Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Space Shifter

by Spiria - Jam Entry

Get ready for space critter mayhem. Duel with space creatures in an arena filled with black holes, repulsion stars, space debris and eerie space music. Collect orbs to shapeshift into your enemies and take them out. All art and sound assets are original and were created by the team during the game jam except for free skyboxes that were downloaded from the Unity Asset Store.

Note: touch controls are not available

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#457Graphics(Jam)3.48
#539Audio(Jam)2.84
#570Humor(Jam)2.39
#723Overall(Jam)3.04
#776Theme(Jam)3.00
#791Mood(Jam)2.76
#931Innovation(Jam)2.52
#935Fun(Jam)2.60
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

zzapp says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:02am

A interesting game with some amusing enemies. The graphics and sound effects were pretty good.
The movement was very confusing at first but I did get the hang of it in the end.

JNI says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:29pm

The graphics are really nice. But I needed some time to control the game.Anyway, good job!

Freank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Spiria says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:18pm

@Freank
Yes we can, and will.

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:56am

Good tridimensional objects as background. I liked the ambient music and the visual art inserted.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:45am

It felt like bumper cars in space, with missiles and shape shifting haha and I dont mean that in a bad way! it was fun, well put together, and the artwork was great. Great atmoshere too. (Atmosphere, get it haha!).(Sorry, that was lame). Anyways, great job!

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:40am

Spacetopus. That is all

Yakka says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:48pm

I had some difficulties to kill the different enemies, but I really loved how the arena is a kind of space flipper.

joemid says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Love the art style! The controls and concept took awhile for me to get a hang of- Love that you can send bullets around the blackholes!

Arvydas says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:10am

Pretty fun game to play! The controls were a bit difficult, but not too hard after awhile. The sound effects could use some work. Love the visuals! The flying sharks are the best

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:42pm

The defining things here were the graphics and the names/types of enemies - Spacetopus?!

The controls and ways of damaging enemies were not obvious, and I mostly seemed to die over and over again. Still, slingshotting around black holes is pretty cool, and the graphics reminded me of Super Mario Galaxy somewhat.

You might want to make the controls and gameplay a little more obvious in a post-jam release, should you decide to expand on it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]