level. Think maybe if they glowed or lit up then it might make it clearer they need to be clicked to begin. Fun game though and liked the different animal forms you could take. Got upto the last level but as you mentioned it's really hard. I couldn't get past the rapid change between the bear and hare. Great use of the theme.

Skaz says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:25pm

I think the obscure interface isn't great, I've been working on a post compo version of the game since the end of the LD and I've addressed the issue with a roll-over glow. Seeing people live getting trouble understanding you have to click on them was an eye opener.

Last level was made more friendly and finished. I added a new final level, and it's still hard. The game is probably to hard overall, but I'm willing to call it completed. Just need some background arts and sounds, and the final version will be completed! Lots of tweak were made, the game is more fair now, hitting a wall is not immediate game over, and you have to press R to restart a room, no overwhelming spiral of instant death when you begin. I'll post a link to the final version for those interested in seeing the evolution.

I will have time to play and rates games now!

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Awesome graphics. Good gameplay too.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Nice presentable game.Great graphics nice character swapping in the game.

LeoM says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Nice job.
The difficulty of the last level beat me ! :s

Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:08pm

AMAZING GRAPHICS AND AESTHETICS. I COMMEND THEE

Skaz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Ahah thanks guys. The finished version on Game Jolt is WAY easier and well balanced. This version is NUTS in difficulty.
Graphics are probably 30% of the jam's time.

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:48pm

The game is gorgeous, to bad there's is no music =/
The level design is well done, we learn about each shape then about when to switch and then we're on our own. The only drawback is that the first bird level has some really hard and frustrating parts. Also the fact that the bird dies when touching the ground or ceiling feels a bit frustrating and artificial.
Excellent job anyway !

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 7:02am

wonderfull art style !!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]