Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Need for Shift

by aemiliu5 - Jam Entry

Make your way through numerous obstacles by means of jumping, altering gravity and breaking stuff along the way! Each obstacle requires you to transform into a different shape which has its own unique ability. The circle can jump, the square can alter gravity and the triangle can break specific obstacles.

Can you make it to the end?

Controls:
[Tab] / [Shift]: Shapeshift (Tab: previous shape/Shift: next shape)
[Space]: Jump/Reverse Gravity
---
[Esc]: Main Menu
[R]: Reset Game (after a loss)
[P]: Pause

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#222Fun(Jam)3.51
#291Theme(Jam)3.66
#360Audio(Jam)3.21
#560Overall(Jam)3.23
#579Mood(Jam)3.06
#616Humor(Jam)2.29
#642Innovation(Jam)2.94
#967Graphics(Jam)2.49

Comments

RoboOggy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:55am

very good man, i really enjoyed it. one thing, it would have been a bit better for us to be able to skip the tutorial, but other than that. the game worked very well! keep it up man :)

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:57am

Wow, really challeging!

JOK says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:47am

Very cool with the layered music, really nice touch! Good take on the theme as well!

I think the controls to change shape was a little confusing, perhaps a button per shape (1, 2, 3) would feel better! But overall I enjoyed it very much!

ccglp says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:14am

Great music and very challenging, with a little more work can be a full game, Congratulations! (Music is really cool)

Marc F. says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Sweet, like the concept and how you incorporated the theme. Neat music, too

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Really cool game! I loved how the music stars slow and gets faster. Good work!

ocarson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Yeah cool game, I like how everything is using the same control set up and the context changes.

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:12pm

Wow, this is hard!

I recommend changing the keys for shape shifting to something more logical, maybe Arrow Key left and right, and 1,2,3.

Goutye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Realllly nice audio! Keeping going further. The controls are a bit confusing and 1 2 3 would have been really better! But I was getting better try after try and reached the second checkpoint. Will definitely keep playing it until I beat it!

marod says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:19am

Very nice game! I enjoyed it a lot

Pomb says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:43am

Challenging but rad, nice one!

Pontifex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:27pm

I don't really like the music, but gameplay is indeed fun and challenging.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:45pm

love the building music!
it very difficult and even more so since you have to play tough the tutorial every time.
the explosion when you die doesn't really fit the ascetics xD but I loved it nonetheless:)

Venneque says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Very good game ! I could not leave game without hear all music :), nice challenging and nice idea to change gravity and destroy obstacle.

geekdrums says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 9:41am

Fun mechanic and great match with music and game! Good job.

Sadly I couldn't go over 25%...

Drury says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:33pm

It'd be more fun if you could shapeshift with 1,2,3 keys or at least left and right arrow, also my crappy laptop prefers Fastest graphics, this game didn't need all those shader routines running I don't think. It got real laggy real fast.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]