Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

glitchfixer

by Evgenii Petrov - Compo Entry

:.::.:::.:.::::.:::::::.:.::::.:.....:.::.::::.::.:::.:.::::.:::::::.:.::::.:.....:.::.::

.FROM 010 CYBERDIMENSION

.URGENT

WE ARE UNDER INVASION OF EVER-CHANGING 0CONSTANTLY-SHIFTING GLITCHES​

FIX THEM

ONLY MANUAL MODE AVAILABLE

.END

:.....:.::.:::​::.:.::.:::.:.::::.:::::::.::::​.::::.:.::.:::.:.::::.:::::::.:.::::.:.....:

- ​click on glitches to fix them
- fix all glitches to win
- game field is a surface of torus (top connected to bottom, left connected to right)
- glitches can and will re-glitch fixed tiles adjacent to them
- fixed tiles can sometimes fix glitches adjacent to them
- the more fixed tiles you have, the more energy you need to fix glitches
- energy is generated over time by fixed tiles

I'm using VT323 font licensed via SIF OFL.​

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#389Innovation3.22
#401Mood3.00
#752Overall2.85
#784Theme2.78
#829Fun2.52

Comments

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:04am

Needed 1:08 in the first try, now I can't get below 2 minutes anymore. Already fixed tiles seem to constantly reglitch even when they have only one or even no adjacent glitched tiles. D:

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:38am

I won in 57 seconds.

Your subject is relevant to the interests of everyone here ;)

Simple game, well executed! Good entry.

Saladon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:41am

Fun once you get to understand it properly but took me a while to understand it. Good game though. Fun to play.

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:52pm

Did it in 1:37 :) Didn't understand the mechanics at first though. Was there an energy bar or counter that I missed? I was just randomly clicking through the map :D Overall, it was quite enjoyable.

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Bit of a challenge but a fun idea for a puzzle game. Bit difficult to win.

Jimbly says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Was much less frustrating once I realized there was a energy meter off the bottom of the screen =). I felt like there was very little strategy or interesting choices to be made, but the game was at least well put together =).

lanestp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Fun game. Tough though, I like the feel of the whole thing kind of like an Apple II game I played as a kid.

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:12pm

I like the premise. Energy didn't seem to do much, and there didn't seem to be much strategy for where to click.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:53am

1:56 for the first try. Interesting little game, nice work :)

ianh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Cool concept! The torus layout might be easier to understand if you replicated the game field.

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]