Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Phat Fishes

by tentacode - Jam Entry

Phat Fishes is a game about fishes that are phat. It's in their genes (find more about Tetraodontidae in Wikipedia).

tl;dr
#################
It"s a couch multiplayer arena game up to 4 fishes. Just push the other fishes into dangerous stuff (the crabs, the mines and the deadly jellyfish) while avoiding the dangerous stuff yourself.

Controls
#################
Arrows to move your fish, action button to toggle bigger / smaller size. Bigger mean you can bounce other fishes a lot, it's also very slow but can be handy to slowdown / play defensive.

Player 1 : a/q, s, d, z/w, action : e
Player 2 : left, right, up, down arrows, action : right alt key
Player 3 : j, k, l, i, action : o
Player 4 : f, g, h, t, action : y
Pause : escape / tab

Default input can be remapped but the helper text in game will NOT be updated accordingly.

Gameplay
#################
Each player has three hearts, last player alive wins duh.

Scenario
#################
Four fishes from an underwater suburb fight for approval, only to find that in the end, only friendship prevails. THE END. MICHAEL BAY EXPLOSIONS.

Settings
#################
You can change the player names in the options, as well as toggle the music on / off. You can pause the game by pressing escape or tab.

About the theme
#################
Well, fishes can change their shape, but more importantly PHAT FISHES IS AN ANAGRAM FOR SHAPESHIFT!!!

Post mortem
#################
I was aiming for the compo so I did everything myself and by the compo rules but I was out of time so I'm submitting in the jam instead. Sources are availables on GitHub.

EDIT 1 : added windows build and updated the link to the mac build that was not public *facepalm*
EDIT 2 : added webgl specific build!
EDIT 3 : fixed wrong input on qwerty keyboard

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#83Humor(Jam)3.69
#199Fun(Jam)3.54
#301Audio(Jam)3.33
#370Graphics(Jam)3.63
#419Mood(Jam)3.26
#424Overall(Jam)3.36
#525Innovation(Jam)3.07
#925Theme(Jam)2.72

Comments

ragnarolis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Nice game. I couldn't quite figure out what I was supposed to do. Loved the graphics though

Leon Möhring says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:52pm

the controls didnt really work with my keyboard layout, but nice to see a small local multiplayer game and the endscreen is very funny (:

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56pm

thanks for your feedbacks :)

ragnarolis: just play with a friend or too and try to stay last alive, bounce them into ennemies (the jelly fish, the crabs and the mines)

leon: with the Mac / Windows build you should be able to customize inputs in the settings window that open before the game!

have fun :)

Dasginger says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18pm

In the web build, W seems to move fish 1 down rather than up? I played 3 player with my brother and ganged up on fish one anyway. Hilarious game, really good job!

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Thanks Dasginger, I'll look into it :) I did not test extensively on qwerty, I have an azerty myself :)

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:06pm

You were absolutely right Dasginger :o *facepalm*

I updated the WebGL build, I'll rebuild mac and windows later.

ployer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:09pm

nice game, great art. well done

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Really phat!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:13pm

Cute graphics!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Pretty good, though I didn't have anyone around to play against, though it looks like it would be a lot of fun. Even enjoyed just avoiding stuff on my own. Solid graphics and a good amount of polish.

TomPugh1112 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Reminded me of starwharl, it's the type of game you'd have fun playing on the sofa with friends

teamross says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:22pm

wow! This is so funny! I've spent like 15 games playing with my boyfriend and we want more! Good job! Keep going!

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:28pm

aha thanks all, that's exactly what I had in mind, means a lot :D

psychonull says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Audio and Graphics are awesome!, I don't have here someone to play with right now but I did try it out using both hands, the "winner - turn down for what" is so funny haha. I cannot see the theme though

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:32pm

Omg, I simply love this game! I love this pixel art style! Plus those thug life endings are just hilarious and really get the two players in the mood for another round!
Those Phat Fishes are getting five stars!

tentacode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:33pm

the theme is explained in the description above :) thanks for playing!

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34pm

Really nice graphics and menu! A single player mode would be nice, but I think it makes a great party game.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:28am

It's really cute! I had to find someone to play with me, haha. The kind of game that leads to real-life violence... I like how you can be fat/small even on the results screen. BTW, thanks for letting us know about the android issue -- I've been told just tapping or double-tapping on the pluto planet tear will get you into the game :) Sorry about that!

