Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Flying Carplane

by ZpeedTube - Compo Entry

So this is what I ended up creating.
A game where you drive to ramp and use the shapeshift to fly/glide as far as you can.

WASD or Arrow keys to steer the car and Mouse+Forward when flying.
Space > Shapeshift.
Left Ctrl > Break.
R > Restart.
Esc > close game.

*Or modify the keys in Unity Lancher*

#web #windows #linux #osx

I have not tested theLinux version so I can't guarantee it works.
Acording those who have tested it it works on Mint but not on Ubuntu.

20.04.2016 Added WEB build and & OSX builds of the game.
Also added a updated version whit online highscores if anyone want to try it.


My best is: 150m

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#525Innovation3.02
#585Theme3.19
#603Fun2.93
#730Mood2.41
#802Overall2.77

Comments

Tater_hater says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:38am

Thanks for letting us play your game! - huntinator7 stream

qikcik says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:35am

Good Game :D

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:36am

Thanx you made my game :D

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:02am

Ubuntu 15.10 user here. First I had to "sudo apt-get install libgtk2.0-0:i386", then "sudo apt-get install lib32stdc++6". Together with chmod +x on the executable it started. However when I pressed play it crashed with the notification "Aborted (core dumped)". I guess the linux version still needs some work :s

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:03am

Oh... =/
Well thnx for letting me know!! :)

Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:39am

A bit too simple for my tastes. And the physics is a little weird. ;)

Souperstrawer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:44am

Transformation animation looks cool. Other than that, it didn't really feel like I had much control over the distance. I wish it had more content to it.

luquio says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11am

Fun physics!

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:19am

Thnx for the feedback! :)

batmanasb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Nice game, a bit simple but making 3D games in 48 hours does that :P

PS:
Linux version worked for me on Mint without any extra work. But yeah, Unity's Linux Exporter isn't that great. But either way, thanks for adding a Linux build!

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:38am

Yeah, had bigger plans but 48 hours goes fast :P
No problem, glad it worked for you! :)

JOK says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:30pm

Fun idea, easy to run over and over to get just get a little bit further. Would be cool when flying to be able to boost the time in the are somehow, maybe by hitting gates or similar, to get even further and have a goal while in air!

zugende says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Dude, the graphics are shitty, but the idea is awesome! I played it for about 10min and coulnt stop. Keep on working on that! I can imagine playing this on my phone on my way to work.

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:47pm

Thanx, I will defenetly continue development on this!
Yeah had to spend so mutch time on game mechanics so I had no time for graphics.
And thnx for the suggestions!

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Interesting little game.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Got to 184m by backing up to the beginning of the area and speeding up as much as possible. Also gained 98kmh falling off the track :)
Very simple but hopefully a good exercise.

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:26am

You figured out the kind of cheaty way, but not totally cheating :P :D

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:01am

Really fun minigame :)

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:21am

I played this game a few times - very nice! I kept trying to break things, haha!

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:45am

Thnx! Haha! :D

Arvydas says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:03am

Fun physics game, though if you go off course, it's pretty hard to get back on track lol.

alsantour says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:13pm

cool concept and take on shape shift theme, but too little "gameplay"/levels ... if it had more ramps/obstacles or different ramps that make the user need to change shape...

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Yeah the orignal idea was very diffrent from what I had time to accomplish... But in my new updates I have added a little more content! :)

Krammetje says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:35pm

I think this game could be fun, but there's just to little gameplay in my opinion (which is understandable for a jam).

homeworld says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Well done, i really like the transformer idea, especially in some sort of destruction derby scenario! I'm sure something like an obstacle course would work too, though!

Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Nice little idea, I enjoyed it :)

rjhelms says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:28pm

Good fun. I was able to get to 140m, which I think is pretty decent if your best is 150.

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:44am

That was fun! I love the feeling of flying!

whilefun says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:12am

This is really fun! I got 103m :D I found the camera movement a bit rigid, perhaps some Lerping would help soften it a bit. Nice work!

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Hey, another carplane with the plane part not having an engine, sounds familiar :D

We should invent a secret handshake or something!

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Yeah, haha, saw your game eariler and was like "WOW, you have a very simular idea to me!" :D

ciaodavinci says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 1:23am

wow I actually had a lot of fun with this game. I was trying to go max speed with the car and then I hit one of those blue cubes and was sent into a mad roll - was great.

May 1, 2016 @ 9:46am

Mouse control seems to be inverted? I kept randomly dying even though I was car-shaped well before I hit the ground, and I didn't hit it very hard.

ZpeedTube says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:02am

Haha, greate @ciaodavinci! Im happy you like it! :D
@Frozen Fractal, I guess it depens on how you want it to be controlled. I guess I should add a option to not invert it in future update! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]