Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Conjurer's Quest

by Sir Magic - Jam Entry

Conjerer's Quest is a game in which you, Tai, is put on an adventure to destroy someone. I had a lot of fun making this and managed to make it all in under 24 hours.

Please play until the end as some of the best content comes after most of the game.

Please give me feedback on how to improve/what was good. I will almost always rate someone's game if they rated mine. :) (unless it's like 100 MB)

Edit: Complaints about resolution for windows download, some reason, it was 256 x 190 by default. Fixed now.

Big Fixes: Wolf cannot no-clip anymore.
Hitbox change for duck
You have to jump when transforming to prevent minor clipping.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#246Humor(Jam)3.11
#602Audio(Jam)2.63
#608Theme(Jam)3.27
#862Mood(Jam)2.63
#921Fun(Jam)2.62
#946Graphics(Jam)2.54
#993Overall(Jam)2.73
#1035Innovation(Jam)2.27

Comments

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28pm

It starts in a tiny resolution for some reason, you can't see a thing (on desktop)

I got the happy ending on the web version... it's quite short, and the collisions are all over the place, but the music is nice, so there's that

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:33pm

Nice concept and graphics (especially the duck!), but I could only jump on the ground. Once I was on a platform I couldn't jump. I don't think that was intentional?

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Some platforms have strange hitboxes but if you try to jump off the centre of the platform, it should work

Fabraz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12pm

The fact that you did this in under 24 hours is pretty good! Next up I'd suggest working on the resolution, hitbox and adding some parallaxed backgrounds perhaps to spice up the look.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:14pm

I feel that the jump control is a bit off (can't seem to get my duck to consistently jump high enough).
The concept is interesting and I appreciate the tutorial at the beginning. Pretty good work for 24h.
Cheers,
Matei (BananaHammers Team)

adsilcott says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:16pm

@Sir Magic Ah, I tried it again and this time it worked right. Updating my score, I loved the humor!

Monofraps says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:18pm

I really enjoyed playing this game :D - Only thing bugging me were there controls because the collision boxes seem to be a bit off.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:09am

Thanks for trying everyone, I may update the hitboxes in an updated version as many see this as a really big problem.

SemiColon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:12pm

The story could be a lot better, the same for the jumping physics. If you expand on the main mechanic (changing form) this could be a lot more interesting

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:18pm

Very funny. The tutorial was good. Liked the duck. The player gets stuck/doesn't move as expected for no apparent reason. Really good for 24 hours!

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:18pm

I think I broke the hitboxes entirely. Just used the wolf to run through the columns, skipped the platforming and got to the guy, but he didn't do anything. Nice use of theme though. And I loved the duck!

Muciojad says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Hahahahah my mother made my day bro <3 Amaing work xDDD laugh so loud xDDD and can't stop

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:18pm

thanks man xD

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:20pm

"You have decided to not become friends with your mother" Lol!

You did a really good job on the controls! A lot of platformers here on LD have either too floaty or jaggedy controls, but yours is just right!

I like the story too =)

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:25pm

thanks bro

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:43pm

I like the art style and the mechanic! I think there are some bugs but it's a nice game!

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Looks cool but think about alternative keyboard next time :D (I only tried the web build so other might be fine). I'm on an azerty keyboars with no numpad so it was a bit hard to handle! :D cool graphics

davisan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Got the two endings! XD
The wolf transformation could be used more, I just used it one time. About the controls, have some problems with jump height and got "glued" on the walls while jumping (because of unity's physics).
The music was cute. But overall, good job for a 24 hours work!

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Thanks, I really would change the sticking to walls when junping but it's a bit beyond me (creating an entirely new physics engine)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:50pm

I AM YOUR FATHER! Never lol'd this much haha. Great work!

cudabear says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:41pm

The premise of this game is very cool! I like the idea of being sent on a quest with the ability to shapeshift into different creatures that can do different things. The art was simple but nice, though animations could have been a bit better. The audio was wonderful, I think I heard at least 4 different tracks, well done there! I quite like the twist ending, as well.

Now the bad: the gameplay is abysmal. You presented three unique forms of platforming, yet the human form is pointless, the dog form is used once in your level design, leaving the duck form to be used almost all the time. In addition, the collision on your platforms isn't very great, I was often clipping into platforms and getting stuck on the sides of them. I'm not to fond of the controls, either: I don't think you should have to be in the air to transform. I can tell you did this to prevent the player getting stuck in the ground, but I think that would have been preventable via other means. Finally, the left/right movement felt good, but the jumping felt really floaty. Some more acceleration via gravity would have paid off well.

In conclusion, a wonderful premise with charming music, art, and simple story but very unpolished gameplay. With some improvements on the platforming and more fleshed-out mechanics and level design, I think this could be a really, really awesome game! You've certainly got the building blocks in place.

Well done!

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:47pm

It was a good start but ended too quickly. I love how the human form is completely useless. Nice wacky story.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:50pm

thanks guys! if I ever do attempt something like this again, I kno what to do and what not to do.

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:51pm

*know

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:38pm

nice game, maybe you have to put "materialcollider" on the colliders for resolve the sticky problem on the walls

KappaIX says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Liked the pixel duck! Had a few resolution issues and got stuck on the furniture a bit, but made it to the end!

Well done!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:52pm

Neat idea! I liked the little character you gave to the characters with the dialogue. Managed to get both endings!

psychomonster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Humor +1 ... style +1 :) Sorry I cannot hear any sound on my laptop (speakers are broken) .. Art style is really cute. I like the duck very much. Collisions are a little buggy... but thtas not a problem. Great job for only 24h in my eyes!

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:06pm

Hilarious ending(s). I do wish the controls were a bit different though! Arrow keys to move would feel better because you'd have it separated between different hands instead of the left hand doing everything. Seriously funny though, I played it through twice

DraKlaW says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:51pm

Not bad at all. I've had some problem with physics, but it's a pain in the a... you know what I mean !

rnlf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 9:24pm

I like the art of the game. Very good pixel style. Too bad there isn't really much to do.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]