Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Vaultshifter

by ohmaigawd - Jam Entry

Welcome to The Vaultshifter!

The evil TrustBank™ stole our heroines most valuable possession - a giant blue diamond and now she is determined to get it back. You control a young witch who has a powerful ability - she can shapeshift into various objects and people she encounters during her journey.

Help her use her powers to break into the bank and take revenge on TrustBank™!

The game has multiple different ways to break in.
Can you find them all?


*********************************************************************
CONTROLS:

WASD - move around
LMB - click on buttons

*********************************************************************
TEAM:

Design: Maja Vavpotič (@VavpoticMaja)
Development: Tilen Pogačnik (@tilenpogacnik)

*********************************************************************
BUGS:

FIXED:(Some of the trees are not displaying correctly. Will fix that after some sleep)


*********************************************************************

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#125Theme(Jam)3.94
#290Humor(Jam)3.00
#402Innovation(Jam)3.23
#403Fun(Jam)3.29
#404Mood(Jam)3.27
#410Graphics(Jam)3.57
#415Overall(Jam)3.37
#478Audio(Jam)2.98

Comments

ajayajayaj says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Awesome. I think I found the easy way to win, I was about to go to the forest, then I realised I already have everything I needed. will play some more. Awesome!

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:40pm

This is a pretty neat little point and click game. I really liked the art style a lot and found the interactions to be pretty cool overall. Good job!

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:51pm

This is very nice - like the look of it a lot, fits the theme well, and it's a nice relaxing little game to play through - good job!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Hey good job Maja and Tilen, it's a near perfect little game, I can't believe it, multiples ways to finish it is a plus, the game is very very cool !

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Nice work on the art!
Sounds would have made this one much more enjoyable, I suppose :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Very cute. Fun as well. I wish I was a bit quicker, though.

medidog says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17pm

I really loved the idea of inventory being our shapeshifting options :) The game ended abruptly for me when I was able to steal the diamond early on, but overall, really cute and fun game!

Alphish says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:20pm

It's some little yet neat game. I particularly like how you are able to reach the goal in multiple ways. Various characters and little bits of humour are nice, too (I liked the kid with "Day 50 - still without nose" or something similar).

One funny thing about it is how in order to present people with some items you *become* these items. That sure is some unorthodox way of using tools, but I guess it's hard to go wrong with? ^^'

If there's something I'd change, that'd definitely be movement speed. The game isn't really big, yet I felt it was unnecessarily longer due to slow walking. ^^'

studdert249 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:54pm

nice little point and click game, I enjoyed the art style a lot

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:07am

Very cute little game

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:59am

Cool interactive game. Its fun playing around the forests. Nice assets. !!

AAGH Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:36pm

very fun game , nice work on the concept and the theme . over all very good entry

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:51pm

Nice game, I really like the art of this game, but the control could be better. Great job anyway. It's a nice adventure.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Really nice game overall. I like all the freedom to reach the same goal.

Pusty says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Quite good! Love the dialogs! Graphics are really good as well!

Goutye says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Pretty good! I stole the diamond with success, so well done! Easy to understand! Multiple ways to ended this!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Nice job with this, the graphics were refreshing. my only con is that the save buttons could have been placed in front or above the player so you can access them better. like when you had to drop and item to pick one up, i had to walk away to drop it then walk back so i was able to pick up the new one. other then that, this was pretty fun. :D

APantaloni says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Very nice point and click adventure. Not hard but funny and enjoyable. Love the graphical style. Congrats!

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 1:32am

Relaxing visual art and sound. Maybe could have faster movement. :)

ethankennerly says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:02pm

When I saw the iconic trees and transformed into one, I felt enchanted.

superfreak says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:16am

Really loved the artstyle and humour in the puzzles - great effort for LD and incredibly brave to implement so many different approaches to the puzzle. Well done.

I made a video review here: https://youtu.be/cRvQT10tojI and a wordy-review here: http://ld35reviews.taracopplestone.co.uk/2016/04/25/17/

ciaodavinci says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:01am

It was fun to be a tree. I was disappointed I couldn't use the chainsaw on the tree to get across the roof gap. Still found my way in because of the dead guy. That was surprising.

axoona says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:57pm

nice little adventure game, good job!

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 12:04pm

Awesome work. I like the art style and how you managed to create a sweet convincing 3Dish perspective with the angle and camera view. :)

schw3de says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Gj there!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]