Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Shifter Match Maker

by schizoid2k - Compo Entry

Press the Shape and Color buttons to match the shape at the top. You have 10 seconds to match all shapes in each round. Difficulty increases as you progress.

One point is awarded for each match.

Choose "Alternative Colors" for a more colorblind friendly palette. Read about this in the About section of the game if you are interested. It was a last minute decision to include this feature, and I hope it offers some help to those who have difficulty viewing red/green/blue images.

----

Thanks for checking out my game and source code. Please check out my web site and Twitter for more information about this and other games I have developed.

This game is written with a Tweening library called DOTween, and has not been included with the source code.

DOTween

This game uses a paid Unity Asset Store product called DOTween Pro (https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/32416).

A free version of DOTween is also available here: https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/27676

You should be able to download and install the free version without any issue.
The Pro version provides some cool features like path mapping in the editor.
If any Pro features are used in my game, and you do not have or wish to purchase DOTween Pro, you should be able to disable those components in the game.

http://gamesbycandlelight.com
@CandlelightGame

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#471Audio2.69
#488Humor2.16
#501Theme3.31
#686Mood2.55
#752Overall2.85
#761Graphics2.46
#780Fun2.62
#813Innovation2.48

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:59am

OK game, but its still good
play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:33am

Very challenging shape matching game. Congrats for finishing the compo!

MudFarmers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:34am

It works well enough as a time killer, but it definitely needs something else. Something like having the player use a color slider to match the color rather than cycling through colors. It would work a bit better if I felt like a skill was being tested.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:16am

Very challenging! Though having to choose fast with a mouse was a bit difficult...

I found a bug where when you get a shape right and keep submitting your score keeps going up and it counts for other shapes and rounds!

Anyways great entry!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:27am

I loved it! Really challenger.

I got the score 78, in my third attempt, with the normal palette, but with the Alternative Colors, I was terrible haha

I thought the Alternative more difficult

Great Game John!! :D

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:06am

This is a VERY innovative puzzle game you should consider polish up the graphics a little getting it commercialized!

Congratulations! :D

Pixelaborate says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:32am

I had probably an unhealthy amount of fun playing, so simple but so engaging for some reason. Small bugs here and there, but they do nothing to make the game any less good.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:11pm

Got a score of 21. A nice game. Nothing much. Good work, though!

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:07am

Simple, but fun concept. I liked how the farther along the more shapes you have to match. Good submission.

d3garcia says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:02am

This is an amazing game, congratulation, it would be fantastic if somehow you could add keyboard controls.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:32am

Pretty simplistic, but it does work. Also a bit repetitive.

Good job on finishing though :)

icefallgames says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:50am

Definitely challenging. Or maybe it's late and I've had too much wine, lol.

The shape switch effect and sfx were good.

Nice job taking into account colorblind people.

Also, fyi you can shave about 35MB off the download size by deleting the .pdb files (they're used for debugging only).

schizoid2k says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Thanks to everyone who reviewed my game so far. @icefallgames, thanks for the tip about the pdb files.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:43am

Very neat core mechanic. Challenging!
Really kept me engaged, awesome job.

Ristoretto says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:47am

Cool concept and it feels polished with the 3D effects, looks simple and effective.

I like how the the difficulty ramps up by adding more shapes to fill in, but it feels repetitive to make the same shape 3 times in a row. It might work better if you add extra shapes to copy, ex shape 1 triangle red, shape 2 sphere blue. then the player copies first shape 1 then shape 2.

Also I prefer one button for triangle, one for cube, one for sphere instead of cycling between them. But I think its just a matter of taste.

overall a elegant game :)

ElliotFiske says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:08am

Fun game! It's really satisfying to learn the pattern and become a shape-matching god.

It did seem to never go above 3 shapes at a time though, and I just was able to keep going until 70 points, then called it quits. It would've been cool to see 4 shapes or even more, but maybe I'm just a glutton for punishment ;)

Great job!

May 4, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Felt a bit too difficult

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]