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:17am

Thanks ! I retried your game and it was awesome !

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:56am

Nice game ! I enjoyed the humour and the graphic!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:33am

Ima boop you :) Cute!

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:58pm

First thing first: I laughed hard playing this game!
Unfortunately exactly now I don't have other friend to play it with me, but I had fun playing alone anyway!
I loved the humor on the game, and you did this all alone? Great job!

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:06pm

I might add a solo mode in future versions if this is asked for :D

CasualCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:54pm

The art is so cute and its very well polished! amount keys in the instructions was confusing but I basically just use wasd and arrow keys just fine for two players. The controls are weird and confusing at first, but actually work suprisingly well.

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:57pm

Liked the humorous air the game had, especially the end-game sequence (GTFO! GTFO! xD)

I didn't have someone to play with but I can imagine this being pretty fun when played together with someone.

Artwork was slick, sound is pretty suitable.

Great entry, good luck!

sharrackor says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:20pm

A clear in-game tutorial would be nice, but good besides that!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:26pm

Maybe you don't need solo mode as much as online multiplayer:) i'd love to kill more of my friends haha :) Mobile release??! :)

PS, thanks for the kind comments and for giving our Android build another shot!:) Glad it worked for you!

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:29pm

Yep, I'm starting to think about the next stage for the game (which is really cool!), here is some things I though :

* Power ups, like heart or star
* Solo endless mode with more hazards (it's not vital but I think it's a good apetizer for wanting to play multi next)
* Small Tutorial (I know definitely how I can make it look cool)
* Mobile build, 4 players max on tablet, swipe and tap fishes
* Multi device multiplayer via IP (could be on mobile too, I kinda know how to do this)

If anyone got other suggestion I'm listening, also I'm on twitter if you want follow ups on the dev! @tentacode_

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Also a better UI for settings and a little bit of polishing here and there of course.

hpearson2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:29pm

*Played single player.
Good fun and would have wished to see it in the compo but things happen. Good work man!

"PHAT FISHES IS AN ANAGRAM FOR SHAPESHIFT!!!" I missed that! adding another star for it.

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:37pm

hehe thanks hpearson2 :)

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:38pm

if it were not for that anagram there would not have been a game at all, I was so out of idea and nearly was going to drop out the ludumdare that I tried an anagram website and it's where I got the idea :D

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Played it with a friend we had a lot of fun and funny too! We found that the movement was a bit clunky at times, especially when you didn't want to fly into the crabs!

Nexus64 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Very funny game. It's almost a complete game. Congratulations
Also thanks to hpearson2, I didn't see the secret meaning of the name

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:12pm

This game combines so many good elements! The art is so cute and the audio is great! It's multiplayer and it's fun!

local minimum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:47pm

I played against myself, which probably takes away a lot of the game-part of the game, but it felt like a couch multiplayer game. It was a bit odd (but I guess necessary for push-game play) that the turning was so hard yet one just bounced on the walls. Maybe it would have felt more natural if one warped around the sides and have a surface on the top?

Foxarya says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Love the jellyfish!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:30am

Asked my two little brothers to play with me and we played about 10 times. We enjoyed it a lot, I especially love how you can learn to be good in this game, that proves the skill matters which is a great quality for confrontation games. The pixel art is also pretty eye-candy (nice character design especially) and there is a lot of funny details. Nice to see local multiplayer in Ludum Dare.

axoona says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 7:59pm

cool multiplayer game, unfortunately I didn't have anyone around so I was playing just myself against a non moving fish and I lost the first match...
The controls seemed a bit stiff but I suppose it simulates the watery environment (on the other had we play as fishes so we should be alble to move swiftly ;)
otherwise very nice graphics and audio.

tentacode says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:29am

Yeah, I admit physic is a bit "rigid" I plan on making a smoother control when you are the "small fish" :)

fatsopanda says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:51pm

A cute local multiplayer game! :)

orukinawa says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:22pm

Had a blast playing it. I really liked how the controls felt. My only suggestion would be to make the collision between fishes push each other away more.

themadknights says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Hahahaha, adorable arena game. I enjoyed it a lot

themadknights says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:57pm

Funny game with cool graphics :). I couldn't figure out the used of the theme until I read it XD

tentacode says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 7:36am

Looks like not a lot of people guessed the theme right :D thanks for all the reviews folks, follow me on twitter @tentacode_ or itch.io for the next more polished versions

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]